We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Harbor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbor House
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Comfortable room. Nice amenities. Good continental breakfast. Excellent coffee. Nice
view from window of harbor and water activity. Good location. Close to restaurants. Very
pleasant staff. Not close to beach but shuttle was available.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Harbor House. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    222
    71
    39
    14
See reviews for
205
314
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2013

No business center and could have stayed on the sea wall with a jacuzzi and a balcony for the same price. The breakfast was a joke, toast and coffee and that was it. They also didn't have a channel listing sheet in the room, nor did they have any kind of local information for attractions and amusements anywhere in the hotel. The wifi was also horrible.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay. I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy the hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will address the issues that you mentioned. Please note that our lobby includes an iPad which features current information on Galveston including attractions and special events. Also, Pier 21 offers five restaurants within steps of the hotel as well as three harbor excursions and two museums. We hope that you'll give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midway, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is my first stay on the island. My husband and I enjoyed the relaxing and quiet atmosphere. You can walk to the strand from hotel or enjoy watching ships come into the harbor. There are restaurants all around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your positive review on your stay at Harbor House. We are so pleased that you found the hotel and the location "relaxing." We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Bathroom needed cleaning. Coffee maker didn't work. Hair dryer cord was cut. I got shocked! Scary!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Harbor House. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. Your review will be shared with the appropriate staff. Please give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The staff is great, the location is great; but the hotel is lacking. Scuff marks on the walls, mold in the bathroom, cracking grout and tired looking furniture. The continental breakfast is passable at best. The rooms are large and views are nice; but not for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Harbor House. We appreciate the compliments to our staff. Please know that we are planning to renovate all the rooms in the hotel at the end of the year. We hope that you will give us another try following our renovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxahachie, Texas, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Harbor House was a great location specific to our trip. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and roomy with a view of the harbor from two sides. We had a small refrigerator and a microwave, cable TV, and a King sized bed that was so comfortable. The A/C kept the room just right day and night. We came to Galveston to go deep sea fishing, so the harbor was the right place to stay. The Strand was just a block away, so we could walk there for shopping and to eat, drink, and be merry (as they say). The Fisherman's Wharf was in walking distance too. I would recommend the food there to anyone. It was excellent. And the views were good as well. The atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly. You can eat inside or outside. The waitress was very good and knowledgeable about the area and the wildlife. Overall, our trip was a great success and we enjoyed everything about our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
We appreciate your glowing review on your stay at Harbor House. We hope that you caught a bounty of fish and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.2 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Property: Harbor House
Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing