We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Value and updated since last in G-town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I am stayed here for work but have had bad luck in the past with other hotels when I have visited Galveston. It seems as though they have remodeled the rooms and they are updated, clean, Phillip Thomas Roth toiletries, flat screen TV. The pool (though too cold to go in) has a swim up bar with stools, but is right near the front of the hotel. There is valet parking but onsite is free. It is next to Landry's and Rainforest Cafe, so there is some decent food within walking distance. Ask for a tower room ocean view. You think that you will be stuck in the back but it is nice as it overlooks the ocean. The non tower rooms all seem to have balconies, but your views are parking lots on both sides.

Room Tip: Ask for a tower room ocean view. You think that you will be stuck in the back but it is nice as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

I am sorry this response is so late, however we wanted to thank you for your business and wanted to say we hope to see you back in the near future to experience a new product and staff upgrade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,066 - 2,072 of 2,321 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed here with my parents right before we went on our cruise. Our room was on the 5th floor. It has a great view of the beach. I love the beach theme in the room. The location is great. It's right next to Landry's seafood and Rainforest Cafe. Plus, it's right across from the beach. The hotel went through renovations after Hurricane Ike. It's very modern and beautiful. The staff was super nice and welcoming. I had free access to wi-fi. However, for some reason there is no wi-fi in my room. There's an ethernet cable in the room. I have an MacBook Air so I couldn't connect to the internet. Make sure you ask for a wi-fi enabled room if you really need to connect to the web.

For some reason, I couldn't find the hair dryer in the bathroom. Apparently, it is stashed in the closet just fyi. The hotel has valet parking for $10. It's unlimited which I find very convenient. The breakfast buffet is very very good. There are a lot of healthy options.

My only complaint about this hotel is the A/C unit in my room. It was the LOUDEST unit I've ever heard. I couldn't sleep very well, but if I turned it off it was super cold in the room. If you are very sensitive to noise like I am, make sure to check the A/C unit before unpacking your luggage. I'm sure they'll be able to find you another room. I should have done that before settling in.

As for cruisers like myself, this hotel offers free parking while you're away in a very safe parking lot. They also offer a shuttle to the port. It is very convenient. Make sure you tell the valet guys when you arrive that you'll be going on a cruise. They have a list, and they will give you a time that the shuttle departs the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lala512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

I am glad to hear that you had a great time and the small items that were troubling you I have notified the correct manager to look into. We have since remodeled and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I have stayed at this property several times and had a great time each year. The pool area is beautiful, and the bartenders are great. They tend to book out for proms, collegiate Greek events, etc. It seems each of the times I have been there, there has been a massive group there, so it can be boisterous, but rooms are well insulated, so in room noise was never an issue.

A block away, there is a grocery store (Kroger) and you can request a mini fridge in the room (not guaranteed until day of arrival), so we were able to ease up on snack and meal expenses that way. Next door is a great Landry's seafood restaurant which we always enjoy, too.

Here are my notes about service, pricing and other items that you might wish to be aware of:
While service there is absolutely top notch, you will pay for it. Parking is not included, and is $20 a day, regardless of when you get there; I thought that was high. The on-site restaurant serves a lovely breakfast, but I think the buffet price was too high for what you get, frankly.

Watch the hot tub - two for two times I was there, it did not look clean unfortunately.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are going to be loud at night, especially if they have a large event going on - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annibananny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

I am sorry this response is so late, however we wanted to thank you for your business and wanted to let guests in the past know we have renovated the guest rooms and the hotel has undergone management changes. The items you have spoke of we are confident we have addressed theses issues and you would be pleased with the results. Thank you again and we look forward to you visiting in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We are Hilton Honor Gold members so we have free internet and free breakfast. I wish they had a refrigerator in the room though. Our king bed room had a great view of the Gulf and Seawall. I liked being able to walk right across the street to beach.

There is a grocery store in walking distance if you forgot anything for your cruise. Overall, the hotel was great for the one night before our embarkation on the Mariner of the Seas.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellokittyluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

I am sorry this response is so late, however we wanted to thank you for your business and wanted to let guests in the past know we have renovated the guest rooms and the hotel has undergone management changes. Also, we have added refrigerators to all rooms and suites. Thank you again and we look forward to you visiting in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The good: nice place, smells good, small bar area, great pool w/bar in the pool. big restaraunt and breakfast buffet, but costs too much; close to everything.

The bad: You have to pay $10 a night extra for internet in your room. The business center has computers, printers and the internet, but you pay $3.00 for the first minute and $.50 each minute after and more, if you print. Horrible!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lpaigeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

We invite you to return and we have done many changes including free wi fi, business center complimentary and breakfast buffet is bigger to appeal to a lot more guests requests. Thank you for your business and we look forward to you visiting in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

stayed prior to cruise. Rooms clean and pleasant. Corridor was cold. Took long time to get hot water in room.Breakfast took a while but staff very nice and breakfast was hot and reasoably priced. Good location. Pleasant stay. Furniture was dated and chairs were pulling apart.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PsychSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

I am sorry this response is so late, however we wanted to thank you for your business and wanted to let guests in the past know we have renovated the guest rooms and the hotel has undergone management changes. Also, the lobby and front area have been remodeled and the furniture you are speaking of has been replaced. Thank you again and we look forward to you visiting in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The staff was extremely pleasant. The room was very nice but of course there was no free WIFI or free breakfast because it was a resort. Conveniently located right across from the beach and within walking distance to restaurants and such. Nice. Comfortable. Reasonable price for the property.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutdoorBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

I am sorry this response is so late, however we wanted to thank you for your business and wanted to let guests in the past know we have renovated the guest rooms and the hotel has undergone management changes. Also, we do have free wifi in all the guest rooms. Thank you again and we look forward to you visiting in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.9 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
0.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
3.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5874
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#4 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £72 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing