We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location.”
Review of Harbor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor House
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
MORENO VALLEY
Level 6 Contributor
590 reviews
281 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location.”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

One of my favorite hotels in the USA. On the harbor, not on the seawall side. One of my favorite views, I can just sit in the big comfortable chair and watch all the tankers, tugs, barges, & cruise ships go up and down the harbor channel. They have wonderful suites that have windows looking out two different direction. Extremely comfortable over stuffed furniture. 3 excellent seafood restaurants in a row, including the one downstairs. Only one block to the Strand, the downtown area full of restaurants and shops. Good strong Wi-Fi. Things that could be better; they have the old style flat screen TV. Not HD. Hard to believe a Hotel like this, with these prices, doesn't have "real" flatscreen TVs! They also have strange light switches that are really hard to get used to. And thirdly, as you walk around your room, come into your room, lights are popping on automatically. I am constantly turning lights off! Every time I walk through the living room the bathroom lights go? Really don't get that.

As nice (and expensive) as this hotel is, customer service often stinks. There is no listing of TV channels in the room. When Wi-Fi goes out, there's no 800-number available to call and get help. When I called the front desk about the Wi-Fi issue, it took me several calls to get someone to answer. When I got a call from a business associate and needed to write down the message, I realized there was no pad/pen on the desk or side table as you would find in most hotels. I reported that my sink was not draining, but no one ever showed up to fix it.

Room Tip: I've stayed here several times, but this was the first time on the second floor instead of the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Harbor House. We agree that it is a wonderful location and please accept my apologies for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. We will share your feedback with the appropriate staff. We hope that you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    227
    73
    39
    15
See reviews for
215
323
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Several of our computer cruise friends decided to stay at the Harbor House before last weeks cruise. We had never stayed there but others had and recommended it.

We arrived very early in the afternoon to meet up with people taking a tour of Galveston, and the bubbly lady at the front desk let us check in and gave us all kinds of advice on where to eat and drink - and what places we should use her name for freebies or discounts :-)

The hotel was right next to the dock where our ship was, right next door to the place we were gathering as a group for dinner, and convenient to everything. The rooms were nice, the continental breakfast served on the second floor was limited and was totally depleted when we went down, but when we told them they re-stocked - although several people just left.

All in all it's a great place to stay and we'll probably return the next time we go in early for a cruise.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MostlyTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review on your stay at Harbor House. We will share your compliments with our front desk staff at the hotel. We're happy to hear that it was convenient for you and your friends. Please accept my apologies regarding the complimentary Continental breakfast, we'll make sure that the appropriate staff is aware. Thanks again for choosing Harbor House and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I don't know what took us so long to finally stay at this hotel. It was supposed to be my birhday girls only weedkend but my girlfriend backed out at the last minute so the hubby and adult daughter took turns staying with me. My husband, daughter and I loved it. We were steps away from some of the best restaurants on the island, right on the water and just across the street from the Historic Strand District. Watching the dolphins and the cruise ships sail by from our window was awsome. The hotel itself was unique and romantic and the rooms are large. We know we are going to spend our next anniversary- our 30th this December- at the Harbor House. Hotel staff was great! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TLTHuntsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your birthday stay at Harbor House. We are excited that you enjoyed the hotel, the location and all the great food and fun. Harbor House is the only hotel that overlooks Galveston's historic harbor so we appreciate that you enjoyed the view. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Wonderful stay! The room was very spacious and clean. Staff was extremely friendly. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at Harbor House. We appreciate your insight and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.2 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Property: Harbor House
Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing