We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Bad!”
Review of Harbor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor House
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    227
    72
    39
    14
See reviews for
214
322
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MORENO VALLEY
Level 6 Contributor
590 reviews
281 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Keep in mind the stated price will have three other charges added to it that totals around $40, Including a $10 a day parking fee!

This hotel has always been one of my favorites in the country. As someone who's traveled full-time for the past six years I have lots of memories here. Since the last year this hotel has been renovated and I don't like it.

They appeared to be trying to get a certain quantity of the boutique hotel crowd. I liked the furniture that was in there before: big overstuffed couch and chairs, extremely comfortable.

The worse thing about this hotel now, and somewhat before, is the lighting system. The light switches aren't the kind you're used and you never know what each light switch to use. It might turn on every light in the suite or just turn on the light nearest the switch. It took me forever to figure out how to turn on the big chrome light over the sofa, it had a footpedal that was black, sitting on a black tile floor. Given that I was trying to do this at night, it was pretty much impossible to see.

Despite all this, still one of my favorite places, so much better and more interesting than the Seawall side of the island.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the hotel. We are working to address the lighting. Sorry to hear that you aren't a fan of the new look of the hotel; we hope that it grows on you. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I spent one night in April and had a lovely stay. I was a little concerned when I booked this hotel with all of the mixed reviews but I have to say they were all unfounded! The hotel has just undergone major renovations and we had an amazing room.

The location was perfect and was amazing to see the dolphins following the trawlers out in the morning.

The only slight negative is that the breakfast room is on the small side and not masses of choice but otherwise top marks!

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We are so pleased that you had a "lovely stay" at Harbor House Hotel and Marina at Pier 21. The hotel is within walking distance of various restaurants at Pier 21 as well as those located on The Strand and Postoffice Street. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

as much as i travel... i had never encountered light switches as difficult to work with as those at harbor house.

otherwise, the hotel and the service were outstanding. because of my walking difficulties, i had requested a room close to the elevator... and happily i was assigned the first room closes to the elevator... this was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank mesails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the hotel. We are sorry about the issue with the light switches and we are working on resolving that. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great location, pleasant rooms. Staff need more training at resolving issues. I booked in for a fri / sat stay as attending a function on sat night. Policy was they would only accept 2 night reservations. Checked in friday to ensure i got the room then left early sat morning to get boat and sail down. Upon arrival at 5 pm found that my key no longer worked. On further inquiry, the hotel had checked me out, this despite the booking, and despite the arduous checking in process. They made out like i was being a nuisance. Took over 1.5 hrs to get another room. Was then late for the evening function.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We are so sorry to hear about the issues that you mentioned at the hotel. We will make sure that the guest services manager is aware. We hope that you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.2 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Property: Harbor House
Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing