We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight trip with family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My family and I went to the hotel on a Thursday night during the summer. From the moment we got there, the customer service was great. I had to wait in line a bit to check in but the service was great.

We had a room that had not been renovated in the north tower. It said we had a bay view but we could only see trees and a parking lot of our window. No big deal for us. 2 queen beds but not a lot of extra room to relax. The beds were so comfortable! Everyone slept great. We spent the night playing in the large resort pool. There were not enough chairs for everyone so they could improve on that. My kids had fun in the pool and the swim up bar made some great drinks. The Kids crew provided smore's in the evening and that was a hit.

In the morning we ate at the Terrace breakfast buffet. It was yummy and a good deal I thought. They had a mascot for kids walking around to greet everyone and my kids loved it. They were busy at the restaurant but they were accommodating to our needs.

I loved this place! I thought to hotel had lots to offer for family and kids. I did not realize that the Moody gardens Palm Beach was included with our stay. That in itself was worth $60 for my family. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear JenniferZ,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your family's recent stay at Moody Gardens. I am pleased to read you found our guest service to be great. It is also pleasing to learn that you and your family were able to enjoy so many of the amenities that are available at our hotel. We have heard from many parents and children that the smore’s are a guest favorite. I would like to extend my sincerest apologies to you for the confusion with your view type, I have forwarded your comment to the Front Desk Manager so we can find a solution to prevent the same thing from occurring in the future. Your comments are appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future..

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
Genera Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,172 - 1,178 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Beautiful Hotel & grounds, well trained staff, delicious food and service in two restaurants, scenic walking trails, Starbucks coffee shop and ice cream parlor inside hotel. Comfortable lounges. Gracious management team. A surprise was that our anniversary was recognized. We enjoy this hotel at least twice a year. Moody Gardens attractions are nearby or just relaxing in the hotel or pool areas vie for the perfect place to stay. Recent room renovations were a great asset to the hotel. Thanks to the General Manager and his wonderful team. Millie/Ed

Room Tip: Reserve as soon as possible. Simply ask for your choice and the staff will accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillieandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Millie and Ed,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your anniversary. I was pleased to read you enjoyed everything about your recent stay. We appreciate your wonderful comments about Moody Gardens, our staff, amenities, location and service. It means a lot to us when guest let us know how much they enjoyed their stay and our service.

Thank you for your continued loyalty and for your kind feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Happy Anniversary!!!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Hotel is beautiful and exceptionally clean, surrounding grounds are meticulously manicured, food is delicious, pool is inviting, and all the activities are readily available. Our room was very clean, beautifully decorated, had great views and had a very quiet air conditioner. Bed was very comfortable & luxurious. Our five-year-old grandson enjoyed the pyramids, museums, playground, pool, outdoor movie & popcorn adventure and the beach. The staff is helpful, welcoming and courteous. This was a wonderful, relaxing and enjoyable vacation. We will definitely stay here again. We highly recommend it - beautiful, clean place!

Room Tip: Rooms with pyramid views are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha2242013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Hi Martha2242013,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. Family memories last a lifetime, and we are happy we were able to create another great memory for you and your grandson. I was pleased to read your grandson enjoyed all of the attractions Moody Gardens has to offer and all of our Kid’s Crew activities. It’s great to hear you had a wonderful, relaxing and enjoyable vacation.

We appreciate your recommendation and wonderful feedback about our hotel and staff, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Moody Gardens hotel for my High school reunion. I stayed in one of the renovated rooms and the colors were so bright and airy. The room seemed bigger than the previous stay. Love the bathroom The event was a success. Great service from all the staff. I have an annual pass to Moodys Gardens which gave me discounts in the hotel and restaurants. Look forward to staying there again, even if I am BOI..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Hi Rose

Thank you for the great comments about your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and décor. It’s great to know that your high school reunion was a success, we were happy to be a part of such a special event.

We appreciate your loyalty and feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My overnight stay at Moody Gardens was excellent! From the front desk staff, to the cleanliness of the hotel, to the comfort of the bed! It was wonderful. I had a large room, overlooking the pool and the water. I was able to sit on my patio chairs and watch the fireworks on Saturday evening as well.
I always bring food with me when I travel, and much to my delight there was a refrigerator in my room to keep food cold! The coffee in the morning was even delicious and fresh from a Keurig coffeemaker. The bed was SOO comfortable, I will be asking what mattress they use and try to buy one for myself. The pool are was beautiful and the staff at the pool bar was friendly and fun! Ordered some fun drinks and had a wonderful time. I will continue to go back there, year after year! Thank you to the General Manager for running such a wonderful resort!

Room Tip: Its nice to get a room on the south side of the hotel, so you can see the pool and the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Hi Kerri,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to relax and enjoy our Bands on the Sand fireworks from your balcony. It’s great to hear that you were pleased with the Keurig coffeemaker and our newly upgraded Sealy Plush Euro Pillow top mattress.

I am very pleased to read of the pool bar’s staffs' care and attention, and they too are delighted by your recognition. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel is so pretty. Our view was perfect. The room was charming with the beach tones. Of course we loved the pool and the swim up bar. The location is perfect for the aquarium, which we walked to. All the staff was very accomodating and friendly. It was a dreamy day for us!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. I was pleased to read that you found your room to have a perfect view and the new décor charming. It is great to hear you enjoyed the pool and our swim up bar. We take great pride in providing quality service to each guest, and I am very pleased to read of the service staff provided. They are excited about your comments in recognition of their efforts.

We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back for another dreamy stay.

Sincerely,
Garvin O’Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My stay was absolutely serene. The hotel is great for those who want to do everything or do nothing. This was my first time visiting Moody Gardens and hopefully will not be the last. The hotel staff is also knowledgeable about the surrounding areas. I highly recommend bringing your swimming suit because the pool is perfect, not to mention there are water slides and a splash park within walking distance. Moody Gardens is perfect for adults and kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you for the feedback about your recent stay at Moody Gardens. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your first time as our guest and that our amenities and atmosphere contributed to your feeling of serenity while here. Our staff prides themselves on being personable and helpful in every way possible, so I’m delighted to hear they exceeded your expectations and I have shared your compliments with them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.2 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.4 mi away
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-8927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £110 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing