We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Ship” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1877 Tall Ship ELISSA

1877 Tall Ship ELISSA
Ranked #6 of 100 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Historic Ship”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Just to realize how small these ships were, with all the people it transported, is worth the tour. Quite daunting to touch the lovingly restored masts with all the rigging. A state treasure!

Helpful?
Thank Melusine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    137
    37
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Allen, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a Beauty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

The Elissa is a three-masted square-rigged barque that was built in Scotland in 1877, and rescued from a scrap heap in Greece in the late 1970s. In 1986 she sailed from Galveston to New York to participate in the centennial of the Statue of Liberty. She is a floating museum. After you pass through the Texas Seaport Museum, you can have a self-guided tour of the deck and below-deck spaces of this wonderful sailing ship. There are photos, artworks, and plaques to give you an idea of life on a working freighter sailing ship in the late nineteenth century. If you have any love at all for the sea, the Elissa should definitely be on your to-do list.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred4570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A beauty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Don't miss this beauty! A visit won't take a long time, and you'll be impressed with her.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Melz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
201 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Museum was lacking, no one on board to ask questions to”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

I am a fan of sailing so I had to check out this historic ship. My husband and I toured the boat, several areas where roped off, I wish we could have seen more. I'd love to sail out to sea on this ship. We toured the museum, there was information on immigration through Texas and shrimping. I really didn't need to see what a shrimping ice shovel looks like though, that was kind of lame. There was a 17 min movie about restoring the Elissa which was kind of cool.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ljmzta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“SAILS UP & RIDE THE WIND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Going during Dickens on the STRAND is the very best time to see this great piece of history. The bosun's chair going to the top of the mast, manned, gave a new insight to 'blowin in the wind'. GREAT VENUE !!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank majiktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1877 Tall Ship ELISSA also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to 1877 Tall Ship ELISSA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing