We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice with a Fatal Flaw”
Review of Harbor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor House
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice with a Fatal Flaw”
Reviewed 11 September 2008

We had a lovely room with a great view.

However, when we arrived, we discovered that the air conditioner was making a horrible whining noise. We called down to the desk, but the mechanic wasn't there. We figured we could just run the heck out of it while we weren't there and turn it off when we got back. Four hours later the room was just slightly cooler and had to leave it on. Needless to say, that darn thing invented a new, more annoying noise every time we got used to it. It was a rough night.

We told the desk as we were checking out. She apologized. Still...

  • Liked — Lovely rooms, great location, excellent view
  • Disliked — that damn noisy air conditioner
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amysuehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    227
    72
    39
    14
See reviews for
214
322
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston, texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

The hotel does not have a restauant, bar, pool or any balconies and the view is of the Ship Channel! Although, it is in walking distance to the Strand for great shopping and dining. It is perfect for business travelers and/or a one night stay for the cruise ship. The standard room is very nice and spacious. Nice size bathroom/ dressing area w/ good lighting. The hotel staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Liked — Location - it was close to the Strand district
  • Disliked — No balcony or pool
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank socialite47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
787 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We were so disappointed with this ripoff. Located at the cruise ship terminal and next to historical downtown Galveston it seemed like a perfect hotel. Yet every aspect of our stay failed. Check-in was a joke with untrained college kids offering half hearted efforts. No walkways or ramps were provided to access the lobby and we had to carry our luggage up the stairs without any assistance. Our room was from the 60's including the old furniture and bed. The high noise levels outside our room continued until 1am making it almost impossible to sleep. Next morning we walked through the token breakfast area in total disbelief that the hotel could be serious about the offering. The same college kids processed our check-out and seemed as happy to see as leave as we were to go. What a dump. What a ripoff.

  • Disliked — Old furniture and bed
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Walker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

Our extended family stayed here in several rooms for a wedding. The lady at the front desk was nice as we checked in and even marked certain rooms as filled for other members who had not arrived yet so that we could have rooms that were right next to each other.

The rooms were spacious, but I did not care for the bathroom setup. The sink and separate vanity counter w/mirror were right outside the bathroom door----which opened out. So if a person was at the sink and another person came out of the bathroom, you got smacked with the door! The walls were kind of thin too, I could hear voices thru the bathroom vent and also in other areas of the room.

Nice sized frige and microwave in the room; they were tucked into an armoire under the flat screen tv. Beds and pillows were comfortable, but I thought the comforter left something to be desired.....it felt like burlap. You do get real glasses and coffee cups.

Breakfast was a joke if you have kids......2 kinds of muffins, 2 kinds of croissant type pastries, oatmeal cups, coffee and tea. No cereal, no bread for toast. The muffins were not "kid friendly" either, they were cranberry and raisin oatbran.

There is an iron and ironing board, however, it is a tabletop board (like you use in a dorm room!!) Only half of the closet opened. The carpets seem to need a good shampoo job or replacement. One person in our party walked from her room to another and back again barefoot and her feet were so dirty she had to wash them before she got into bed.....so bring flip flops or slippers!

There is a parking fee of $10, and you have to speak into an intercom to get them to raise the security arm so you can get into the parking lot before you check in. Once you check in, they give you the security code and then you can use that to get back in the parking lot....we only stayed one night so not sure how often they change that code. They said they have a security guard but I never saw one. The only thing that makes the parking lot "secure" is that arm across the driveway. No fence or anything else to keep people from walking into the parking lot.

Joe's Crab Shack is next door on one side, and Willie G's Seafood and Steakhouse is next door on other side of the hotel. The Strand is 1 block away.....close enough to walk and leave your car in the hotel parking lot rather than driving a couple blocks and having to shell out more money for parking.

As Galveston is a tourist area, prices for hotels are much higher on the weekend and around special events. If you can, I suggest staying during the week and save yourself around $100 per night!

Overall, this was a nice, fairly quiet hotel and is associated with the Hotel Galvez across town. You are able to go there and use the pool and you can get a discount at their spa.

  • Liked — bed and pillows were comfortable
  • Disliked — breakfast was a joke, no pool, too expensive
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iluvnascar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

We stayed here for two days in February after reading reviews even though we had never been to Galveston. I loved the location, at least in February, far better then the beach across the island. Many good restaurants nearby (Rudy & Paco and Saltwater Grill among others) and a few of the other kind (Joe's Crab Shack). Secure parking (at a price), a large new room and a friendly staff. As with most "continental" breakfasts it was not worth eating. Color us happy customers.

  • Liked — Location, staff & cleanliness
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albuquerque_NMGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee Colony, TX
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2008

Big Clean Rooms. Nice staff, but they were not very knowledgeable about the Galveston area. My only complaints would be there is no guest laundry room and the continental breakfast did not have much of a variety. Overall it was an above average stay. If the Strand area is where you would like to visit I highly recommend this hotel. We stayed for three nights and were
only charged for $20 for secured parking.

  • Liked — Big, Clean Comfortable rooms.
  • Disliked — No guest laundry room, poor continental breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DRL-TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2008

I have stayed at this hotel a few times. The hotel is very nice and conveniently located next to the Strand; however, the customer service is the worst. Other folks that I have referred to this property also say how they like the place, but the service is horrible. I suggest management take a hard look at revamping their customer service and hire folks who are happy and care about the customers.

  • Liked — Nice decor and location
  • Disliked — Customer service
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBSalazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.2 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Property: Harbor House
Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#4 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing