We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Hilton Galveston Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our recent stay at the Hilton Galveston resort was a bit of a disappointment. While the location was great (right across the street from the water), the cleanliness of the hotel was not up to Hilton standards. The bedroom was clean enough, but the bathroom had hairs on the floor and fixtures not cleaned/dusted. Hotel corridors had stained, unvacuumed rugs & food trays left out for 1-1/2 days. Vending machines & laundry rooms were out of order. Extra blankets were wrinkled and smelly. I would not return to this particular hotel; it wasn't worth what I paid.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank 931mariep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Staff and I will review your comments and work to improve our operation. i appreciate your candid remarks and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,670 - 1,676 of 2,379 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We didn't want to leave ! Decided on a short stay for our honeymoon & after a crazy busy wedding weekend - couldn't have picked a better place. Front Desk Cari & Bellman Chris were amazing - under promised & over delivered ! Great location with a Kroger, CVS, restaurants, Ben&Jerry's, etc all within walking distance. Gulf front view was great to wake up to every morning along with EVERY staffer greeting you as you passed them in the lobby. Husband is a gym rat and the small work out room fit his needs on the 2 days it rained... We didn't care about the wifi because we were there to unplug and be outside as much as possible ! Front desk apologized for the construction, but we didn't notice. We did book with a little note stating it was our honeymoon & walked into our room to little bottles of champagne & chocolate strawberries - we immediately called Cari & thanked her and the Hilton crew - they don't have to go out of their way with special touches, but they do.

Room Tip: a bit more expensive - but book gulf front room in the tower - higher floors are very quiet & gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Came down to this or the Hilton. Normally I prefer Hilton and higher "quality" but with the Hilton being a little more expensive while basicall having a similar location...it was the "additional charge for internet" that made the Holiday Inn the winner. This is our second day here and we are happy! Very nice pool and right across the street from the beach. Our room, and I believe all the rooms, have gulf front plus a nice small balcony! Great location. Nice rooms with clean queen beds (full at Hilton) flat screen tv, and a refrigerator for our snacks and beverages! It has been quiet also and the a/c works great and isn't noisy. Might get more crowded here tonight but I always bring ear-plugs no matter which hotel I stay in! I recommend this hotel...called for a reservation and got a better price than the internet price.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor and higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank av8nautiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Staff and I will review your comments and work to improve our operation. i appreciate your candid remarks and have a wonderful day.
Mike Pistone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife, kids, and I have been coming to this hotel/resort 4 or 5 times a year for 6 years. We love it, however about 2 years ago the staff became so unwelcoming and rude that we began to slow down our visits and planned to stop coming.

We gave it another try this year and it is much improved. It is still the hotel/resort we love but now the staff is much more welcoming, and courteous. Laura in reservations, Carrie at the front desk, and Barry at the bar were all top notch in their customer service.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a nice, quiet getaway with the kids.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tylerjdeboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is the worst Hilton we have ever visited. We booked two nights and left after the first night.
The hotel is worn down, not clean and the personnel does not give you the idea you're very welcome. The paint in our bath tub was peeling off and there were all kinds of hairs in our bathroom (not ours). Cleaning staff you meet in the hallways doesn't greet you or even look you in the eyes.

And then there is the internet issue that has already been mentioned in previous reviews. Of course it's silly to pay 10 USD per day for internet access these days, but it gets even worse. You have to pay 10 USD per device! In our case it meant that we would have to pay 50 USD per day. That is a bloody shame. After complaining to the manager he offered 2 devices for 1. Yey. Oh and the excuse the manager had for the internet fees: "Otherwise we have 4 people in a room downloading movies". Yes he is right. People should not be using the internet in a hotel just for fun. Shame on these hotel guests. Shame.

On a positive note. The beds are good. Rooms are big. Parking is free and the doormen are friendly. But all in all, this is a place were they have forgotten they are in the hospitality business. Not worthy to be a Hilton.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmer&Lizette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Staff and I will review your comments and work to improve our operation. i appreciate your candid remarks and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

What a wonderful experience our family and friends had this weekend staying in multiple rooms for a wedding celebration. The hospitality of the staff was excellent, and we enjoyed every moment of our time there. Location on the beach was super. There is a huge pool with hot tub and swim-up bar, and even had live music. Food was presented beautifully. We had a suite which provided great opportunities for friends to gather, and I would certainly suggest that for others planning a gathering. Our greatest compliments to the staff for friendliness and care. Thank you for operating an awesome resort, and we'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the poolside for a gorgeous view of the pool and the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed gee for one night before a cruise and were happy with the accommodations. Check in was easy and the staff was very happy and helpful. The room itself was nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. Noise was never an issue. The pool area is also very nice but stayed crowded. The valet service is a nice convenience and the valet guys were super helpful. They even gave us a coupon for a free appetizer at either Bubba Gumps or Fish Tales down near the pier. There is a Krogers grocery store next door, a Ben and Jerry's ice cream just down the street and plenty of restaurants nearby. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your candid review. Your comments are appreciated. Please come back and see us soon. Have a great day.
Mike Pistone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.9 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#3 of 51 in Galveston
812 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5874
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £69 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing