We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Gathering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Family Gathering”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My daughter, son in-law and I had a wonderful time staying at this Hilton. It was a very enjoyable relaxing stay. We were made so welcome and taken care of even for a 1 night stay. Thank you for taking care of us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank CindyAM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    577
    332
    187
    124
See reviews for
777
622
60
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scottsdale, az
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were sceduled on the Navigator of the Seas to depart sun. Mar. 23rd. As we all know, the oil spill happened on Saturday and we were in limbo as to our plans. Cari at the Front Desk as well as Kyle, the bartender, housekeeping, valet/bell staff were amazing in their quest to help us and
keep up with an extremely fluid situation. (no pun intended!) Royal Caribbean were texting us not to come to the ship, so we booked another night. They gave us a "Cruise Stress" rate of $99.00 for that night - this was a balcony room with ocean view! When we finally got the call at 8:45 p.m. to come to the ship, the valet and bell staff went overboard to get us on shuttles, taxis, etc. Some of them had been called back to work we were told and were still there until midnight. Wow, thanks so much to everyone! What great service!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clareeScottsdale_Az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

It has:
A beautiful, ocean view.
A helpful staff who seem to love their jobs.
Beds that are very comfortable and didn't make a lot of noise.

What it lacks:
No Breakfast!?!? Are you kidding me?
No Wifi.. This alone is a deal breaker. It's 2014 people. Even cheap motels offer Wifi!
No fridge in the room. We threw away tons of food because there was no way of keeping it.
No Microwave in the room. Even cheap Holiday Inns have a microwave.
TV channels were very limited and there was no way to turn on the TV without getting asked if you would like to rent porn. This is concerning when you travel with small children.
We stayed there a week and the pool was always full of kids. I realize there isn't much the hotel can do about this, but if you're hoping to enjoy the pool or hot tub, you might be disappointed. We were.

It was nice once, but we can get more hotel for less money.
For this price, the hotel should rate far better than "average."

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Romeo_Santana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The front desk staff (especially Susan) were amazing! After an oil spill caused our honeymoon (YES! HONEYMOON) cruise to cancel, our trip became a disaster. Attempting to recover our honeymoon, we called the Hilton in order to capitalize on our visit to Galveston. My wife spoke with Susan who was extremely friendly and helpful in starting our new vacation. When checking in, the front desk ladies (Tristin, Dee, Samantha, Kim) were also amazing. The pool staff were friendly and even the cleaning staff had smiling faces.

Prices are great! You get what you pay for. Do the $99 and under hotels and you will get lower service (unless getting drunk is your goal). Definitely recommend the Hilton when visiting Galveston.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jopa1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Nice hotel but slightly away from the historic downtown area.

Pluses of this hotel:
1. Great balconies with a chair and table
2. Large rooms and a fantastic water pressure in the bathroom (but see minus below)
3. Clean room and bathroom but you can noticeably see the carpet's wear and tear. Not so much to wanna make me check back out again
4. GREAT Staff! The following morning, I went down to have a coffee (free) in the lobby and read the paper. After that, i walked out and next door to have breakfast at IHOP. After my meal, I noticed my wallet was missing and couldn't pay my check (horrific and embarrassing). Did a quick mental retrace of my steps and knew I forgot it in the lobby couch. Rushed back (IHOP staff were sweet enough to believe my story and my promise I'd come back to pay up), as I walked through the main door, a reception beckoned me over and handed me my wallet - full enact! Now if that isn't honesty, I don't know what is! Thanks Hilton for that! You have a great team of staff
5. Bed is comfortable enough to make me sleep like a baby, with a bottle of water placed there (complimentary).

Minuses:
1. The bath tub drain couldn't keep up with the amazing water pressure. Within 2 minutes you'll end up with water (and soap suds) all around your feet and ankle which I hate and find unsanitary. They'll need to check on their drainage.
2. Housekeeping must really love their job and each other as at noon, I could hear them talk and gossip and laugh loud enough in the corridor - loud enough that I can easily hear their conversation while being inside my room with my door closed and TV on.

Would I stay there again? No. It is a great hotel to try and well-managed BUT it is kind of away from the historic downtown area which I value more but if you are there for the beach then this hotel is for you. And, in case you are wondering, yes I did go back to IHOP and paid my outstanding check after I got my wallet back :)

Room Tip: There is a 24 Kroger next door in case you arrive late and need something to eat or need groceries f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for one night before leaving from Galveston for a cruise. The hotel is right on Seawall Boulevard across from the ocean. Our room had a nice view of the ocean, a comfortable bed, and small deck. We enjoyed the outdoor pool that was heated to 80 degrees. Even though there were several families out, there was still plenty of room. The hot tub and sauna were nice too. I was impressed that the pool area was open until midnight, but we never heard sounds from us that disturbed us. I would recommend this hotel for cruisers because parking for the week and a shuttle is included in the night's stay. It is within walking distance of the Rainforest Cafe and is a nice, family oriented place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank iheartgoingplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I have been meeting my high school girlfriend here every spring break for the past 3-4 years; we bring our kids and catch up, and is always big fun. This year, the staff just seemed especially friendly and joyful. We were right by the housekeeping station on the 2nd floor, and it seemed someone was always passing by with a huge friendly smile. It made a fun stay even better, just wanted to say thanks!

Room Tip: We had the room on the second floor right over the hot tub-- the PERFECT place to stay on the balcon...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dukeofllano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.9 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Property: Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5874
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing