We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's own Oasis in Galveston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“It's own Oasis in Galveston”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

A very nice resort close but not right on the gulf. An aquarium on the grounds & waterpark next door make it a family destination. A convention was here and the one bar was understaffed to handle the large crowd. Resort is very spread out so a lot of walking.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasBchbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    406
    131
    74
    30
See reviews for
571
236
20
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Great place to visit great affordable food great entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonisharee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I have quite a history with this hotel having put on company Christmas parties there for several years in a row. The corporate sales staff is wonderful to work with (especially Kim Connor). My son and his new wife chose Moody Gardens for their wedding ceremony and their reception. It was a small affair with only 30 guests, but we were treated beautifully and were given first class accomodations for extremely reasonable rates and the rate included late check-out for every wedding guest, since the wedding was a daytime wedding and everyone left afterward. So, none of the rooms were vacated until 3pm or later. The hotel was very cooperative with us on that front.

But, the spa.....aaahhhh. Honestly, as a certified spa junkie, I have to say this spa is in my top two in the world. Their relaxation room...well...I would check in there and stay rather than their normal hotel rooms. If you make it to the Gardens...don't miss the spa here.

After having stayed at this hotel no less than 10 times over the past few years, this time I ended up in a jacuzzi suite. I didn't even know they existed. But, I certainly enjoyed relaxing in my private jacuzzi before bed...alone. Even alone it was very nice! The bride and groom had a suite on the 9th floor which was perfect for getting ready before the ceremony..and for pictures. Really nice.

Room Tip: ask for a jacuzzi suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suefromHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We got a living social deal (2 night room, 2 day unlimited attraction tickets for Moody Gardens) so we went for the weekend. It was a little hard to find at first, we ended up in front of the convention center, then the ballroom, but we made it after just a bit. The front desk was pretty nice (with one exception) and the bellhops were very nice. There were plenty of elevators, we never had to wait for one. It was a comfortable room, 2 queens, fridge, kerug coffee maker, regular stuff. We did not have a microwave, but there was a public one in the laundry area that we could use. The hot water and the water pressure were really good, just be careful with little ones. Room service staff was very nice, but the food was average for price. We thought the fruit plate was a good deal, though! Lots of variety and sorbet. Location is great, you just walk to the pyramids and then back to the room when you want. All in all, a very nice weekend vacation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misteecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Hotel is very nice. Staff is very friendly and polite. The pool is beautiful Rooms have a small frig and a microwave. The towels are wonderful big lucious oversized white cotton. Rooms have two nice robes and the bed was very comfortable. We also had a Keurig coffeepot in the room with the Keurig Kcups. Very Nice. We were in room 403 and it had a balcony overlooking the pool with table and two chairs. We had breakfast on the balcony in January. Galveston is looking great. the water park at Moody looked wonderful but we did not get to try it out in January. Hotel is 3/4 mile from beach so we drove to beach and had a wonderful walk.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texasyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let me know how your stay was with us. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us. The Keurig coffeepots are relevantly new but we have been receiving great feedabck to the new addition. We hope to see you again in May when Palm Beach re-opens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We spent our 33rd wedding anniversary at the hotel while attending the Festival of Lights. The Hotel and the Terrace Restaurant were wonderful. We got the package with the Festival of Lights and had a great time walking and looking at all the lights, listening to the music and sounds of Christmas and the roasting of Smores around an open fire pit was a great end to a wonderful evening. When I requested a room with a roll-in shower they did not hesitate to make sure that I was accommodated. We plan on going back to the hotel again this Spring and Summer to enjoy the pyramids and many activities in Galveston.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieLMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Happy 33rd wedding anniversary! We are honored you chose to celebrate your special event with us. It is our overriding goal here at Moody Gardens to provide the best in service and accommodations. I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Roasting S'Mores is one of the most popular activities here at Moody Gardens. During the summer we actually do this daily! We hope you will visit again soon, thank you so much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Moody Gardens Hotel and Spa. I was there for a business meeting and my husband joined me for an extended weekend. During those few days I had the opportunity to eat at Shearn's restaurant (with it's beautiful view), The Terrace restaurant and visit the Lobby Bar. The food at both restaurants as well as the conference meals we were served were very good. My expectations for meals are never high when attending meetings but I was very pleasantly surprised at The Moody!

The staff was professional and attentive. There was an error in my reservation when I checked in. The last night of my reservation was not in the computer (even though I called to confirm it prior to arrival). The desk clerk worked diligently to find me a room for the last night. It took a few minutes but she never lost her cool or her professionalism. In fact, I think she went above and beyond to make sure I had a room and to ensure that I wouldn't have to change rooms during my stay. The room was very clean and well appointed. I had a lovely view of the pyramids and the pool.

I also had the opportunity to take in some of the attractions. I toured the Rain-forest Pyramid. It was very nice....not the best I've ever seen but well kept and interesting. I did not go to the aquarium however, some of my colleagues did and said that the aquarium had a bad smell. Finally, my husband and I enjoyed the spa services. We had a very nice couples package that included a massage, champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. The spa area was very nice and our masseuses were outstanding. The only complaint I had was that the couples area was across the hall from the main spa so we had to walk out in the common area in our robes. We were told that they were adding a couples suite to the main spa area so hopefully this will be resolved soon.

It was early December when I was there so not much was going on outside, nor were there many families there. They were busy decorating for Christmas. From what I saw of the preparations I would love to go back and see all of the holiday glory! With the variety of activities available, I'm sure the place would be buzzing with people.

Room Tip: As for a room that looks out over the pyramids.... beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our overriding goal here at Moody Gardens to provide the best in service and accommodations. I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef, Urs Schmid. He has been with us since the beginning and has a great passion for cooking. In the next couple of months we will start our multi-million dollar renovation of the hotel including the spa. We have some great ideas for improving the couple suite. Your comments have been very helpful and are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.2 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Property: Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-8927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing