We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and great value ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice and great value ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Our family came for a karate tournament for my son and stayed our first night down the street at the Holiday Inn. It wasn't nearly as nice as the Hilton and was 60 bucks more per night. The view was nice, the heated pool rocked, service was great. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank maczuga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    533
    300
    159
    106
See reviews for
652
576
57
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogata, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

we had Kelly each day for breakfast and for room service. Top of the line! any question we asked she knew where to route us or went and found out. and if you go.......... get her to make you a hot chocolate. I shall just say OMG>>>>>>>>>>> I am so spoiled now. thanks Kelly!!! :D I shall miss them when I have to return to the rat race of real life.
Room very nice and comfortable. Loved being able to sit outside and watch the surf, or just sitting at the desk and feeling the breezy while working.

Room Tip: did not go to the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
I appreciate so much your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback means a lot to the staff when passed on to them. This goes withut saying for travelers who are coming to Galveston as well looking for a nice place to stay.

Thank you again,
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is slightly above average, not great. It is not the best hotel on the island by any stretch of the imagination, but it is fine. The staff was very friendly. But overall, The Galvez, San Luis and downtown hotels are better. I also didn't like the fact that this hotel apparently doesn't participate in the Hilton Honors program. Why does the hotel get to carry the Hilton name and not participate in the Hilton loyalty program? I wouldn't complain if I had to stay here again, but it wouldn't be my first choice either.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank houston1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Staff and I will review your comments and work to improve our operation. i appreciate your candid remarks and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business and was very pleased with the curtesy of all the staff at the Hilton. The room was clean and comfortable. I do not advise trying to take a shower around 7:00AM as there is very little hot water available at that time (can not really blame the hotel for that). They place a newspaper at your door every morning. The room had a great view from the balcony of the bay and pool area. It was nice to sit on the balcony and read the paper while drinking a cup of coffee. They offer free coffee in the lobby and the room also had a small coffee pot. I would not recommend using the pot as everything that came out of it tasted gross. The biggest issue that I had with this hotel is that there is no free in room wifi. You have to pay to get in room wifi or go to the lobby area where it is free. I have stayed in two star hotels that even offer free in room wifi.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank casteelerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Staff and I will review your comments and work to improve our operation. i appreciate your candid remarks and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is a great hotel to stay out if you are cruising out of Galveston or just want to stay near the beach. I would recommend it highly for those traveling to Galveston for fun. It is clean and in a great location for visiting the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

rooms clean service excellent but internet they want to charge and no free breakfast I feel they will have to change this soon because most other hotels already have and if they are going to gough you on room rate they should give something back. or they can just go under their rooms are not that much different than other hotels and they give free internet and free breakfast wake up Hilton or close down other hotels close by offering extras for same or cheaper rates and rooms just as good

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to thank you again for your comments and suggestions and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Without a doubt a Fantastic property! I haven't stayed at a hotel with such friendly, caring, understanding and helpful staff in all of my travels! Begin your visit with a Friendly and Remarkable "Welcome" from Tristen behind the Front Desk! Enjoy a fantastic breakfast buffet with Becky serving your every need. Poolside ( Get a Cabana!!!), Peggy is as friendly and hospitable along with Esdras. Top-Notch!! The housekeeping staff is incredible, with Nicole supervising. I HIGHLY recommend this property! We stayed the weekend and didn't want to go home! We WILL be back!
Unfortunately, I cannot "Thank" everyone, but whomever runs this hotel, hires the right people, trains them, and completely understands the meaning of a friendly, inviting atmosphere!
Every single staff member makes you feel welcome and asks, "is there anything else that I can do or help you with!" Simply put, Remarkable hospitality!

Room Tip: Stay here! You won't regret the selection! Get a cabana and a room overlooking the pool with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
I appreciate so much your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback means a lot to the staff when passed on to them. This goes withut saying for travelers who are coming to Galveston as well looking for a nice place to stay.

Thank you again,
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.9 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Property: Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5874
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing