We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
332
73
9
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
332
73
9
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beacheast beachhot tubbath condothree bedroombeach towelsfull kitchenpicnic tablesthought of everythingpool decknice condoboogie boardsdirect beach accessgreat pool areafire pitbit datedlong weekend
Filter
Updating list...
305 - 310 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our family (3 kids, 2 adults) choose Galvestonia for a 4 night/5 day vacation. It was nice and relaxing. Perfect quite area with beach and pool. We had the best time just going back and forth, with naps and grilling in between. One day we went into town and took a dolphin tour and had lunch off the Strand. But most of our time was at the condo, loving the amenities, clean, beautiful views, waling the beach a night and found sand crabs, hermit crabs and sea shells. We will be coming back again and again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 411. 2 bedroom / 2 bath with free wifi. Condo newly remodeled with tile throughout, granite counter tops, new bedding and updated furniture. Kitchen was stocked with what we needed including dish soap and BBQ starter fluid. Loved it!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N0rthTexasGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Hi NOrthTexasGirl,

Sounds like your family had a very relaxed time staying here with us. The Dolphin tour certainly is a pleasant trip. We are glad you had fun on the beach with the sand crabs and all. We have flash lights and lanterns that our guest can use if they want to explore the beach at night. That's when it's best to see the sand crabs running around. Last week we had some seaweed come in. One our guest found a seahorse in it. We look forward to seeing your family back for some relaxing Galvestonian fun.

Thank you,
Greg Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We have been staying here for years. The location is perfect, the property impeccably maintained and the staff is extraordinary. They are like having a personal concierge. Roz always goes the extra mile to please and handle anything and everything! We take our family(grown children and grandchildren) every summer. The two of us go several times a year for R&R. The property has rules and regulations that insure the high standards are maintained. I was a travel consultant for 20 years and have stayed & booked many hotels. This is the "PEARL" of Galveston Island. They continuously improve the property, amenities and beach. This is one of the only properties on the beach and provides privacy from the crowds, yet close to great eateries, shopping and entertainment. As you can tell, this has been a favorite for many years.
Larry and Carolyn

Room Tip: Let Roz direct you to fill your needs.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cabb1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Hi Larry and Carolyn,

Thank you for the outstanding review. This really means a lot to our management team and to our staff who work so hard to create lasting memories for our guest. You are correct about Roz! She is absolutely wonderful. Roz works four days a week. She mentioned to me once that she wanted to work Thursday thru Sunday. When I asked her why, she said that's our busiest time and that's when I want to work. So she has Monday thru Wednesday off to recover. I thought that was really neat. We also appreciate that you recognize that we are continually improving our amenities and working on the beach to keep it clean. Being right on the beach and close to Galveston's local attractions is in itself a jewel as you have said. We look forward to seeing your family back here again at the Galvestonian "Your Home away from Home".

Thank you,
Greg Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Our stay was short but great.. The staff was great, the condo was very nice, clean, and spacious. The pool area was very nice, and the beach well for Galveston was nice.The shore was well kept by the condo. We will definitely recommend to everyone we know, and we will go back if ever in Galveston again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacy Lewis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Hi Stacy Lewis R,

We are glad your stay was great. Maybe next time you can stay longer. We appreciate you recommending the Galvestonian to your friends and family.

Thank you,
Greg Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a terrific stay at the Galvestonian. The staff was amazing from the start. I wanted to bring my mother who is in a wheel chair to a hotel/condo where she could sit on the balcony and watch her grandchildren fly kites and play in the ocean. I called reservations and the person with whom I spoke was helpful from the start regarding what floor I should target (we ended on the 5th floor) and even what unit would best suit her needs. At check-in, the front desk immediately showed me the wheelchair she could use for the duration. They were helpful regarding restaurants and shopping. The pool was immaculate- plenty of towels and plenty of chairs. The condo itself was very comfortable. Well stocked, including beach umbrellas and chairs (although you can also rent a nicer set-up for $30). The on site activity manager stopped by a couple of times to make sure we had everything we needed. He showed much kindness toward my mother and even stated that he was considering investing in a beach wheelchair for guest use. I will not consider staying any where else during future trips. Truely an outstanding stay for us and one that will be a highlight in our memory books. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: No restaurant so no room service- everything else - outstanding. If you want to be able to see people on the beach (ie family members), I recommend mid level such as 5th- 8th floor.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Delaware012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Hi Delaware012,

I remember your family. Your mom was super nice. I believe your family stayed in condo 503. Some of the condo owners leave extra stuff in their condos for the guest to use such as the umbrella and chairs. Not only are we looking into the beach access chair but now we are thinking about getting a large Galvestonian kite. I am glad you thought our staff was amazing. They really do work hard. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Thank you,
Greg Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

our family of 5 stayed for 3 nights July 2013 and everyone thought the Galvestonion was the best beach vacation experience we ever had. Staff was friendly and competitent. Everything working, very very clean, well-kept, secure, and classy. The pool was always in perfect order; the beach was kept much cleaner of sea weed than most Galveston beaches, and the condo was fantastic--good beds, good decor, kitchen appliances, AC working well, plenty of elevators running, and everything really clean and manicured. Kids 10, 11, and 12 and wife all enjoyed. It is an up-scale, classy place but friendly. I was a hero for finding this place. Pricier than many places, but you get what you pay for in this case!.

I was worried it was a long walk to the beach, but it is really close with boardwalk across dunes. And shower before you enter pool area to wash off sand. This is best pool I've ever been in. Plenty of close resturants near the galvestonion on north end of island easy to get to. Recommend Russo's New York Pizza close by and ArlansMarket(grocery store) both only about 3-4 miles away with easy parking.

Room Tip: browse the rooms to find one that is best--these are condos and not all identical in furnighing, but from talking to other guests, they are all well kept and nice.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheEngineer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Hi TheEngineer 54,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your accommodations in the condo your family stayed in. You are correct about our condos not being identical. Each one of our condos are individually owned and uniquely decorated. We look forward to seeing your family back here with us in the near future.

Thank you,
Greg Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews