We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 1st 2014 Dolphins and coolness! ”
Review of Harbor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbor House
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel! We have stayed in a few of the hotels on the sea wall and they were always average and usually not worth the money...This hotel on the harbor was beautiful and clean and had ever changing cool views of the pier...the kids watched dolphins play from our window and from the dock below...Wolfgang Puck coffee in the room for adults plus and fridge and microwave...and it was super clean! I saw several reviews about the lights being hard to work...but you just push a button instead of flip a switch...kind of a cool change I thought...large shower and bathroom ...super comfy beds and huge double room...friendly staff...lots to do within walking distance and easy 10$ per day parking...plus easy drive to sea wall ...I will never stay at another Galveston hotel...Harbor House wins!

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank lazyctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Wow! We appreciate your glowing review of your stay at Harbor House Hotel & Marina. We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed the hotel, the view and the area. Please stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

The lighting system is horrendous..never did figure it out. Front desk offered that we could have had someone to show us how to turn on lights !!

Rooms spacious.. beware if you book on Booking.com you will get the worst rooms..our view blocked by air conditioning pipes. We had booked 2 rooms for three nights.

Several nice restaurants adjoin property.Could use some public seating near water to enjoy water activity.
overall, nice stay. Attentive staff to a housekeeping issue.

Room Tip: avoid second floor 211
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliana5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We appreciate the feedback on your stay at Harbor House Hotel. Sorry to hear about the issue with the lights. Despite the inconvenience, we hope that you enjoyed the surrounding area. Please stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location of the Harbor House is in itself worth every penny! The views from the room and the restaurant patio were top notch. The rooms were just okay...nothing spectacular and nothing like the pictures on their website, but comfortable. The cruise ships pass right by and you can even leave your car there for your entire cruise (at $10 a day but worth it). You can walk to the strand and seaside restaurants and bars. Nothing better on the island!!! Stay here you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grizzy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for the kind review on your pre-cruise stay at Harbor House. We have been updating photos to remove the dated shots of the rooms. Our guest rooms now offer an industrial yet cozy ambiance that blends with the area of a working port. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Juliek55
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Keep in mind the stated price will have three other charges added to it that totals around $40, Including a $10 a day parking fee!

This hotel has always been one of my favorites in the country. As someone who's traveled full-time for the past six years I have lots of memories here. Since the last year this hotel has been renovated and I don't like it.

They appeared to be trying to get a certain quantity of the boutique hotel crowd. I liked the furniture that was in there before: big overstuffed couch and chairs, extremely comfortable.

The worse thing about this hotel now, and somewhat before, is the lighting system. The light switches aren't the kind you're used and you never know what each light switch to use. It might turn on every light in the suite or just turn on the light nearest the switch. It took me forever to figure out how to turn on the big chrome light over the sofa, it had a footpedal that was black, sitting on a black tile floor. Given that I was trying to do this at night, it was pretty much impossible to see.

Despite all this, still one of my favorite places, so much better and more interesting than the Seawall side of the island.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the hotel. We are working to address the lighting. Sorry to hear that you aren't a fan of the new look of the hotel; we hope that it grows on you. Please stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I spent one night in April and had a lovely stay. I was a little concerned when I booked this hotel with all of the mixed reviews but I have to say they were all unfounded! The hotel has just undergone major renovations and we had an amazing room.

The location was perfect and was amazing to see the dolphins following the trawlers out in the morning.

The only slight negative is that the breakfast room is on the small side and not masses of choice but otherwise top marks!

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We are so pleased that you had a "lovely stay" at Harbor House Hotel and Marina at Pier 21. The hotel is within walking distance of various restaurants at Pier 21 as well as those located on The Strand and Postoffice Street. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.2 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £85 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing