We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Galvestonian
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Galveston Island Resort(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The San Luis Resort(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$342
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
319
72
8
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
319
72
8
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beacheast beachhot tubthree bedroombath condobeach towelsdaily maid servicefull kitchenpicnic areapool deckplace to stayboogie boardsdirect beach accesseach morningnice condofire pitgreat pool area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 409 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Galvestonian for several days. We are already looking forward to returning in the very near future! Our condo was beautiful decorated and had two balconies. The view was wonderful! Every staff member we met at the Galvestonian was friendly, professional, and helpful. The entire place is operated like an up-scale hotel. The swimming pool is exceptionally clean, and so is the beach area. The grounds are also beautifully landscaped. There is lush foliage and gorgeous flowers. The beach is cleaned every morning! Having been to Galveston before, I was never impressed with the beaches because of the clutter, ect.... Staying at the Galvestonian was like staying on an entirely different island! That is THE reason that we will be returning! We highly recommend this lovely, secluded paradise!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kellye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This has been our preferred resort when we want a quick weekend getaway from Houston. It's on a quiet stretch of beach that doesn't feel crowded. The large lobby area is beautifully decorated and there is a cabinet of board games for rainy days. The pool is great for all ages and there are plenty of lounge chairs and other plush outdoor furniture.

I would recommend looking at photos of each unit on Galvestonian.com before booking as each unit is privately owned and the furnishings can vary greatly. We have stayed in unit 203 twice in the past two years. It has comfortable beds and nice den furniture but a few things went downhill a bit since since our last visit. The dining room chairs' fake leather seats were ripped and uncomfortable to sit in. In the kitchen, we would have appreciated a chef's knife instead of having to use steak knifes for food prep. Also the selection of glassware left a lot to be desired and we had two wine glasses total. Possibly the Galvestonian should do more frequent checks inside the units to make sure everything is up to par for a unit that runs $325 per night off season. I know these things are the owner's responsibility but this was a unit booked through the resort's reservations (not VRBO.com).

I must add that you will not find friendlier staff anywhere. From the front desk to the housekeepers (who come daily), everyone was always smiling and helpful. The maintenance guy who helped us figure out our cable box was so nice and even asked me how it was working when I saw him downstairs the next day. They also provide a breakfast on the weekends consisting of donut holes, fruit and juice.

This is probably one of the nicer resorts for extended stay in Galveston due to the full kitchen, amenities and beachfront location, but just do your homework and ask lots of questions before booking a unit.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank ozmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Went with 4 moms and 1 2 year old granddaughter for a weekend of relaxation and fun. It was the perfect get-away. The Galvestonian is a great place to stay and be able to access the beach and/or a very nice pool. Don't expect the pool to be "wild child" friendly, but you can take the kids to the beach for that. Loved it for all the right reasons. Don't go there because when I get ready to book again, I want a room to be available.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was our second stay at the Galvestonian. We first booked a condo here a year ago based on the reviews on tripadvisor, and we are so glad we did. We even booked the exact same condo (#914) the second time around. This is a 12 story building with 16 individually owned condos on each floor. The building is on the beach with a walkover to cross the dunes, but no street to cross to reach the beautiful beach. The beach is big and clean (someone rakes the area every morning) and there are chairs and umbrellas you can rent for $30/day. We knew our unit had an umbrella in the closet from last year, so we just brought our own chairs to get our own setup on the beach for free. Beach towels are included and can be found in the lobby as you walk out to the heated pool, hot tub, or beach. The property also has two tennis courts, a basketball hoop in the corner of the tennis courts, fitness center, bicycles, outdoor shuffleboard, picnic tables with grills, and a firepit area where they will set up and clean up your 2 hr s'more session for $40. The units are individually owned so choose your unit carefully as some are more updated than others. Ours had a king in the master and two twins in the second bedroom. The bedding was wonderful and the kitchen nicely equipped. In fact, we ate all of our meals except for one dinner at the condo. The front office staff is very nice and check in and out was a breeze. We had one of the toilets stopped up but that was quickly taken care of while we played a game of tennis. Be sure to ask for the "stay 3 nights pay for 2" promotion, which makes your stay not only first class but also economical. Definitely the best place to stay in Galveston - we will be back!

Room Tip: Pick a room with room darkening curtains as the sun sets outside your windows
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katym0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Great stay if you want to be very close to attractions in Galveston without all the traffic and crowds. All of the rooms are condos, so they come complete with kitchens that include pots, pans, dishes, eating & cooking utensils, etc...a dishwasher (dishwasher soap and regular dish soap under the counter), full size stove & refrigerator. Our room had a king size bed and a sofa that made out into a queen size bed. There were balconies in the living area and the bedroom, both with patio furniture. The entire walls were ceiling to floor windows with sliding glass doors facing the gulf, which could be covered with thick blinds if desired. The room was very clean, and there were even magazines and mosquito candles available. The pool and hot tub were very nice, as well as beach access via the walkway. Chairs and umbrellas can be rented/reserved at the front desk, and are set up by the staff. There is also a picnic area just beyond the pool deck (before the dunes) with Weber charcoal grills and picnic tables. There was a continental breakfast served in the mornings, which included fruit and pastries. Coffee, teas, and hot chocolate were available all day long in the lobby. There are also shopping carts available to haul groceries up to the rooms if needed. When we called the lobby for extra towels there was no hesitation, or "come down and get them;" they were delivered by friendly staff within a couple of minutes. (BTW, beach/pool towels are strategically located next to the beach/pool access door in the lobby.) Our stay was pretty quiet and peaceful with a spectacular view of the beach and gulf.

Room Tip: All rooms face the gulf and have balconies. Access to the beach does not require fighting traffic to cross Seawall Blvd. Nuff said.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews