We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel.... Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights prior to our cruise in early April. (The San Luis Resort was booked!) The hotel is showing some wear, but overall it's a great property.

We booked an Oceanview room & asked when we arrived if we could be upgraded to a balcony, (we love to hear the crashing waves). The hotel was sold out both nights we were there, so I didn't expect the upgrade.... but if you don't ask..... so, we asked, they said no balcony's were available.

We got a wonderfully quiet room on the 7th floor in the tower. The elevator is a really long way from the front desk.... so keep that in mind if you can't or don't like to walk very far.... we didn't mind & our room was wonderful. The bed was comfy & our view was of the pool & the ocean. So....after dinner we go back to our room & we look over to the part of the building that houses the balcony rooms...... 4 floors of balconys..... all but one of them were completely dark! Either ALL the guests in those rooms went to bed early or they were out partying on the town.... I thought it odd & wondered just why I didn't get an upgrade, cuz I think those rooms were unoccupied!

We loved our stay.... all the staff were wonderful. We loved the pool, the restaurant & the bar... we valet parked our car & they guys were great!

Will I stay here again? Sure. Our favorite hotel in Galveston is the San Luis Resort... (all rooms have balcony's)...both hotels are owned by the same person... so they are similar in many ways... plus you can use the facilities at the San Luis if you are staying at the Hilton or the Holiday Inn Resort as well.

Note on parking... if you have a room in the tower building, the elevator is at the back of the resort, so is the parking area... you really don't need to Valet park... there is a door right by the elevator in the tower to the parking area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRVFAN4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for our kind words to Trip Advisor. I will share your response with staff. Please consider the Hilton on future stys to the area.
Mike Pistone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,971 - 1,977 of 2,405 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2013

This hotel has a nice location on Seawall Blvd so you are right on the Gulf but the street is wide and busy. The hotel itself is a little dated, rooms are small, more for Spring Breakers. Does have a pool bar if you are into drinking while swimming. It says it is a resort but there are no 'resort' amenities, eg. golf course, water sports etc.
Best thing about this hotel is that it is next door to a Landry's Seafood restaurant.
We were staying here just overnight before boarding a cruise ship.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie499270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

I appreciate your feedback and I will pass along the comments to the powers at be.
Have a great day and hope to see you soon.
Mike Pistone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

This is not your typical Hilton. It's the smallest Hilton I've ever visited, and it's a little dated. It is oceanfront, but it's not on the beach as there's a very busy highway between the hotel and the beach. In my opinion, the staff needs a little more training, particularly housekeeping. Two days I didn't have coffee or cups for the in room coffee maker, and one day I didn't have bath soap. I would expect more from a hotel that charges as much as they do. However, the bright spot is the staff. Each and everyone of them was nice, polite, had a good attitude, and were more than helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dex49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Staff and I will review your comments and work to improve our operation. i appreciate your candid remarks and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We felt, this Hilton is a little dated. Rooms are bit on the small side. However, the staff was very nice and the location is adequate. Overall, we felt the hotel was over-priced, but it was spring break, so we understand. Not a bad stay, but no wow factor.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank MarioG373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

I appreciate your review on Trip Advisor. I will share your feedback with staff to improve our operation. Thank you again for your input,
Mike Pistone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

ShaLynn and Kelly were our servers at breakfast last Saturday morning professional, nice and helpful only start to describe them. The food was great everything was near perfect. Our room was nice and clean the front desk girl was covered up when we got there and she still got to us in a timely manner, the only complaint I could think of is the Valet could be more of a professional at such a nice hotel. We enjoyed our stay and will be back!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank buddy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

I appreciate yor positive feedback. Trip Advisor is a valuable source for guest reviews for our staff. Please consider us for future stays in this area.

Sincerely,
Mike Pistone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The rooms and hotel were a little tired. The staff was great and the pool was excellent. Great location right on the beach drive. Free parking was nice. A little on the expensive side for the overall quality of the hotel. Would expect a much more update lobby and rooms for $200 plus per night!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you for your comments. Your input is important to our staff. Please cosider the Hilton Galveston in the future, Have a wonderful day.
Mike Pistone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

If your going to Galveston Island the Hilton on Seawall is great. Staff is friendly and professional. Pool was a welcome relief from the heat and the beach is right across the street. Easy quick access to Pleasure Pier, Moody Gardens and great dining. Opt to go with the bigger room/beds, the gulfview with 2 double beds is rather uncomfortable for 2 adults and teenagers. Overall great experience!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you staying with us and look to see you back in the future.
Have a Great Day.

Mike Pistone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.9 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5874
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#4 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#11 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £79 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing