We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun”
Review of The Galvestonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Galvestonian
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Mid-Cities
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We loved staying here a couple of weeks ago, everyone is friendly and the grounds and condos are beautiful! It's a great family place,
It is in a nice location and you are right on the beach, we stayed on the 2nd floor and the view was awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    70
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
199
98
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atascocita, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We loved staying on the East end of the island. Close to everything and still a peaceful and relaxing exerience. The Galvestonian had all the amenities of a home with the luxury of daily maid service. Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We spent a great 10 days at The Galvestonian. Three generations shared fun times on the Island and The Galvestonian was a great place to hang out. Its ON the beach, not across Seawall Blvd. like most hotels. We were able to hang out by the pool, play at the beach, watch the sunrise, enjoy the views all without the worry of cars. The staff was friendly and helpful and we hope to make this an annual event. We had a great kitchen with all the things necessary to fix large meals for the whole family. Great experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My family of 4 have visited Galveston the past 13 years. This is the first time to stay in the Galvestonian and we liked it so much that we plan to return there on our future trips. We stayed in #107 and it was wonderful! The owner was so easy to work with and had everything you could imagine in the unit. It has a full kitchen, the view off of the two balconies was beautiful, overlooking both the pool, as well as the very well kept grounds with plants, flowers, tables, ect., not to mention a nice view of the ocean as well. The beach was cleaned each morning and free of seaweed and the staff were very kind and polite as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delisa_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston,Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Wonderful accidental find. Went on a whim to Galveston. All usual places booked. I should have known that on a Summer weekend. Drove down Seawall to get away from craziness. Happened upon the Galvestonian Condos. What a nice place. Great views, wonderfully updated and appointed Condo. Nice view,well maintained grounds. Can't wait to plan my next trip.

Room Tip: Room 1003 was awesome. Very comfortable and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Whenever my family visits Galveston, we always stay at the Galvestonian. The hotel is right on the beach and well-priced. The rooms are large, with a full kitchenette, living room and bedroom(s). The rooms are a little out-dated but very clean nonetheless. The views of the beach are spectacular, especially during the sunset. The beach itself is kept up well and I rarely see a piece of trash. They have outside showers as well so that you can clean the sand off you before walking back in to the hotel. The pool is lacking but who goes to the beach for the pool? The staff are always welcoming and able to cater to your needs. I recommend staying here, especially if you have kids.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texas2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The Galvestonian is a nice property located in a non-congested part of the island.
The property is beach front...no walking across busy traffic to get to the beach.

We have stayed here 4 times, each time in a different unit. All units are individually owned therefore, decorations vary. We have been very happy every time!

These are condos with fully equipped kitchens, no restaurant onsite.
Sounds like a perfect family property...it would be, but we went without kids each time and were very pleased that there weren't many kiddos on the premises.

Room Tip: There are pictures of the individual units on The Galvestonian website. I'd recommend looking at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4pamalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your very kind comments and we appreciate your business. If I can be of service you can contact me directly at gclark@galvestonian.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
727 reviews
5.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galvestonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galvestonian

Property: The Galvestonian
Address: 1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-3323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#1 Family Hotel in Galveston
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galvestonian 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galvestonian is designed for pleasure and relaxation. For outdoor fun, the large heated swimming pool, which features a hot-tub Jacuzzi, is elevated on a deck which runs almost the entire length of the building. This affords the privacy you deserve, plus a spectacular view of the Gulf of Mexico. The spacious poolside cabana is quiet, shaded area for enjoying pool side refreshments. For tennis buffs, there are two lighted courts. And, of course, there are miles of beach a few steps down from the pool deck. You can stroll along the water's edge, build sand castles or simply relax on the sand and let the sun's golden rays warm your body.East Beach is the most exclusive beach in Texas. Only 50 minutes from Hobby Airport and only three minutes from downtown Galveston. East Beach is a hideaway which will allow you to escape life's pressures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Galvestonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Resort Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing