We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They thought of everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Galvestonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Galvestonian
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“They thought of everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Beautiful, well-maintained property. Excellent pool and really nice people. Staff was excellent - they were there when you needed them and unobtrusive when you didn't, even coming from behind the counter to help with the door when hands were full. The grounds were immaculate. We had a maintenance issue while we were there (faucet leaking under the sink) and they responded within 5 minutes and fixed the problem. Fully stocked kitchen with everything we possibly needed. There were even swim diapers for our little one at the front desk. They take good care of this property and it shows. The location is excellent, with quick access to The Strand and seawall businesses. It's nice to be on the beach instead of behind a road. Can't say enough good things about this place. The price is very competitive for Galveston. The only dings I give this place are due to the worn-out, bumpy sleeper sofa in our unit. Thanks to the Galvestonian for a great weekend!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank taylorich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    66
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
186
93
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Condo #1200 lovely three bedroom penthouse level condo on the east end of the building with the greatest views. Three couples spent New Years at this condo and had more fun than we could have imagined. This place has great beds, roomy den area and well equipped kitchen. The views from the numerous balconies cover both the beach and Galveston Bay. We will definitely return!!

Room Tip: Southeast corner condo on penthouse level, cannot beat the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We travel to Galveston for weekend get away's often and have stayed multiple places. Recently, we stayed at the Galvestonian. It has been close to 7 years since our previous visit to this condominium. What a pleasant surprise to see all the improvements and updating that has been done! Absolutely loved the towels provided for the beach/pool! We will definitely come back - another bright spot is the friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

What a great time we had. The weather knew we were coming. We had our grandson with us. We wanted to ride the Duck Boat, train and go see the ship, but we couldn't get him (6 yrs old) to leave the Condo.

We stayed in a 2 BR 2 Ba that had been updated. It was really really nice. Kitchen was fully furnished so we cooked there also. The beds were comfortable, sleeping was great. It's not far from downtown and places to eat. The beach was clean, we also flew kites. The staff was so considerate and nice. Can't wait to go back

th

Room Tip: Stay on higher floors , all rooms face ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KRR4950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We highly recommend The Galvestonian! We have been staying there for our family vacation every year since our kids were small. We've looked at other places and always come back to the Galvestonian because it is like a second home to us. We feel safe, secure, and love being away from the crowds on the seawall. The staff is always helpful and accommodating. Roz was very helpful before and during our last trip, and I loved the very informative email with links to various places. The condos are beautiful, comfy, clean, and roomy. We love the full sized kitchen, the new appliances, the king size bed, the mirrored walls, large closets, and the balconies with an amazing view. We can see the pool and the beach from the balconies, and taking pictures of the morning sunrise over the gulf is my a must for me. Our kids love their room with their own bathroom. The heated pool and Jacuzzi are a must for every day and night. There are always plenty of chairs and tables at the pool. We also love the exercise room that have TVs too. We love the private beach and the walkway to it. The beach is a great place to walk for hours in either direction and soothe your mind. People are friendly and everyone feels safe. The landscape and flowers are beautiful all around the building, pool, deck, and picnic grounds. It is like our private tropical island and a little piece of paradise for us. It feels awesome to get away from the big city life and relax at The Galvestonian. We love The Galvestonian!

Room Tip: You can see pictures of various rooms on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We've stayed at the Galvestonian three years in a row. It is a wonderful resort. From the moment you walk in you, you are sincerely welcomed and told about the area, not just the resort.
Every morning you can grab a cup of coffee in the lobby and head straight to the beach, which is a stones throw away. You don't have to cross a street to get to the beach here!
The pool is wonderful and when you get tired of it, you can crawl into the connecting hot tub.
The staff goes above and beyond to make everything great while you are visiting.
We highly recommend this resort for your next family vacation.
Can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Talk to the staff to get the best choices available. They can send you pictures to help you choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Other than our home town of Austin, Galveston is our favorite city in Texas, and the Galvestonian is now like home away from home. We've been guests at Thanksgiving every year for at least the last 16-17 years. We measure the time by our youngest son, who was 2 when we descended upon the Galvestonian with three generations at Thanksgiving. He's now 18 and a freshman at the University of Southern California.

Room Tip: Stay as high as you can for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galvestonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galvestonian

Property: The Galvestonian
Address: 1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-3323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#1 Family Hotel in Galveston
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galvestonian 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galvestonian is designed for pleasure and relaxation. For outdoor fun, the large heated swimming pool, which features a hot-tub Jacuzzi, is elevated on a deck which runs almost the entire length of the building. This affords the privacy you deserve, plus a spectacular view of the Gulf of Mexico. The spacious poolside cabana is quiet, shaded area for enjoying pool side refreshments. For tennis buffs, there are two lighted courts. And, of course, there are miles of beach a few steps down from the pool deck. You can stroll along the water's edge, build sand castles or simply relax on the sand and let the sun's golden rays warm your body.East Beach is the most exclusive beach in Texas. Only 50 minutes from Hobby Airport and only three minutes from downtown Galveston. East Beach is a hideaway which will allow you to escape life's pressures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Galvestonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Resort Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing