We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Wow. What a beautiful property. My room was so up to date and comfortable. I was there for ChemInnovations trade show, but would return on vacation. Staff was very nice and property was well tended. I look forward to returning!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Dan B,

Thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your newly renovated room and found it to be comfortable. Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    406
    131
    74
    30
See reviews for
570
236
20
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

It's a little more expensive to stay at Moody Gardens, but the amenities are great and the location is hard to beat.
The service was good, but some details were not explained to us upon check-in (that there was free, underground parking) and that you should book any spa treatments a couple days in advance (same day or next day appointments were almost impossible to make). Our room was quiet and the bed was good, but a little saggy, and the temperature was easily controlled and comfortable. Everything was clean, but we did have one small cockroach in our room. We were given a discount for the inconvenience. There was interesting food at the restaurant, though the service was slow and the breakfast buffet was nothing special.
The spa service we had was good, but they forgot to tell us to show up early for the appointment, so we were somewhat rushed and less than relaxed.
The pool was nice, though kids were playing in the swim-up bar area. The hot tub was extremely hot. The deck chairs are not easy to get. The bar staff were very friendly and attentive.
The indoor lap pool was great, as was the fitness room and running track.
The on-property water park, rain forest garden, and aquarium were excellent.

Room Tip: The lower-cost room that we reserved was excellent. Our room did not overlook the parking lot, so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elfudge42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear elfudge42,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Moody Gardens. I am pleased to read you found our amenities and location great. I would like to extend my sincerest apologies to you for the confusion with booking appointments at The Spa. I have forwarded your comment to the Spa and Front Desk Managers so we can find a solution to prevent the same thing from occurring in the future. Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The location was superb and close to the Moody Gardens entertainment as well as other facilities. Although the price was a little higher than some other facilities the outstanding staff kept everyone happy and with plenty of supplies. A terrific stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear VegasHopper,

We are delighted you chose to stay at Moody Gardens for your Sisters Vacation. I was pleased to read you had a terrific stay and found our staff to be outstanding and our location superb. I have passed your wonderful comments on to all of our staff. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back to Moody Gardens soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
181 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a true destination when you come to Galveston. There is more to do in this one place than anywhere on the island. Staff was very accommodating from the valet to the room service. It was rainy when we arrived and the valet provided complimentary umbrellas for us to keep even after our stay. The outdoor pool is huge and fun. There is an indoor pool for when the weather is not cooperating. It would take too much to even start to describe the pyramids and all their features. We had the pyramid view room and it was spectacular! The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXEyeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear TXEyeGuy ,

Thank you for leaving feedback about your recent stay at Moody Gardens. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found that there is no reason to leave the property to relax and have fun. It is our overriding goal here at Moody Gardens to provide the best in service, hospitality and accommodations. I have passed along your feedback to our entire staff. We appreciate your review and look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had 4 families staying here 2 nights in late August before school started back up. We all enjoyed our rooms and view of the pyramids. The beds were some of the most comfortable I've ever slept in, loved them! Rooms were clean and newly redecorated. We didn't eat in any of the restaurants, but they sure smelled good as we walked by. Pool water was a little warm for our preference. Grounds were gorgeous! Rooms came with free passes to Palm Beach (a little waterpark), which is great for toddlers & young kids, but if you have older kids or teenagers they'd like Schlitterbahn better. But it was great for an hour before we left, to play in the water one more time before the school year started. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myboys03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear myboys03,

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable end of summer stay at Moody Gardens and were able to spend time at Palm Beach.

Your comments are greatly appreciated and have been passed on to all of our staff. Thank you for choosing to stay at Moody Gardens, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Nebraska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The hotel is very nice and you feel the elegance of you surroundings. The grounds are beautiful and felt very secure walking around in the evening. Within walking distances of the pyramids. We stayed in the North Tower and it was super quiet as if we had the whole floor to our selves. Loved the pool so warm and the water bridge was my favorite.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitewarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear nitewarrior,

Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. It's always nice to hear that guests enjoy strolling around our grounds and feel secure while doing it. Keep us in mind this holiday season, when our annual Festival of Lights transforms Moody Gardens into a winter wonderland. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel have succeeded all my expectation. The general manager Gavin o niel and staff is very helpful , friendly and accomadating. Love the atmosphere of the hotel. The palm beach splash location really helped to burn off the energy of the kids. THe restaurants have fabulous dinners, rooms are newly renovated, soft bed and bedding, beautiful scenery and quiet. I decided to take some friends and family and they absolutely LOVE it. I love it and wil come back more often in the future. Excellent service and valet. THis HOTEL IS A MUST ATTEND AND SEE.

lisa jackson

Room Tip: no tip needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear lisa j,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your family's recent stay at Moody Gardens. It was a pleasure assisting you. I am pleased to read you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. It is also pleasing to read that you and your family were able to enjoy the atmosphere, surrounding grounds and many of the amenities that are available at our hotel.Your comments are appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.2 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Property: Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-8927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing