We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive - Pros and Cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I will start off by saying that we paid a higher room rate because of the water park entry was included for all members of our family. We felt that added value to the price of the room.

Room - super nice, had just been remodeled. The staff was also very nice at the front desk and the restaurants. For just a room - too pricey.

Water Park - one of the worst I had ever been to. Super crowded, really dirty and needed a renovation. One of the things they talk about is the beautiful sand beach with sand from FL. Have to say that that ended up being the biggest joke. The sand was dirty, very little of it and it didn't touch the water. There is a retention wall and rocks between the sand and the water - I don't really consider that a beach.

Overall - I would stay somewhere else with the ability to walk to the pier and the water.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Moody Gardens. I was pleased to read your kind remarks about the hotel and our associates, I was concerned over the condition of our water park, Palm Beach. We normally get high praise from guests visiting Palm Beach, especially those with children who are a bit younger than those who might prefer Schlitterbahn. There is, however, no reason for the beach and facilities to be poorly maintained and please know that I personally shared your comments with the managers there so that they can be more diligent in maintaining the area at all times.

I also noted from your comments that we need to do a better job at explaining our amenities at Palm Beach better. It is not intended to be a substitute for the gulf beach but it does offer a more diverse water experience with fresh water wave pool, lazy river and play areas that can be a refreshing alternative and complement to the gulf. That being said, we will work harder to make sure it is better maintained, especially during busy times.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,161 - 1,167 of 1,535 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was our first trip to Galveston, and the Moody Garden Hotel made it memorable. The room was beautiful and clean. The staff was professional and attentive. We enjoyed the on-site pool, beach, and rainforest. The restaurant and Starbucks were nice amenities. We recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontour3069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our goal is for every guest to feel cared for, valued and respected. We are pleased to hear when we have met or exceed our goal. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This was our 4th or 5th visit - this time for a dance competition. We stayed in a Gulf View Suite. We will keep coming back, but here are my observations:

Pros:

- The service was friendly. This seems to be trending upward over the last few years.
- Although the hotel was crowded, it was never unbearable. Again, the staff does a good job.
- Lots to do for families.
- The pool is a nice blend of kid friendly and adult friendly. Food and bar service is pretty good if a little slow at times.
- Complimentary access to Palm Beach.
- Location is perfect if you want to go to Schlitterbahn.
- Room service was quick and good.

Cons:

- Towels by the pool. You have to keep track of 'towel cards' the whole time which you exchange for towels. Mildly annoying, and part of what keeps this from being a 4 or 5 star resort.
- No discounts for the Moody Gardens pyramids.
- Rooms are in need of an update - which I think is underway.
- TV's: The most irritating remotes I can imagine.
- Phone systems seem to be 20 years behind the times. Tip: just dial 0 for the operator when none of the buttons work.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rollie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent visit to Moody Gardens. I was pleased to read your kind remarks about the hotel and our associates. I apologize for the challenges you had with the remote, as part of our renovations the TVs are being replaced. Your pros and cons are appreciated, I have passed your comments on to each department manager so we can continue to offer great customer service and provide pleasurable memories for all of our valued guests. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you visit Galveston, be sure to mention you would like a "new" room when you make your reservation so you can see the changes that we are making.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

The place is awesome. The hotel is very nice and clean. There's so many places to go. The activities for the kids are endless, from fossil excavation to night time s'mores by the pool. I recommend this place especially if you have little ones.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Maria - Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Moody Gardens. The overriding goal at Moody Gardens is to provide excellent service and memories for you and your family. From the Kids Crew activities to Bands in the Sand there is always something for families and couples to do while staying at Moody Gardens. Your comments are appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon. Garvin O'Neil, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Great comfortable room with a great view of the pyramids. The have a ton of activities for the kiddos! Their beach is pretty nice, too. Free admission.
Con: A bit pricey and I didn't have the feel that I was in Galveston. The location is not in the seawall. So, you're away from all the attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azambrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Moody Gardens. We love hearing that our guests and their families enjoy Palm Beach and our Kids Crew activities, plus the extra bonus that these activities are included with your stay at Moody Gardens. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Garvin O'Neil, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We booked the hotel on-line at a decent price ($180 total), comparable to the comfort suites or hampton inn. We got off our cruise at 9am and took a $20 cab ride to the hotel (I think they have a shuttle, but we didn't bother looking for it, and I think it cost $25 but not sure). They allowed us to check in right away, giving us the whole day to spend at the pool and water park (Palm island is a small waterpark that is part of the Moody gardens complex, normally $25 per person, but was included in our stay). Our room was in the non-renovated section, and was a little worn (chips in the bathtub, cigarette burns in the curtain), but it was roomy, comfortable and clean. We had a view of the back parking area and a garbage bin, but you could still see the splashpad area and the water. The hotel is huge and we got a little lost trying to find our way to and from the pool. The pool area was beautiful, and the water was 89degrees (the hottub was extremely hot). There were plenty of lounge chairs, and cabanas and couches that were for rent. There was a swim up bar and you could order food. They have a playground and bouncy castle, at which there was a firepit for roasting marshmallows and making smores. There isn't anything close to the hotel other than Moody Gardens and Schlitterbaun water park, so we had lunch at the hotel in the terrace restaurant. It was very good, the service was good and the prices were reasonable (kids ate free).. We took a $10 cab ride down to the seawall for dinner and to pick up some snacks and drinks. We went to the Moody gardens aquarium since I had heard the entire thing takes all day. It was $72 for the four of us and we were done in an hour, the all access pass is a better deal if you have the time. We enjoyed it, but for the cost, we should have just stayed at the water park. Overall it was a beautiful hotel, great for their pools and waterpark. If you don't have a car, it's not very convenient, but we would stay there again if we were in Galveston.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee-Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I am pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay at Moody Gardens. Palm Beach and the Kids Crew Activities are included in your stay with us and are a guest favorite. Keep us in mind for the holidays when Moody Gardens turns into a winter wonderland with our Festival of Lights and A Magical Christmas 2 Magic Show, we have hotel packages for a magical couples or family night. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon. Garvin O'Neil, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Moody Gardens is one of the nicer places to stay while in Galveston, TX. It has a nice pool and is situated on a property that offers a water park, beach, aquarium, rainforest, golf course, and much more...

The rooms are ample, clean, many have nice views, and an in room Keurig coffee maker and safe are a plus.

That said, the property needs some TLC. Check in was slow, too slow. A light switch, drapes, and chair were all damaged/broken – these are things that housekeeping should have noticed, reported, and been repaired by maintenance prior to the room being used again. The room décor is poor and old – something like circa 1980’s Miami Beach threw up all over it. The bathroom has an outdated and very large blow dryer that moves air but doesn’t really dry your hair very well. There is a much too small TV for the sixed room and we experienced one towel that was dirty (it happens).

All the rooms needs a serious updating and management needs to review cleaning and maintenance practices to make this the jewel of the isle again.

Room Tip: Chose a room that overlooks the pyramids or the water for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for your very constructive and valid concerns over the condition of your room during your stay with us. While we rarely get feedback like yours, we agreed that we fell short during your stay. There was no valid excuse of the condition of the guest room and your photos were very instructive. We immediately responded to your feedback and I personally met with the Executive Housekeeper to review the shortcomings so that we can avoid them moving forward.

We are indeed in the middle of a full renovation of all guest rooms. We have about 60% of our guestrooms completed and you will be pleased to know that the 1980’s Miami Beach look is not reflected in our new room interiors. On a future visit, please note in the reservation the request for a newly renovated room and we will be happy to comply.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.2 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
802 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-8927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £127 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing