We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We decided to take a little family get away and booked a weekend stay at Moody Gardens. I must start by saying the service at this hotel is wonderful! Everyone was smiling, accomodating and seemed genuinely nice and that they enjoy their jobs. We had dinner that nice at the Terrace Restaurant and our server was Makenzie. She is new but you would have never known that unless she told you! She provided great service! The food was delicous and our kids were able to eat free which is an added bonus! We then headed to the room which is extremely clean, nice and comfortable! The beds are super cozy and we all slept great! The next morning we tried out the breakfast buffet at the Terrace restaurant which was also delicous!! The chefs definitely know what they are doing in that kitchen!! We did all of the attractions and ended at Palm Beach. I'm not sure the affilitation between the hotel and Palm Beach but the door people at Palm Beach were some of the rudest people we have encountered. We asked for a towel for our 2 and 4 year old and the man said we needed a towel card which we were never given. We explained that we were hotel guests and showed our room card but he shook his head no and blew us off. My 2 year old is standing there wet and shivering and that was not the reaction I would expect from anyone. We left and enjoyed the pool at the hotel. All in all a great stay and great service except for the bad taste left in my mouth at Palm Beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,170 - 1,176 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Newly renovated rooms with good bed; however, you'd better like foam pillows. No down or feather available in the hotel. Great resort with a beach, water slide, great kid activities close by. Exhibits vary at Moody Gardens. You can check the latest.

Room Tip: Ask for Bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeauxW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Jwilliston,

Thank you for staying at Moody Gardens and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our Kid’s Crew activities, Palm Beach and the Moody Gardens attractions. For a fun, memorable holiday event, please come visit us between November 16 and January 4, and experience the magic of the holidays when our annual Festival of Lights transforms Moody Gardens into a winter wonderland. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I was here for a 2 day conference and had a enjoyable stay. This property has recently had a major upgrade since I was here 3 years ago. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. We were in the far tower, so it was a bit of a hike to the pool, but overall not bad. Of course, there were no kids around as school is in session, so the ice cream shop and other amenities weren't open. Had great seafood at Guidos and Willie G's. Also, try the Original Mexican if you're hungry for great Tex-Mex.

Only complaint.... the water in the outdoor pool was too warm! It was more like a hot tub then a pool. The water was actually warmer than the temp outside, so we didn't get to enjoy that.... must have already turned the pool heater on.

Overall, great hotel and I'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear mickir,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Moody Gardens on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. I am disappointed to hear that you did not get to enjoy the pool. I did verify that the heater has not been turned on yet. Summer temperatures can keep the water extremely warm sometimes. We appreciate your kind words and feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the newly remodeled Moody Gardens Hotel. We had a room on the 8th floor, the room was fantastic and the bed was so comfortable. ( im getting one for our room at home) We had the best time in Galveston. We spent the day on the Strand and had a great time. The restaurant at the hotel is closed at this time, remodeling. It's supposed to be one of the better ones on the island. Staff was all very friendly. We went to the Aquarium at Moody and had a lot of fun just looking at all the different kinds of marine life. I would recommend this hotel to couples and of course families with kids. Will be back!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are renovated, so any should be good. 8th floor with great views of bay and attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear karycrystal ,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Moody Gardens to celebrate your anniversary and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that you found our staff friendly, enjoyed your room and felt the bed was comfortable (we recently updated the mattresses to the Sealy Plush Euro Pillow top mattresses). It’s great to hear that you had fun exploring the Aquarium Pyramid. I was disappointed to read that due to renovations you were unable to dine at Shearn’s Seafood and Prime Steaks due to it being closed for renovations. Shearn’s did re-open Friday, September 6th. On your next visit to Galveston we hope you will be able to dine at Shearn’s. Shearn’s is one of only 11 Houston/Galveston area restaurants to receive AAA’s Four Diamond Award of Excellence and has done so each year since 2004.

We appreciate your feedback and recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Happy Anniversary!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I recently held a conference at Moody Gardens. My group received high quality service from hotel staff. Food, meeting rooms, audio visual assistance and equipment were all very good! Staff is friendly and helpful! The recently renovated sleeping room I stayed in was well appointed and the beds were extremely comfortable. I slept like a baby which does not happen often for me in a hotel. The hotel gym is also well-equipped, nice and spacious.

Room Tip: I am unable to provide feedback on the spa since I did not make it there on this trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leesa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Leesa T,

Thank you for choosing to hold your conference at Moody Gardens and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful and the food, meeting rooms and AVW equipment very good. It’s great to hear you found our newly renovated fitness center to be well-equipped, nice and spacious. I’m thrilled to hear that you slept like a baby, we recently updated our beds to Sealy Plush Euro Pillow top mattresses and have received fantastic reviews.

Please keep us in mind for future events of any size. We have 100,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including a 60,000 foot exhibit hall that is ballroom quality. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

42 members of my family gather every year for our annual NANI'S FAMILY FUN FEST! This year we chose MOODY GARDENS in GALVESTON, TEXAS for this event...it also happened to be "NANI'S 80th BIRTHDAY" so we wanted the reunion to be "extra special". Mike Boles at Moody Gardens put together a wonderful experience for our family...the rooms were great and the 1 bedroom suite was perfect for a "gathering" place for the entire group. The diversity and wealth of activities that both Moody Gardens and Galveston offered ensure that there was something for everyone to enjoy...in fact too much to enjoy! We'll have to book a "follow up" so that we can enjoy those things there was simply not enough time to do. THANK YOU MOODY GARDENS!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debehahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Debehahn,

We truly appreciate your wonderful review and for choosing Moody Gardens to celebrate NANI’S FAMILY FUN FEST.

We are very pleased to read Mike Boles and our staff made it a memorable experience for your family, and we are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed the hotel, its amenities and service from staff.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great service,very friendly staff, room better than expected. A good place for a weekend close to home. Just park your car and relax or enjoy the amenities with the kids. Rest. food is adequate for value. Property is clean and well keep.
The palm beach nearby, provided a lot of fun for children.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Pedro G,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. It's always nice to hear that our guests enjoy the service they receive. I hope you'll choose Moody Gardens the next time you want to get away for fun and relaxation. Keep us in mind this holiday season, when our annual Festival of Lights transforms Moody Gardens into a winter wonderland. In addition to the Festival of Lights, our Kid’s Crew has great Santa’s Workshop activities planned during the holidays. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.2 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.4 mi away
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Galveston Suites
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-8927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £121 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing