We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quiet stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Galvestonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Galvestonian
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice quiet stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We are retired New England seniors who like to travel and had never been to Texas. We stayed 3 nights at the Galvestonian. The staff were all great. The unit was spotless, the bed comfortable and not many other units were occuied during this off season period. We had a unit on the 12th floor. We thought this Galveston trip would be a one time thing but are now considering returning next year. The area is quite different from the typical Galveston hotel which is likely to be found on the densely occupied Seawall Blvd. A detriment is that there are no restaurants in walking distance except for one, open only Thursday through Sunday. Also, the shower water temperature fluctuated. Neither of these issues would have me change my 5 star rating. Worth noting is that during our trip through Texas, we found everyone we encountered to be friendly and helpful.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Brucerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    65
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
186
91
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We have now been twice to the Galvestonian--April and then October of 2013. We stayed in a corner suite and had amazing views--ocean/sunrise/sunset. The staff Is always helpful. The lobby is beautifully appointed. The beach at this end of the island is very private. Plenty of room for long quiet walks.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I have never understood when people write reviews and rave about the hotel staff as the reason they are adding the fifth star. I do now. Every single employee that we encountered at the Galvestonian went out of their way to make our stay as easy as possible.

The Good:

Unit 112 was very cutely decorated. Nice kitchen and bathrooms and the beds were very comfortable.

Beach barbecues were very nice and the pool was large and well maintained.

The Great:
Wheelchair access to the beach at this hotel was phenomenal. Very easy to get straight out to the water for a chair user. There is a wheelchair accessible ramp out to the beach and the sand is hard packed enough for any independent chair user to be able to push through down to the water.

The staff. They made us a special key for wheelchair access, brought us charcoal when we were out, always were friendly and helpful and even offered to help us get a walker for our son when he struggled with the bathroom set up. They were just always there to help out.

The view. Beautiful sunrises every morning. Unit 112 would be perfect for a family with 1-2 kids that could have some freedom but you could still keep an eye on them at the pool or beach from the room.

What needs attention:
Since these are individually owned condos there are NO truly ADA compliant rooms. While my wheelchair using son had plenty of room to move around in Unit 112, the bathroom doors were too small for him to access. We were able to work around this by lifting him in but this would not work for an adult full time chair user.

It's such a shame because the property is gorgeous and has amazing outdoor access. I hope a a few of the unit owners decide to make some accessibility upgrades inside.

We loved our stay and hope to come back.

Room Tip: Loved Unit 112
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euless, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Spent a holiday weekend and the stay was fantastic! Staff was very professional, helpful and responsive. They provide for any needs you might have, from beach towels to flashlights. Also, the beach is the cleanest on the island. Every morning they raked up any seaweed that may have washed up. We have been to Galveston numerous times and our stay at the Galvestonian was the best we ever had. Will definitely go again!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

As always, PERFECT. Although one complaint :( The owners need to check a/c vents in bedrooms to be sure that it isn't blowing on peoples faces. I must say this was a pain but everything else was perfect. Also, if you need ice immediately when you check in, grab a bag before you get there, Unless they have an ice machine that I am not aware of. The ice maker in rerig most of time is not on.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telicogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Galvestonian for one month, Sept.22nd to Oct.22nd. Before we left we made a reservation for one month in 2014, Sept. 15th to Oct.15th. That should say plenty about our pleasure with the facilities and the staff.

The staff knows how to make you welcome and continuing it every day of your stay. I'll name names in hopes of not overlooking anyone: It begins with General Manager Gregory Clark and Asst. Manager Tim Lopas. It continues with other staff, Frank, Amanda, Ros, Carol, Susie, Cindy, Sarah, Pat, and Mitch. They are exceptional as resources in knowledge about Galveston, attractions and resturants.

The physical facility is well maintained and beautifully landscaped. The swimming pool and deck are large and inviting. Arrangements can be made to use grills and enjoy a picnic setting. A fire pit offers a night time warm and glowing experience. The Gulf and beach are only a walkway over the dune.

Now you know why we will be back next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have a Gulf view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Galvestonian for several days. We are already looking forward to returning in the very near future! Our condo was beautiful decorated and had two balconies. The view was wonderful! Every staff member we met at the Galvestonian was friendly, professional, and helpful. The entire place is operated like an up-scale hotel. The swimming pool is exceptionally clean, and so is the beach area. The grounds are also beautifully landscaped. There is lush foliage and gorgeous flowers. The beach is cleaned every morning! Having been to Galveston before, I was never impressed with the beaches because of the clutter, ect.... Staying at the Galvestonian was like staying on an entirely different island! That is THE reason that we will be returning! We highly recommend this lovely, secluded paradise!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galvestonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galvestonian

Property: The Galvestonian
Address: 1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-3323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#1 Family Hotel in Galveston
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galvestonian 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galvestonian is designed for pleasure and relaxation. For outdoor fun, the large heated swimming pool, which features a hot-tub Jacuzzi, is elevated on a deck which runs almost the entire length of the building. This affords the privacy you deserve, plus a spectacular view of the Gulf of Mexico. The spacious poolside cabana is quiet, shaded area for enjoying pool side refreshments. For tennis buffs, there are two lighted courts. And, of course, there are miles of beach a few steps down from the pool deck. You can stroll along the water's edge, build sand castles or simply relax on the sand and let the sun's golden rays warm your body.East Beach is the most exclusive beach in Texas. Only 50 minutes from Hobby Airport and only three minutes from downtown Galveston. East Beach is a hideaway which will allow you to escape life's pressures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Galvestonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Resort Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing