We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting old Galveston.”
Review of The Strand

The Strand
Book In Advance
More Info
US$155.00*
and up
Galveston Island and Houston Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #3 of 103 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A lively strip in the heart of historic Galveston feautures pubs, delis and specialty shops.
Galveston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Interesting old Galveston.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I used to work on the strand. Mind your parking. Nice place to spend the day and shop or eat. I used to meet the most interesting people while working.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank World Traveler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,120
    812
    349
    50
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Aunt CJ's Girl's Day Out”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Four of us ladies took our 85 yr old Aunt CJ to the Strand during her recent visit to Galveston. We had an awesome time. Sidewalks were easy for her to maneuver and she especially enjoyed the Admirality Shop, Head to Footsies, Tina's, and Gracies. Merchandise in the these stores is quality and staff very friendly. We ate lunch at a little place in that area (can't remember the name), but it was tucked back off the street, and well worth the stop. The owner was very accommodating and the food excellent. The Strand is a "must See/do" for anyone visiting Galveston. I have lived here full-time (IBC) since 2005 and love any occasion to visit the Strand.

SC

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Great History”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We visited in the evening and during a Saturday morning. Definately worth going up one side and down the other. Lots of shops, restaurants, and history. Really enjoyed it at both times of trhe day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Grove, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Entertaining Day Out”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Strand Area is interesting as it gives a view of Old town Galveaston. There are many
shops and bars. A fun place to spend a day. Plenty of dining and sights to see, especially
near the waterfront. Really liked Wiille G's for dinner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jerryjbamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Shopping, shopping, shopping!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We enjoyed many hours at the ART ober FEST before visiting the Strand, and purchasing many presents for family and friends. Every store had something, or many special things making it hard to decide what to buy. We enjoyed the tranquil street atmosphere very much.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Strand also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing