We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant conference resort hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasant conference resort hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed at the Moody Gardens Hotel for two back to back conferences over 4 nights. This was not my first time but I had a little extra time to visit. The hotel is very clean and the room was lovely. The staff was terrific. The conference food was excellent, including an awards dinner. The cafe food was okay to good.
The rainforest exhibit is absolutely a delight and well worth visiting. The aquarium is also nice but would be hard to beat the rainforest. The resort has pool, zip line and ropes, beach and lazy river which I did not try. Nice spa and pretty complete exercise room. Also Starbucks. Actually got to visit historic Galveston on this trip - you can arrange for the hotel van to take you down there. All in all a very nice experience.
By the way, Moody Gardens has a program of helping to train and sometimes employ young people with traumatic brain injuries. Kudos to them for walking the walk!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear KRB81,

It is certainly rewarding to read such a wonderful review. I am glad we continue to impress you, and I am thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay, the amenities and the terrific service staff provided. They are always ready to assist, and are a great asset to Moody Gardens. It’s great to hear you had extra time to explore and enjoy the Moody Gardens Attractions and visit historic Galveston.

We look forward to welcoming you back for business or leisure. Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    401
    131
    74
    30
See reviews for
556
228
20
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seabrook, Texas
Level Contributor
220 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Lobby Bar was closed for renovations but went to the Billiard room for a cocktails. Our Bartender Kim was wonderful...great service and good conversation...She is such a delight...stop by and see her if you are staying at the hotel...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Deborah T,

Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent visit to our Lobby Bar. Your kind words about Kim are greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit at the temporary location in the Garden Cay. The Lobby Bar will re-open after Memorial Day 2014. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and to hearing your feedback on the “NEW” Lobby Bar.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The staff were extra, extra helpful. My stay was wonderful. Very clean and looks great! The pool area was amazing. The pool bar staff were amazing. I spent 3 nights. Was very, very satisfied and would reccommend this hotel to anyone. Except the shrimp cocktails from the Cafe need a little help, the food is decent.

Room Tip: Poolsode king. Very comfy. Nice view of the property from 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Cherie R,

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, the pool and the Pool Bar. We hope that you will give Café in the Park another try; we promise you won't be disappointed! We hope to welcome you back to Moody Gardens soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The staff at check in was so nice and so very helpful. Including the valet service. The room was beautiful and very spacious. We had a corner room and had a lot of space. The rooms are supplied with a keurig coffee machine which is nice. The beds were comfortable. The room was also very clean along with a clean bathroom. The décor is very tasteful and island themed. I will stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesweekends94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear lovesweekends94,

Thank you so much for the nice review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the kind comments about our staff and decor! We hope to welcome you back to Moody Gardens soon!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is top-notch. The surroundings both indoors and out are beautiful. The food in the restaurant on the main floor near the lobby is excellent. The pool is really nice and very clean. Our room was immaculate, and always cleaned to perfection. The bedding was really clean and the bed was always made. The bathroom was immaculate as well, always cleaned to perfection. The cleaning staff was very friendly and the check-in personnel was friendly as well. The rooms were reasonably priced, even though this was a holiday weekend. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobo8703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear hobo8703,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at Moody Gardens! We are so glad that you had a wonderful Easter weekend with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is exquisite all around! From check in personnel to bell men to the poolside workers to the the associate in the creamery station were completely nice and friendly. The property is well kept and manicured perfectly. The one and only issue I had was the bottle water in the vending machine was $3.00... And no complimentary water in the room. Not a deal breaker but I guess hotels/ resorts have me spoiled with comp water. I would def visit moody garden hotel again and again (I'll bring my own bottled water) but a must stay hotel. The entire family can have a great time. I have a 2 and 3 y/o and they enjoyed their time greatly. The breakfast buffet was amazing. 6 and under eat free and only 15.00 for adults was great!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AKA77056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear AKA77056,

Thank you so much for leaving feedback about your recent stay at Moody Gardens. We are thrilled to hear that your family enjoyed your stay here with us! We love to welcome children to the hotel and we are so glad that they had a good time. I am glad that you got to try our breakfast buffet and visit the pool during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Moody Gardens soon!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
420 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during a work related event. The room was spacious, clean and well .maintained. The lap pool, workout room and locker room were clean and well equipped. The sauna was very relaxing. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The only problem was. I was offered turn down service but never received it. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank roxiekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear roxiekay,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff pleasant and helpful. I do apologize for the missed turn down service and will get with our staff to make sure measures are in place to avoid this situation from occurring in the future.

Thank you so much for the nice comments about our service and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Moody Gardens soon!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.2 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Property: Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-8927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#1 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing