We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time at the Mardi Gras!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great time at the Mardi Gras!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We decided to take advantage of the Mardi Gras package that Moody Garden offered and stay there. I really liked that the hotel had a shuttle to/ from Mardi Gras, it was very convenient, it was another reason why we stayed there.

The room was very spacious with a king size bed and a small living room with space to sprawl. The bed was very comfortable. The sofa also becomes a bed, so 4 people can sleep in a king size room. The bathroom was pretty big, modern and clean as well. No complaints!

We had a view from the 7th floor to the pyramids, the pool and part of the bay. The pool is not that big, but both the indoor and outdoor are heated, so it was a nice swim.

We had dinner at the Lobby Bar since we arrived late from the parades. They only had few items such as sandwiches and burgers. It was pricey for the size of the food so for breakfast we went somewhere else. Also, I imagine because of the hour the service was slow.

Also, valet parking is $18 but you can park for free and even leave your car on the garage.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the pyramids, can also view part of Galveston bay and the pool. We were in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandyKane056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    406
    131
    74
    30
See reviews for
570
236
20
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We couldn't be happier with Moody Gardens. The beds were very comfortable and the room was nice. The restaurant foods was good. We were already happy with the hotel but what really wowed us was the service we got the next day with regard to our cruise shuttle.

Our departure was delayed due to fog. We were part of a larger group sailing out that day. Brandon, our hotel liaison. kept us informed and twice extended our check-out time due to the delays we were experiencing with our cruise boarding time.

When it was time to load the shuttles, the process was orderly (I think our group used 3 shuttles) and our baggage was well taken care of. They dropped us at the cruise terminal and assured us they would pick us up upon our return and have our valeted car ready for us at the hotel. All that was true. The shuttle service was free as was the car storage during the cruise.

We will definitely stay at the Moody Gardens when we cruise again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karynpatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear karynpatrice,

Thank you for leaving feedback about your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s is delightful to hear that our service wowed you. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and restaurant. I will pass your kind comments on to Brandon and our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Moody Gardens soon!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was our second visit in two years with a tour group of 50 seniors from western Canada.
Our room had a view of the pyramid structures. The rooms are very spacious and well detailed.
Just wandering around this huge complex gives a person a feeling of well being.
Mon Feb 24, we were leaving early for San Antonio and some of us decided to have the breakfast in the temporary dining room on the main level. The waiter we had was awesome. The breakfast was first rate; thus far that breakfast has been the best breakfast we have had on this trip. The toast was exceptional, not the typical "mush" bread you encounter in many other locations. The grated potatoes were also first rate. The eggs tasted like eggs. They also have excellent coffee here. Thanks for making our day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klepper-geocaching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We've stayed at this hotel many times, and have always been pleased. Our only issue this stay was the check-in time. We arrived as part of another large group, and were due at a function within 45 minutes of arrival. Upon arrival, there were only two clerks, and at least 20 people in line to check in. Someone finally arrived to assist, and we were abel to get into our room with only 20 minutes to freshen up and ger ready for the function. Also, we went to brunch before checkout on Sunday, and saw that the Terrace Restaurant was closed for renovation. We were directed to another area, one that is usually a convention party room, and actually enjoyed that space better than the Terrace. Our room was absolutely gorgeous, and had spectacular views. One would think that this modern, beautiful hotel would have online check-in or a kiosk check-in system.

Room Tip: Ask for a Pyramid view - you'll get a nice water view with Moody Gardens in the background.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The staff was helpful, the rooms larger than normal hotels, and much of the hotel seemed like it had been remodeled. One restaurant was under construction, but we had breakfast at the one that was open and it was very good, with very attentive waitress.
We had the grandkids along, and sadly, it was too cold for the outdoor pools. It looks like there are lots of outside activities.
We went to the aquarium, and it was very good. We were lucky enough to see feeding of penguins, rays, and the Caribbean tank complete with divers in with the sharks.
The water park is across the street and the golf course is nearby.
Looks like a great family vacation spot.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wineanddine32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear wineanddine32,

Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit! It’s great to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy the Moody Gardens Aquarium. We would love to welcome you back this summer so you and your family can enjoy all the Moody Gardens attractions!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were put in a newly refurbished room with awonderful view. Even though the fog was thick through most of the day, when it cleared we had a wonderful view of the grounds and the bay. Also we ate in the resteraunt on the 9th floor and were impressee by both the view and the food. The staff we bery nice and accomodated all our needs. We took advantage of the spa and it was worth the cost. Because it was cool we were not able to take advantage of the water events but beleive they would have been nice. The only draw back was the prices. If we were to have done all availible it would have been way outside our budget. Great family venue but just be ready to spend some money.

Room Tip: Travel early in season. I would guess during peak season it would be very crowded and more expesnsiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbri09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear sbri09 ,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Moody Gardens during your visit to Galveston. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything. Before you book your next stay, please give us a call to see what packages we have available for your hotel stay and the Moody Gardens attractions. During the summer hotel stay includes tickets to Palm Beach and our weekend summer concert series Bands in the Sand.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We would like to thank the entire Moody Gardens Staff for accomodating our workshop with the utmost professionalism and best service we have always been provided and have come to expect from this venue. You have not let us down! I guess we will have to keep coming back!

The hotel is very lovely but the hotel staff makes it the best. The hotel and convention staff was very helpful to our needs and really helped to make our meeting a success!

Thank you to Moody Gardens Hotel and Conference Center Staff.

Sincerely,

Room Tip: Just ask, they will do they best they can to accomodate your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailHouston_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear GailHouston_TX,

Thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay at Moody Gardens Hotel, Spa & Convention Center. It is rewarding to hear your meeting was a success. I am very pleased we are able to provide you with the service you have come to expect of Moody Gardens, and thank you for your kind comments about our staff and service. I appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.2 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Property: Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-8927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#1 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing