We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
334
74
9
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
334
74
9
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach east beach hot tub bath condo beach towels full kitchen pool deck picnic tables thought of everything place to stay boogie boards fire pit bit dated easy access to the beach long weekend front desk staff family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My friends and I chose the Galvestonian for a girls weekend. We had a great time!

The private beach was cleaned every morning-no seaweed! We went down around lunch time and we were able to find a spot with ease. You had a choice of renting beach chairs and an umbrella ($30/day) or bringing your own. After we checked out, we spent the day at the beach and the staff was very accommodating by allowing us to do so.

The rooms were great, but the bathrooms were small and a little outdated. That is the only negative comment I have.

The staff told me they are doing a deal after Labor Day, buy 2 nights get one free. I will definitely come back to take advantage of this deal! For the price, the place far exceeds expectations.

Room tip: We were assigned to the 12th floor. Great view!
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smellyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments and constructive feedback about our condo resort property. We do lower our rate after Labor Day and are offering a third night free in the fall and winter. The fall is a great time to visit Galveston. The summer crowds are gone, the weather is great and there are many interesting things to do. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed our seaweed free beach. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a very nice condo building on the east-end beach. Our room was a bit small and dated given the price but we did not spend much time there anyway so that did not make too much difference to us. We give this place big bonus points for the very friendly, helpful staff and the groomed, private beach with classic chairs and umbrellas that can be rented for a very reasonable fee along with the free Wi-Fi in the room. Unfortunately, there is no restaurant on site, so be prepared to bring groceries with you or to drive a few miles for each meal. The island is pretty small and we drove our own vehicle to get there so this was not a problem for us - just something to be prepare for if you arriving late your first night or if you do not have your own transportation. The pool is very nice and quiet and even though it is family-friendly there were not a bunch of brats running around screaming or jumping in the pool while we were there. There is a very short walk from the building to the private beach with beautiful picnic areas in between for grilling out. Also, there is a new development nearby with a nice restaurant and some shops.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbnd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Hi jbnd007,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. The umbrella and chair rental has gone very well for us this year. The guest love the larger umbrella and the classic chairs. Arlens market is the closet place to get some groceries. There just under two miles away. I would be more than happy to have someone pick up some grocery items for you next time prior to your arrival. Just let us know! The staff will appreciate your comments on their service and hard work. The new Beach Town development just a block away now has the Porch Cafe and a little Creamery. Their food is really good! We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Thank you,
Greg Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The staff at the Galvestonian is extremely pleasant and eager to please. They smile, speak and help you with your needs. Couldn't ask for more. For a reasonable extra fee, you can have an umbrella and 2 chairs set up on the beach and reserved for you from 9 AM until 7 PM. The pool and picnic area are lovely with comfortable furniture. Landscaping is awesome.

As well, the location is great. It is directly on the beach and all condos seem to have a good view. Very convenient to the historical area, it is quick to get to restaurants and historical sites.

I do think the interior of the condo was smaller than I expected. In the 1 bedroom we rented the furniture was a bit dated looking like a 70's version of beach living. However, it was clean and adequate for my adult daughter and I. BUT, it seriously lacked in amenities provided by the owners. The resort does not allow any glass containers outside the room, but the only plastic glasses were 4 giant tea glasses. It would have been exceeding nice to have had a plastic carafe and wine glasses to enjoy wine in the pool area or insulated glasses for beer on the beach. Luckily, the excellent staff was able to loan us a couple of acrylic wine glasses. Neither was there any thought, or expense, put into the balcony furniture. The railing and protected spindles blocked ocean views when seated in the 2 lawn chairs on the balcony. Raised chairs would have been soooo much nicer. I own a vacation rental and try to continuously think of the little things I can provide for my guests enjoyment. These owners did not do that.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaejae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Hi jaejae,

We are disappointed that the Condo did not meet your satisfaction. I can certainly understand the amenities you pointed out and how they would have made your visit much nicer. If you would please email the address that I provide so that I may look into what condo you stayed in and call the owner to provide some of these amenities. On the other hand we are glad you enjoyed the property, staff, and the beach access. I look forward to hearing from you and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Greg Clark

gclark@galvestonian.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

I love the Galvestonian! The views are just amazing (best from the the 12th floor) and everything you could possibly need is in close proximity. There's a Walgreens, an Arlan's grocery store and Vietnamese, Italian and Mexican food nearby.

My favorite place is the pool deck area which has numerous umbrellas, chairs and tables and the pool itself is lovely. They also have a kitchen area that guests can sign up to use and a terrific walkover right to the beachfront. It's just fantastic.

The rooms are also really nice and there's one in every size for every budget. They've recently redone all of the rental units with upgrades including new countertops and pillow top beds. They are immaculately kept and if you report problems to the front desk they will immediately address them.

The front desk staff is fantastic and there are seasoned veterans there. They are the best source of information about Galveston and are very professional AND friendly which is hard combination to come by in Galveston. Trust me.

Overall, you will not find a better deal in town. That's why they're sold out nearly all summer every summer!

Date of stay: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mimora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Hi Mimora,

We are very happy your stay went well. It's been a busy summer with a few more weeks to go before the kids head back to school. We really have had a great time taking care of our guest this summer. Thank you for recognizing housekeeping and the upgrades to the condos. This last fall through spring all of the owners who are in the rental pool had to bring their units up to a certain standard in order to stay in the rental pool. The owners did some amazing work to their condos. Also, the front desk staff will certainly appreciate your comments as they work as hard as they can while we are very busy. We look forward to seeing you back soon here at the Galvestonian.

Thank you,
Greg Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We rented a 3 bedroom condo for our family while not cheap was very reasonable. The front desk staff were wonderful, very friendly, and helped with anything we needed. We had a great view of the ocean and a nice balcony. The condo was very nice with a large kitchen and large, well appointed bedrooms. The pool and hot tub were great and the hotel has a great beach. It sits just outside of the town so you will need a car or take taxi. Overall it was very relaxing here and we wish we could have stayed longer. Will stay here again if ever in Galveston again.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mitmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Hi Mitmel,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Our staff really appreciates it when our guest take the time to acknowledge their efforts to ensure your stay goes well. Maybe next time you can stay a bit longer. We are getting ready to run our fall specials. Our pool stays heated at 86 degrees year round. So anytime is a good time to come and visit the Galvestonian. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,
Greg Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews