We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel before a cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here for a royal Caribbean cruise out of Galveston. Rooms were great, shuttle to the ship was free, even had great nighttime entertainment in there lounge. Breakfast was good too. Good value convenient to shopping , beach, and restaurants. Across the street from the beach. Heated pool outdoors.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with a view of the Gulf of Mexico.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stewart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,784 - 1,790 of 2,436 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We are Houstonians with four very busy children & one grandchild ... It is not often that we get an actual vacation ... Most of our vacations include an activity with one of out children like basketball & cheer. We have been to Galveston for cheer competitions ... We have stayed at nearly every large hotel on the island; moody gardens, San Luis, the galvez, and many of the smaller budget hotels... We will be Hilton loyal guests for life after our last few visits. Close to things the kids love to do, amazing views of the ocean, heated pool every day of the year... Kids eat free breakfast buffet in the morning are just a few of the amenities that come with the stay... However, hands down the staff is AMAZING there have been very few turn overs in the past few years so we are greeted by familiar faces throughout the stay from valet, check in, maids, bar staff, maintenance, etc. Kelly in the hotel restaurant has been here for at least a year now, her service never ceases to amaze me... With a kids eat free buffet you can imagine how busy the breakfasts are in the morning but Kelly serves, waits, cleans tables, juggles tough orders & even tougher customers with a smile on her face & the master of a professional juggler... That in and of its self would be enough to impress me as someone who was in the service industry for two decades my expectations are higher than most and I am usually disappointed as good service is tough to come by these days ... Kelly however exceeded all of my expectations as she not only served with a smile she greeted me by name after a year AND she remembered my order to the "T" from a year ago! Hands down the not just the best hotel experience but the best restaurant experience we have had in many years... The Hilton is the equivalent of staying at a five star resort for reasonable hotel prices ... Great job Kelly & kudos to the rest of the staff!

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Stacey_rom1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

I appreciate so much your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback means a lot to the staff when passed on to them. This goes withut saying for travelers who are coming to Galveston as well looking for a nice place to stay.

Thank you again,
Mike Pistone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This property is part of a larger resort property and shares a service that allows you to leave your car there for free with free shuttle to the cruise terminal and back. The room was nice and clean. The property was well maintained. The pool area was inviting but in January of 2014, the weather wasn't cooperating. There is an IHOP, Landry's Seafood, and Rainforest Cafe within walking distance of the hotel. The property is as close to the gulf as you can get and I suspect that there are better times to visit the beach than when we were there.

SInce we were going on a cruise, we didn't have breakfast in the hotel but it looked good and was reasonably priced.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MUG318CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Awful Awful. We were promised an ocean view, got a parking lot view. Food was awful in the restaurant. Could not use the pool even though it was supposed to heated, it was freezing, could not use hot tub, full of kids drinking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Rooms are small, no frills, not what you expect from a Hilton line! If you are expecting a Hilton experience, don't stay here. If you just want a place to stay near beach, it will fit the bill. Full breakfast not included. Hotel is clean and staff is friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Michael the bus boy helped us change our tire and bring our luggage down. He was such a great help and the service he gave us will be the reason why you'll see my family again. Also the breakfast service was very good. I didn't like the pancakes and my waitress switched it out free of charge. Very sweet and thoughtful

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nowick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

I appreciate so much your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback means a lot to the staff when passed on to them. This goes withut saying for travelers who are coming to Galveston as well looking for a nice place to stay.

Thank you again,
Mike Pistone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had booked a room online a week and a half before our expected arrival. 2 days later, we noticed there was an advertised rate for the same room we booked for $50.00 less than the price we paid. Being Hilton Honors members, and loyal customers to the chain, we called to see if we would be able to switch our reservations. We were informed (by a very rude staff member!) that not only were we NOT able to do so, but that we would not be able to cancel our reservations and re-book, as the hotel was completely booked for our desired weekend. This struck us as odd once we arrived and noticed the parking lot was almost completely empty, and there were very few occupants present.

As for the hotel itself, this is not your typical Hilton hotel. Our bathroom had a rusted shower head, and almost every towel has atleast one stain on it from previous occupants. The furnishings were rather outdated, and the room itself overall, just seemed dirty. This hotel does not offer a complimentary breakfast, however, they do have a restaurant that will accommodate your early morning cravings, for a fee.

The "gulfview" offered is somewhat scewed. The balconies do not look directly onto the gulf in front of the hotel, instead, they are directed more towards the gulf that is down the strand (and towards another hotel!). Don't waste your money - if you are wanting an ocean view as soon as you walk in your room, try another hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the top floors, you'll have a better chance to see water as opposed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Old-World-Traveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Staff and I will review your comments and work to improve our operation. i appreciate your candid remarks and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spent two nights here before taking a cruise. The rooms were nice and easy to get to and from. The pool was heated and enjoyed by many. Nice area for cocktails and enjoyed the local entertainment. Landry'S Seafood was next door along with the Rainforest Cafe. Both places were great for dining. We were shuttled to the cruise terminal with no charge and everyone was very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValentineRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.9 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5874
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#11 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £79 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing