We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step back in Time”

1877 Tall Ship ELISSA
Ranked #5 of 101 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Texas Heart of
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Step back in Time”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is an amazing ship and was such a fun place for our young captain wannabe's to explore and imagine sailing with pirates! The ship is under constant renovation and some places are not accessible. The sleeping quarters were open the day we were in and it is hard to imagine living on one of these ships for months at a time in the middle of the ocean! Hats off to all the volunteers who were working hard the day I visited in the humid 90 degree heat! Ticket includes the harbor tour, indoor museum and the "Elissa". Less than $10 and even less if you find coupons posted around the island.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LoneStarRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    140
    38
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Grand Old Ship”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Even though we couldn't see the entire ship as she was under repair, we really enjoyed walking on her decks and hold. Would love to go back and see her under full sale one day. The exhibits in the museum were also worth viewing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TexKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Go Back in History”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

One of the last chances to see a refurbished ship of yesteryear not in a permanent anchorage. It still actually goes to sea under sail. Volunteers were replacing wooden decking the day we visited therefore part of the ship was not accessible. It was still worth the visit. The volunteers are obviously proud of the ship and more than willing to share information and answer questions.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnSr_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fun for kids and great history!”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Come and walk all over this amazing ship! Kids love to take pictures at the wheel. See cabins and loading bay, look out to sea, walking distance to great food and other museums.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank babymains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice ship to see”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Ship was under maintenance which is understandable with her age, so didn't take the on ship tour this time

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rampump1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1877 Tall Ship ELISSA also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to 1877 Tall Ship ELISSA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing