We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best in Galveston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Hondo, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not the best in Galveston”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We've stayed in Galveston numerous times and we were looking for a less-expensive option. The room was in decent condition. We did love that it had a full refrigerator. The beds were comfortable. Our room was on the outside wall close to the pool and, unfortunately, the walls must be paper-thin because there was a group of people at the pool late the first evening and we could hear everything they were saying. They were loud and kept us awake. We did call the front desk to complain and they did make sure the people left (thankful for good staff). We went swimming in the pool the next day and the pool was nice. However, the outside door entering the hotel on the Southside had a broken lock - so anyone could gain access to the hotel at any time without a key. That was a bit unsettling. I suppose the facilities were nice but the price was high. Chalk it up to supply and demand.

Room Tip: Pick one away from the pool if you have 'normal' bedtimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Galveston, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Tara L,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your kind words on your room accommodations and comfortable bed. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We are sorry for the noise challenges you experienced and for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world class service to our guests.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    42
    15
    6
    14
See reviews for
53
38
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife, daughter and I just spent a week at this hotel and our room was “Excellent”. We paid allot less than many hotels prices in the area and got more “Bang-for –our-Buck” than others were offering. A separate bedroom and a nice kitchen were great for our family and entertaining our guest. The kitchen didn’t have an oven just a toaster but two top eyes, full frig, lg microwave, dishwasher etc. and a good size kitchen for a hotel room. The area was nice and safe, a large Target just next door; we spent lots of time at the pool, and the Staff and Management was extremely helpful with our concerns. We will be returning customers and highly recommend to any family.
Lawrence

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sprinfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I booked a queen bed on Priceline and upon arriving learned that it was a smoking room. The smoke odor was a bit much for us and asked for a non smoking. They didn't have any available single beds for the weekend and the manager on duty gave us a queen suite. The room was clean and very spacious! I will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Galveston.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dhuyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My family and I were in Galveston for the 4th of July and were lucky to get rooms at this nice facility. The rooms were large and very comfortable. Because of the kitchen, we were able to cook breakfast each day and keep our drinks and food cold. The pool was clean and well maintained. The owner was very nice and very helpful! We enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: A room away from the outside door would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnafromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here three nights. We had all of the comforts of home. A very nice kitchenette with a full sized refrigerator, a closet in the entry, nice sized living room area that included a sofa bed and recliner, a very comfortable bedroom that included a second closet. All of the staff was very accommodating. They were friendly, efficient, and knowledgable of the City. We've stayed at other hotels in the area, i.e..The San Luis but this was much nicer. we will definitely stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demetra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I stay in hotels more than we are home and we have found that management is the key to the experience at each place. We highly recommend this hotel in the Galveston area. Management and staff care about their guests and will go to great lengths to provide what is necessary to make your stay what it needs to be. If we are ever back in this area, we won't hesitate to book a room at 808 61st

Room Tip: Top floor is always best we think
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennie0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
619 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a large group going on a cruise (including some elderly relatives) so we needed a reasonably priced hotel to stay at before our cruise. We didn't need a place close to the beach nor did we want to pay the higher prices. This was a good choice. This hotel was right off the highway as we drove in from Houston- very easy to find.

We went to the beach for dinner and it took us less than 10 minutes to get to the strand. Moody Gardens was even closer.

Within walking distance of the hotel there were loads of shops (like Target) and fast food places. So anyone that wanted to go shopping for last minute supplies or even grab a snack could easily walk.

This is considered an "extended stay" hotel so there is no breakfast provided but there was free coffee both in the room and down stairs in the lobby area. Plus there was a full kitchen in each room so you could bring supplies for meals- or walk across the street to buy supplies.

It was clean and the staff was quite helpful.

Room Tip: I did hear motorcycles revving out by the traffic light- so if you're a light sleeper ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen78703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.9 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Galveston

Property: Candlewood Suites Galveston
Address: 808 61st St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-1099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Galveston offers ideal lodging! Why stay in one of the cheap hotels in Galveston when you can enjoy the premium amenities of the Candlewood Suites - Galveston extended stay hotel? Stay with us and you'll see why our guests' surveys praise the excellent service of our hotel. Galveston is a mix of historic settings and modern culture, as evidenced by the unique shops and stops along The Strand. Galveston County Historical Museum offers a look at local history, and you can explore world history, science and the rainforest at the pyramids in Moody Gardens. Our hotel in Galveston is just a short drive from Schlitterbahn Island Waterpark. Corporate travelers lodging in our Galveston hotel are minutes from Galveston Convention Center, University of Texas Medical Center, the Port of Galveston, Halliburton and other businesses in Galveston. Our hotel's business center, along with each suite's over-sized desk with free high-speed Internet access and a speakerphone with free local calls, help you work efficiently. During your stay in Galveston, our extended stay hotel's amenities will make you feel right at home. You can cook meals in your suite's fully equipped kitchen, relax in the recliner while watching movies from the free movie library and unwind in the fitness center and outdoor pool. From a free laundry facility to the Candlewood Cupboard, our extended stay hotel in Galveston will take care of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing