We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Event”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Conroe, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Time Event”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I was able to check in early, so my wife and I went to a local deli to have lunch. Upon our return to the room we noticed a most disturbing odor as we entered, all to find out someone had used our bathroom in the worst kind of way. We called the front desk and asked to be moved and that request was granted, but when we asked to speak with the manager he said all he could do would be provide a late checkout time. This was totally unacceptable, and our return to this location is most unlikely!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Lisa M,
Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your visit to our hotel. I was extremely disappointed to read of the outlandish experience with your bathroom and the unprofessional manner in which we handled the situation after bringing it to our attention. On behalf of all of us here at Moody Gardens, please accept my most sincere apologies.

There was no valid excuse for this breach in security and decency and please know that, in my over 14 years here at Moody Gardens, I have only encountered something like this only once or twice before. Nothing is more important than the safety and security of our guests. Our immediate concern was to see who might have had an unauthorized access to your room. We performed a lock interrogation to find that out. In the timeframe from your check in and return later there was only one entry made by a specific hotel department key. We are in the process of interviewing all employees with access to that key. When we determine which employee actually used the key, he or she will be dismissed as we cannot condone such lapses in behavior and judgment.

I was also struck by the cavalier nature of our front desk supervisor when bringing this to his attention. He is a new associate and it is clear that we need to spend some additional time with him on guest-focused training, especially when confronted with such a breach in service. We will use your feedback as a training tool for all of us.

Ms. M, we sincerely appreciate your bringing this incident to our attention. I also received your email to me and have responded accordingly as we would like to win back your trust in us. We know that you have many choices when deciding where to stay when you come to Galveston. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to winning back your trust in the not too distant future.

Garvin O’Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    406
    131
    74
    30
See reviews for
571
236
20
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We love Galveston and have stayed in the top-rated hotels. My husband's conference was at Moody Gardens so we had no choice in where we would stay. The hotel is older but well maintained. There is nothing fancy about it and it is not near the water. However, the staff was friendly, the restaurant food was great and our room was comfortable. The aquarium is on the grounds so that is an added attraction. Because of the water park on the grounds, this would be a great place for a family trip with the beach nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Took a group of 14 for the Mardi Gras. Rooms were nice and clean. Staff was friendly, especially those around the bar. They really had the Mardi Gras Spirit. Liked that they had a shuttle going to the Strand, so we didn't have to drive cars and park. Only trouble I had was check-in was slow and some of the room keys didn't work and had to return to reprogram. Other than that, we had a wonderful time and will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendamerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We decided to take advantage of the Mardi Gras package that Moody Garden offered and stay there. I really liked that the hotel had a shuttle to/ from Mardi Gras, it was very convenient, it was another reason why we stayed there.

The room was very spacious with a king size bed and a small living room with space to sprawl. The bed was very comfortable. The sofa also becomes a bed, so 4 people can sleep in a king size room. The bathroom was pretty big, modern and clean as well. No complaints!

We had a view from the 7th floor to the pyramids, the pool and part of the bay. The pool is not that big, but both the indoor and outdoor are heated, so it was a nice swim.

We had dinner at the Lobby Bar since we arrived late from the parades. They only had few items such as sandwiches and burgers. It was pricey for the size of the food so for breakfast we went somewhere else. Also, I imagine because of the hour the service was slow.

Also, valet parking is $18 but you can park for free and even leave your car on the garage.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the pyramids, can also view part of Galveston bay and the pool. We were in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandyKane056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We couldn't be happier with Moody Gardens. The beds were very comfortable and the room was nice. The restaurant foods was good. We were already happy with the hotel but what really wowed us was the service we got the next day with regard to our cruise shuttle.

Our departure was delayed due to fog. We were part of a larger group sailing out that day. Brandon, our hotel liaison. kept us informed and twice extended our check-out time due to the delays we were experiencing with our cruise boarding time.

When it was time to load the shuttles, the process was orderly (I think our group used 3 shuttles) and our baggage was well taken care of. They dropped us at the cruise terminal and assured us they would pick us up upon our return and have our valeted car ready for us at the hotel. All that was true. The shuttle service was free as was the car storage during the cruise.

We will definitely stay at the Moody Gardens when we cruise again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karynpatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear karynpatrice,

Thank you for leaving feedback about your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s is delightful to hear that our service wowed you. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and restaurant. I will pass your kind comments on to Brandon and our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Moody Gardens soon!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was our second visit in two years with a tour group of 50 seniors from western Canada.
Our room had a view of the pyramid structures. The rooms are very spacious and well detailed.
Just wandering around this huge complex gives a person a feeling of well being.
Mon Feb 24, we were leaving early for San Antonio and some of us decided to have the breakfast in the temporary dining room on the main level. The waiter we had was awesome. The breakfast was first rate; thus far that breakfast has been the best breakfast we have had on this trip. The toast was exceptional, not the typical "mush" bread you encounter in many other locations. The grated potatoes were also first rate. The eggs tasted like eggs. They also have excellent coffee here. Thanks for making our day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klepper-geocaching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We've stayed at this hotel many times, and have always been pleased. Our only issue this stay was the check-in time. We arrived as part of another large group, and were due at a function within 45 minutes of arrival. Upon arrival, there were only two clerks, and at least 20 people in line to check in. Someone finally arrived to assist, and we were abel to get into our room with only 20 minutes to freshen up and ger ready for the function. Also, we went to brunch before checkout on Sunday, and saw that the Terrace Restaurant was closed for renovation. We were directed to another area, one that is usually a convention party room, and actually enjoyed that space better than the Terrace. Our room was absolutely gorgeous, and had spectacular views. One would think that this modern, beautiful hotel would have online check-in or a kiosk check-in system.

Room Tip: Ask for a Pyramid view - you'll get a nice water view with Moody Gardens in the background.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.2 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Property: Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-8927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#1 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing