We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
334
73
9
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
334
73
9
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach east beach hot tub bath condo three bedroom beach towels full kitchen picnic tables thought of everything pool deck nice condo boogie boards direct beach access great pool area fire pit bit dated long weekend
Filter
Updating list...
305 - 310 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We arrived to great service at the desk and a quiet private beach with umbrellas. We enjoyed the friendly staff, with daily housekeeping. We brought three of our children along, who commented on the condo, pool, and beach access. We drove through the Seawall area on our way to the Galvestonian. My children ages 11, 16, and 18 thanked me for choosing this hotel. They did not want to be near the crowded seawall. We also had great internet service which was a huge plus. The staff provided us with flashlights to hunt for crabs on the beach at night. We h ad a wonderful time. The only thing that could have improved our stay was cleaning the seaweed off of the beach. It was not a big deal, but it would have made the beach a little nicer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lamp891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Hi Lamp891,

Thank you for the great review. Sounds like your family had a great get away here at the Galvestonian. We appreciate you sharing your experience with our staff. I will make sure to pass your comments on to them. It really is nice being away from the hustle and bustle of the seawall yet close to all of the attractions. I love the fact you guys took advantage of hitting the beach at night to run after the sand crabs. That is great fun for the kids! We hope to see you back soon!

Thank you,
Greg Clark

Ps. We are still fighting the seaweed! The common area staff is working as hard as they can to keep it off the beach. Thankfully, the seaweed season is starting to wind down!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We spent 5 days in Galvestonian and loved it. Our condo was nice, with updated amenities; daily housekeeping was good, beach access was convenient. Having full kitchen was nice, but my husband loved their free BBQ grill - perfect for 4th of July celebration!!! My kids loved pool and hot tub after the day at the beach. Staff was helpful, especially general manager and evening staff - always ready to help. The place is not far from attractions such as Moody Gardens, Schlitterbahn or Strand, about 10-15 min drive, nice if kids are tired of the beach and want to have some fun. Overall, very nice, friendly, relaxing place for family vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UsaMr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Hi UsaMr11,

First, I love your Trip Advisor handle. Still trying to figure it out! We really appreciate your kind comments about our resort here on the beach in Galveston. This July 4th was definitely one to remember here at the Galvestonian. The 2 acres of picnic area we have with 9 grilling stations were so popular we had to add a few more grill stations for the 4th. It's interesting to watch the pool / beach choices. It seems that most of our guest like to go to the beach first and then come back to enjoy our pool and spa. We are very happy you and your family enjoyed a relaxing vacation here with us. We hope to see you back in the near future.

Thank you,
Greg Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our family (3 kids, 2 adults) choose Galvestonia for a 4 night/5 day vacation. It was nice and relaxing. Perfect quite area with beach and pool. We had the best time just going back and forth, with naps and grilling in between. One day we went into town and took a dolphin tour and had lunch off the Strand. But most of our time was at the condo, loving the amenities, clean, beautiful views, waling the beach a night and found sand crabs, hermit crabs and sea shells. We will be coming back again and again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 411. 2 bedroom / 2 bath with free wifi. Condo newly remodeled with tile throughout, granite counter tops, new bedding and updated furniture. Kitchen was stocked with what we needed including dish soap and BBQ starter fluid. Loved it!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N0rthTexasGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Hi NOrthTexasGirl,

Sounds like your family had a very relaxed time staying here with us. The Dolphin tour certainly is a pleasant trip. We are glad you had fun on the beach with the sand crabs and all. We have flash lights and lanterns that our guest can use if they want to explore the beach at night. That's when it's best to see the sand crabs running around. Last week we had some seaweed come in. One our guest found a seahorse in it. We look forward to seeing your family back for some relaxing Galvestonian fun.

Thank you,
Greg Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We have been staying here for years. The location is perfect, the property impeccably maintained and the staff is extraordinary. They are like having a personal concierge. Roz always goes the extra mile to please and handle anything and everything! We take our family(grown children and grandchildren) every summer. The two of us go several times a year for R&R. The property has rules and regulations that insure the high standards are maintained. I was a travel consultant for 20 years and have stayed & booked many hotels. This is the "PEARL" of Galveston Island. They continuously improve the property, amenities and beach. This is one of the only properties on the beach and provides privacy from the crowds, yet close to great eateries, shopping and entertainment. As you can tell, this has been a favorite for many years.
Larry and Carolyn

Room Tip: Let Roz direct you to fill your needs.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cabb1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Hi Larry and Carolyn,

Thank you for the outstanding review. This really means a lot to our management team and to our staff who work so hard to create lasting memories for our guest. You are correct about Roz! She is absolutely wonderful. Roz works four days a week. She mentioned to me once that she wanted to work Thursday thru Sunday. When I asked her why, she said that's our busiest time and that's when I want to work. So she has Monday thru Wednesday off to recover. I thought that was really neat. We also appreciate that you recognize that we are continually improving our amenities and working on the beach to keep it clean. Being right on the beach and close to Galveston's local attractions is in itself a jewel as you have said. We look forward to seeing your family back here again at the Galvestonian "Your Home away from Home".

Thank you,
Greg Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Our stay was short but great.. The staff was great, the condo was very nice, clean, and spacious. The pool area was very nice, and the beach well for Galveston was nice.The shore was well kept by the condo. We will definitely recommend to everyone we know, and we will go back if ever in Galveston again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacy Lewis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Hi Stacy Lewis R,

We are glad your stay was great. Maybe next time you can stay longer. We appreciate you recommending the Galvestonian to your friends and family.

Thank you,
Greg Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews