We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean , Fresh & Well run.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Off The main beach front, Well worth it. No blowing sand, Very few Seagulls, VERY CLEAN,WONDERFULL STAFF & EXCEPTIONALY FRIENDLY. THIS island spot had it all. There is a good Diner cady corner , Not expensive on 61st street. THE MGR. WAS GREAT. Good shopping walking distance ! WE WILL STAY THERE MANY MORE TIMES...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

I loved the way the staff at this place was sooooo caring and so genuinely sincere in their service. I stayed here for three days and these were the best days of my travel!!!!
I'd recommend every one to go to the candlewood suites!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aly1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We were in Galveston to attend a Christmas concert and to visit with some old friends. The hotel was very nice. The room was a one bedroom with plenty of space. We enjoy Candlewood Suites because they have a full kitchen. Service was excellent. They welcomed our dogs as well. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed in preparation for the 5150 triathlon in Galveston and found this property conveniently located. Nice rooms, efficient layout, all things working fine, friendly staff. Secure parking, good size pool and resting area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eraschle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Booked 5 night stay through their central reservations. Wanted smoking room, ground floor, and we travel with a small dog. Our room was on the top floor (3rd) and overlooked the city dump. There were very few guests in the hotel. Asked for two extra pillows the next morning as the bed had three small, square, lumpy pillows and was told it was their "policy" to give only one. I asked for an ashtray and was asked if we didn't have ONE. Yes, but I want two. The trash in the room was full when we arrived. The bed was so close to the wall that one person had to crawl over. The recliner in the room was greasy and did not recline. Customer service is not a priority here! We checked out the next day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Galveston, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Carol T,

Thank you for leaving us feedback about your stay. It is very unfortunate that we were not able to deliver an at par experience on this stay particularly with the condition of the room and if the quality of service was less than satisfactory. Your feedback is important to us as this will enable us to further improve on what we can offer.

Again, we appreciate your review and our apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We recently took a 3 day vacation to galveston island & stayed at Candlewood suites. Extremely satisfied with the quality of service here. Would like to mention that we reached a lot earlier than the normal checkin timings. Staff couteously helped us to get a room ready at the earliest possible.
I would surely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vijay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We recently took a 3 day getaway to Galveston Island. We stayed in the Candlewood Suites for the second time & were very happy, AGAIN!

The room was great, (having a full size refrigerator, two burner stove-top, & microwave is great for us! We cooked breakfast & lunch in the room to save money!!), the pool was great, (the hot tub wasn't working though!), the staff were great!!!

There is a grill & seating area that is available for hotel guests, (we didn't use it, but we checked it out), a "country cupboard" , (that has snacks & food for people to get for their rooms), & a computer room/wi-fi area down by the front desk.

They also have DVD's & video games for you to borrow &, (what I think), was coolest of all, there are two machines in the pool area that allow handicap patrons to use the pool & hot tub. To me this is awesome!!! I work at a Research & Rehab hospital in Houston & seeing these machines that allow disabled patrons to have access to the pool area is fantastic!

The location of this hotel is fine with no problem getting around, (I've read some reviews that say it's "way out of the way", which is untrue). You are a 10 minute drive down Broadway to The Seawall at Stewart Beach. Halfway down the Broadway drive, you turn left to get to The Strand, (10 minutes from hotel). And if you go up 61st Street, (5 minutes from hotel), you hit the Seawall further down, so you can work your way back down the Seawall to Pleasure Pier, The Convention Center, etc.

Overall, we were very happy, (Again!), & will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Galveston

Address: 808 61st St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-1099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £63 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Galveston offers ideal lodging! Why stay in one of the cheap hotels in Galveston when you can enjoy the premium amenities of the Candlewood Suites - Galveston extended stay hotel? Stay with us and you'll see why our guests' surveys praise the excellent service of our hotel. Galveston is a mix of historic settings and modern culture, as evidenced by the unique shops and stops along The Strand. Galveston County Historical Museum offers a look at local history, and you can explore world history, science and the rainforest at the pyramids in Moody Gardens. Our hotel in Galveston is just a short drive from Schlitterbahn Island Waterpark. Corporate travelers lodging in our Galveston hotel are minutes from Galveston Convention Center, University of Texas Medical Center, the Port of Galveston, Halliburton and other businesses in Galveston. Our hotel's business center, along with each suite's over-sized desk with free high-speed Internet access and a speakerphone with free local calls, help you work efficiently. During your stay in Galveston, our extended stay hotel's amenities will make you feel right at home. You can cook meals in your suite's fully equipped kitchen, relax in the recliner while watching movies from the free movie library and unwind in the fitness center and outdoor pool. From a free laundry facility to the Candlewood Cupboard, our extended stay hotel in Galveston will take care of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Candlewood Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing