We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like the reviews----awesome!”
Review of The Galvestonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Galvestonian
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Having never been to Galveston before, we decided to take trip advisors advice and stay here. Soooo glad we did. The place is awesome. Best beach (really the only decent beach( around. You can rent umbrellas and chairs out on the beach... Short drive to everything but away from all the hustle and traffic. Will do again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Xmikex98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

It was so nice of you to write a review on Trip Advisor. More and more people are going to Trip Advisor before booking their beach get away. I am glad that other people’s reviews were help to you and I know that your review will be helpful to others. The fall is a great time to visit Galveston. The summer crowds are gone, the weather is great and there are many interesting things to do. Visit our website for great fall rates and packages. Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

My friends and I chose the Galvestonian for a girls weekend. We had a great time!

The private beach was cleaned every morning-no seaweed! We went down around lunch time and we were able to find a spot with ease. You had a choice of renting beach chairs and an umbrella ($30/day) or bringing your own. After we checked out, we spent the day at the beach and the staff was very accommodating by allowing us to do so.

The rooms were great, but the bathrooms were small and a little outdated. That is the only negative comment I have.

The staff told me they are doing a deal after Labor Day, buy 2 nights get one free. I will definitely come back to take advantage of this deal! For the price, the place far exceeds expectations.

Room Tip: We were assigned to the 12th floor. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smellyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments and constructive feedback about our condo resort property. We do lower our rate after Labor Day and are offering a third night free in the fall and winter. The fall is a great time to visit Galveston. The summer crowds are gone, the weather is great and there are many interesting things to do. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed our seaweed free beach. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a very nice condo building on the east-end beach. Our room was a bit small and dated given the price but we did not spend much time there anyway so that did not make too much difference to us. We give this place big bonus points for the very friendly, helpful staff and the groomed, private beach with classic chairs and umbrellas that can be rented for a very reasonable fee along with the free Wi-Fi in the room. Unfortunately, there is no restaurant on site, so be prepared to bring groceries with you or to drive a few miles for each meal. The island is pretty small and we drove our own vehicle to get there so this was not a problem for us - just something to be prepare for if you arriving late your first night or if you do not have your own transportation. The pool is very nice and quiet and even though it is family-friendly there were not a bunch of brats running around screaming or jumping in the pool while we were there. There is a very short walk from the building to the private beach with beautiful picnic areas in between for grilling out. Also, there is a new development nearby with a nice restaurant and some shops.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbnd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Hi jbnd007,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. The umbrella and chair rental has gone very well for us this year. The guest love the larger umbrella and the classic chairs. Arlens market is the closet place to get some groceries. There just under two miles away. I would be more than happy to have someone pick up some grocery items for you next time prior to your arrival. Just let us know! The staff will appreciate your comments on their service and hard work. The new Beach Town development just a block away now has the Porch Cafe and a little Creamery. Their food is really good! We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Thank you,
Greg Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The staff at the Galvestonian is extremely pleasant and eager to please. They smile, speak and help you with your needs. Couldn't ask for more. For a reasonable extra fee, you can have an umbrella and 2 chairs set up on the beach and reserved for you from 9 AM until 7 PM. The pool and picnic area are lovely with comfortable furniture. Landscaping is awesome.

As well, the location is great. It is directly on the beach and all condos seem to have a good view. Very convenient to the historical area, it is quick to get to restaurants and historical sites.

I do think the interior of the condo was smaller than I expected. In the 1 bedroom we rented the furniture was a bit dated looking like a 70's version of beach living. However, it was clean and adequate for my adult daughter and I. BUT, it seriously lacked in amenities provided by the owners. The resort does not allow any glass containers outside the room, but the only plastic glasses were 4 giant tea glasses. It would have been exceeding nice to have had a plastic carafe and wine glasses to enjoy wine in the pool area or insulated glasses for beer on the beach. Luckily, the excellent staff was able to loan us a couple of acrylic wine glasses. Neither was there any thought, or expense, put into the balcony furniture. The railing and protected spindles blocked ocean views when seated in the 2 lawn chairs on the balcony. Raised chairs would have been soooo much nicer. I own a vacation rental and try to continuously think of the little things I can provide for my guests enjoyment. These owners did not do that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaejae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Hi jaejae,

We are disappointed that the Condo did not meet your satisfaction. I can certainly understand the amenities you pointed out and how they would have made your visit much nicer. If you would please email the address that I provide so that I may look into what condo you stayed in and call the owner to provide some of these amenities. On the other hand we are glad you enjoyed the property, staff, and the beach access. I look forward to hearing from you and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Greg Clark

gclark@galvestonian.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

I love the Galvestonian! The views are just amazing (best from the the 12th floor) and everything you could possibly need is in close proximity. There's a Walgreens, an Arlan's grocery store and Vietnamese, Italian and Mexican food nearby.

My favorite place is the pool deck area which has numerous umbrellas, chairs and tables and the pool itself is lovely. They also have a kitchen area that guests can sign up to use and a terrific walkover right to the beachfront. It's just fantastic.

The rooms are also really nice and there's one in every size for every budget. They've recently redone all of the rental units with upgrades including new countertops and pillow top beds. They are immaculately kept and if you report problems to the front desk they will immediately address them.

The front desk staff is fantastic and there are seasoned veterans there. They are the best source of information about Galveston and are very professional AND friendly which is hard combination to come by in Galveston. Trust me.

Overall, you will not find a better deal in town. That's why they're sold out nearly all summer every summer!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mimora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Hi Mimora,

We are very happy your stay went well. It's been a busy summer with a few more weeks to go before the kids head back to school. We really have had a great time taking care of our guest this summer. Thank you for recognizing housekeeping and the upgrades to the condos. This last fall through spring all of the owners who are in the rental pool had to bring their units up to a certain standard in order to stay in the rental pool. The owners did some amazing work to their condos. Also, the front desk staff will certainly appreciate your comments as they work as hard as they can while we are very busy. We look forward to seeing you back soon here at the Galvestonian.

Thank you,
Greg Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We rented a 3 bedroom condo for our family while not cheap was very reasonable. The front desk staff were wonderful, very friendly, and helped with anything we needed. We had a great view of the ocean and a nice balcony. The condo was very nice with a large kitchen and large, well appointed bedrooms. The pool and hot tub were great and the hotel has a great beach. It sits just outside of the town so you will need a car or take taxi. Overall it was very relaxing here and we wish we could have stayed longer. Will stay here again if ever in Galveston again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mitmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Hi Mitmel,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Our staff really appreciates it when our guest take the time to acknowledge their efforts to ensure your stay goes well. Maybe next time you can stay a bit longer. We are getting ready to run our fall specials. Our pool stays heated at 86 degrees year round. So anytime is a good time to come and visit the Galvestonian. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,
Greg Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We needed a weekend getaway from Dallas and The Galvestonian provided a superb place for my family and I to stay. The beach here is as nice or nicer than any other beach area I've seen in Galveston, and I've seen them all. Being away from the crowded seawall area & Stewart Beach was awesome. The staff at The Galvestonian was clearing away seaweed both mornings we were there which made the beach feel nicer throughout the day. It almost felt like a private beach with the free beach towels, chairs & umbrella that are available ($30), and the small number of people on the beach. The pool area was very nice too with chairs straightened regularly and towels available for guest use. Every member of the staff we encountered was friendly and helpful, but Roz is clearly the rock star among them! She made some great suggestions for places to eat & her smile is infectious!
I would have given the Galvestonian 5 stars had it not been for the few minor maintenance issues with our 2 bedroom rental (slow toilet, inoperative ceiling fan in the master, broken patio door latch), but these were minor and we let the staff know about them on our way out. The air conditioning worked great, and our room was always a comfortable temperature. It was also nicely furnished and very clean on arrival.
As a native Texan and a frequent Galveston visitor, I'm not sure why I've never heard of this great place before! You should stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Hi David J,

Thank you for the great review. First, I want to let you know that we have corrected the maintenance issues that you pointed out. We really appreciate your comments about the beach and the staff who help maintain the beach and the pool. Tommy and Arnaldo have worked very hard this summer to enhance our guest beach experience. As for Roz, she does rock! She is clearly one of our best staff members and loves creating memories for our guest who visit the Galvestonian. We are glad you enjoyed the condo and we look forward to seeing you back at the Galvestonian once again.

Thank you,
Greg Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#3 of 51 in Galveston
814 reviews
6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
5.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galvestonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galvestonian

Address: 1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-3323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#1 Family Hotel in Galveston
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £168 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galvestonian 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galvestonian is designed for pleasure and relaxation. For outdoor fun, the large heated swimming pool, which features a hot-tub Jacuzzi, is elevated on a deck which runs almost the entire length of the building. This affords the privacy you deserve, plus a spectacular view of the Gulf of Mexico. The spacious poolside cabana is quiet, shaded area for enjoying pool side refreshments. For tennis buffs, there are two lighted courts. And, of course, there are miles of beach a few steps down from the pool deck. You can stroll along the water's edge, build sand castles or simply relax on the sand and let the sun's golden rays warm your body.East Beach is the most exclusive beach in Texas. Only 50 minutes from Hobby Airport and only three minutes from downtown Galveston. East Beach is a hideaway which will allow you to escape life's pressures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Galvestonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Resort Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing