We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Orange
2 reviews
“Super place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Moody Gardens is always a joy. The rooms are super clean, the staff wonderful.
It is a vacation to enjoy every minute. The rooms are large, including the bathroom. Every convience is at your fingertips. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HBroussard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear HBroussard,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am glad to hear staying Moody Gardens continues to impress you, and I am thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay, the amenities and the exemplary service our staff provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    396
    129
    73
    30
See reviews for
545
222
18
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Center, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We loved staying at the Moody Gardens Hotel. The room was incredibly spacious, very updated, extremely clean & had a wonderful view of the nearby Moody Gardens attractions. It was well lit and the bed was very comfortable. We had plenty of space to work and our son had ample space to play. We were within walking distance of aforementioned attractions, which is exactly what we wanted. The pool was beautiful, though it was still a little too cold for us to swim. With our stay, we couldn't have asked for more hospitable hosts. From the clerk that checked us in to the young man who brought us room service, everyone was kind, friendly and extremely helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: This was our first time staying, so we don't have too many pointers, but the king room facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kacey_b4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear kacey_b4,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything! The Moody Gardens’ attractions are always a guest favorite, and we are glad that you were able stay with us and enjoy the proximity of the hotel to the attractions..

We hope to welcome you back Moody Gardens soon!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palestine, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were able to stay at this hotel on March 23, 2014 (the day after the oil spill on the Texas City dike) in preparations of boarding the Carnival Triumph on March 24, 2014. We noticed that there was many people sitting in the lobby area when we checked in. Later that afternoon, we asked what was going on and we were told that they were waiting to board the Carnival Magic, which was also delayed in departing due to the oil spill. This speaks volumes to me from a hotel that will allow these people to remain on the property and allow them to stay in the lobby until they could board their ship around 9:30 PM on that night. They really are service oriented!!!

As far as the room, it was absolutely luxurious and a real comfort to stay there. The beds were magnificent and a pleasure for my back that has a torn disc!! The hotel was very clean in every location that I looked. This was even during a period of renovation in other parts of the same building!!! I will definitely be a repeat customer based upon the customer service and the attention to cleanliness in every detail. I highly recommend this property to anyone that can appreciate a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the Rain Forest pyramids, the causeway, the airfield, and the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 633darrelld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Darrell D,

We are thrilled to hear that you had such a good experience at the hotel! Thank you for the kind comments about our staff and hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your room and that the bed was comfortable for your back.

We hope to welcome you back to Moody Gardens soon!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I stayed from March 20th-22nd. We were on a mini vacation. We had a wonderful time and experience. We couldn't ask for better service, assistance, friendliness, and hospitality. We even got great assistance and hospitality by Mark Wilmoth on where things were located at the resort. Couldn't ask for a better time and mini vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haleyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Haleyos,

Thank you for leaving feedback about your recent stay with us. It is certainly rewarding to read such wonderful comments. I am thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the exemplary service staff provided. They are always ready to assist, and are a great asset to Moody Gardens.

We would love to welcome you and your husband back to Moody Gardens for another mini vacation!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Moody goes over the top taking care of cruisers. It is a great way to start or end you vacation. As travel agents we use and recommend Moody Gardens to all our cruisers as a pre or post cruise stay. We have never had guest come back and complain to us about any thing at Moody.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlMageeCruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear AlMageeCruises,

Thank you for leaving feedback about your clients' experiences at Moody Gardens Hotel. We look forward to welcoming more of your clients as our guests for pre and post cruise stays or anytime they would like to get away for a nice relaxing visit.

I appreciate your review and your continued business.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We recently came down the day before to stay in Galveston the day before the cruise. This was the best choice we made all cruise. On Sunday there was a bad fog delay and the port was shutdown due to an oil spill. The hotel let us stay in our rooms till 5 pm for no charge. In addition they were very supportive and everything we asked for they said no problem. The hotel even drove us to our cruise ship finally at 11 pm and was very helpful and support. We are back in Chicago now due to Royal canceled the trip, but thank you again Moody for making some of our trip good. Special thank you to Brandon Guest Services Manager for your late night with us.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swimdude02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Swimdude02,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Moody Gardens. I am glad to hear that we were able to make a stressful time easier on you. I am sorry to hear that you were not able to get out on your cruise. Thank you so much for the kind notes about our Guest Services Manager, Brandon!

Thank you for the review and if you return to Galveston in the future, we would love to welcome you back to Moody Gardens.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Moody Gardens Hotel to celebrate our 4 yr. Anniversary!
It was our first time stay and we were very pleased. We especially enjoyed the live band on Saturday (not sure if they have live music very Saturday) night and hanging out at the pool.
My room was very clean and pretty with a great view of the Pyramids.

Room Service was Great!
My only 'CON' would be the ridicules SPA prices!!!!!!!
After reading some of these bad reviews , I think I was just one of the Lucky ones!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanceQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear RomanceQuest,

Thank you so much for telling us about your recent stay! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your accommodations. I am happy that you were able to experience the live band and hanging out at our pool.

We hope to welcome you back for many more Anniversaries in the future!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.2 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
4.4 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Property: Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-8927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing