We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broadway

Broadway
Ranked #38 of 100 things to do in Galveston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The historic area of Galveston noted for its beautiful old buildings
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I love it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

You can see many historical churches on the broad way. I love St. Patrick and Secret Heart churches. They are beautiful. Bishop palace by Secret Heat church is another beautiful building.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank M1nam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not Savannah”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I've seen pictures of old Galveston when the horse-drawn trolley ran down the center of Broadway and it was lined with beautiful old homes. Not so anymore but at least there are sufficient homes left to give you some idea of what it used to be like in the old days especially on the East end. I've lived here over fifty years now and am glad to see that we have started to appreciate our old heritage and are in the continuing process of restoring our historic homes instead of tearing them down for another gas station. If your on the Island just take a drive down Broadway to the Seawall and enjoy what once was.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jt093812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort worth
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

The first time I saw this street it was when I was ten years old & I've thought it was a nice drive ever since.
There's all kinds of old mansions that have been kept up & are in good shape.
Just off this street is the Old East End district with more old homes: some taken care of,others being reworked & those that are run down.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I live on the mainland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

and whenever i got galveston we have to essentially take Broadway. I try to find other ways to get to other places using alternate routes because this avenue can get hectic and the interminable street lights can get on my nerves.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LolitaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The way across town, with the esplanade in the middle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Broadway is a lovely six lane street which bisects Galveston. The harbor to the North, the beach to the South. There are numerous places to visit, but it is not a destination in itself.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Father_Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Broadway also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing