We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View and Facility”
Review of The Galvestonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Galvestonian
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful View and Facility”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Our family rented the three bedroom penthouse at The Galvestonian. It was wonderful. The facility was clean and well maintained. We loved having the separate rooms but common living area. It encouraged us to spend our down time on the island as a family. The heated pool was fabulous (especially in November). Be aware, I would strongly recommend a car rental. Unless you are cooking and a beach bum, this is on the outskirts of the town. It is not walking distance to many attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    69
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
189
94
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
DeSoto, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were blessed enough to know someone who owns a condo. They allowed us to use their unit for a quick weekend getaway for my 40th birthday. Let me tell you the location is wonderful. The arrangement for six people in a two bedrood with a sleeper sofa was very accomodating. We stayed on the Sixth Floor and our view was awesome. The view of sunrise and sunset was breathtaking. It was wonderful just to walk on the beach. This location was more than accomodating. We all say the same thing this was more than we expected and worth many more trips to this location. It was a GREAT experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nichele1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This property is so outstanding that I don't know where to begin . . .

My husband and I decided to celebrate my 60th at The Galvestonian after a strong recommendation from relatives who had stayed here recently. It certainly met and exceeded our expectations. We stayed on the 12th floor in Unit 1209 and will most likely try to stay in this same room the next time we go. There was a lovely view of the beach from our private balcony. We tend to enjoy walking the beach more than actually getting in the water; but, we found the hotel pool to be very nice and relaxing (water is kept comfortably heated and the adjoining whirlpool is plenty roomy with lots of jets) . We were pleasantly surprised to find the pool fairly quiet even though there were a fair number of guests in and around it--a big plus as far as we're concerned. We also liked the fact that there was no diving board as well as no pool toys allowed--so not a lot of splashing going on.

The Galvestonian had all the amenities one could ask for. The room we stayed in was very well appointed and spotless with a very comfortable bed. It was also nice having a kitchen with all the basic appliances and cookware if you were interested in dining in--we might stay longer next time and do a little of that. We found the Strand easily accessible though and couldn't resist fresh seafood. We had breakfast at The Sunflower Cafe and brought back delicious pastries to have the following morning.

The staff was very accommodating--offering us a handy map of the surrounding area with popular restaurants highlighted.

All in all, this was the perfect place for a quiet getaway.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend staying on the top floor because of the view and as not to risk a noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We are retired New England seniors who like to travel and had never been to Texas. We stayed 3 nights at the Galvestonian. The staff were all great. The unit was spotless, the bed comfortable and not many other units were occuied during this off season period. We had a unit on the 12th floor. We thought this Galveston trip would be a one time thing but are now considering returning next year. The area is quite different from the typical Galveston hotel which is likely to be found on the densely occupied Seawall Blvd. A detriment is that there are no restaurants in walking distance except for one, open only Thursday through Sunday. Also, the shower water temperature fluctuated. Neither of these issues would have me change my 5 star rating. Worth noting is that during our trip through Texas, we found everyone we encountered to be friendly and helpful.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Brucerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We have now been twice to the Galvestonian--April and then October of 2013. We stayed in a corner suite and had amazing views--ocean/sunrise/sunset. The staff Is always helpful. The lobby is beautifully appointed. The beach at this end of the island is very private. Plenty of room for long quiet walks.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I have never understood when people write reviews and rave about the hotel staff as the reason they are adding the fifth star. I do now. Every single employee that we encountered at the Galvestonian went out of their way to make our stay as easy as possible.

The Good:

Unit 112 was very cutely decorated. Nice kitchen and bathrooms and the beds were very comfortable.

Beach barbecues were very nice and the pool was large and well maintained.

The Great:
Wheelchair access to the beach at this hotel was phenomenal. Very easy to get straight out to the water for a chair user. There is a wheelchair accessible ramp out to the beach and the sand is hard packed enough for any independent chair user to be able to push through down to the water.

The staff. They made us a special key for wheelchair access, brought us charcoal when we were out, always were friendly and helpful and even offered to help us get a walker for our son when he struggled with the bathroom set up. They were just always there to help out.

The view. Beautiful sunrises every morning. Unit 112 would be perfect for a family with 1-2 kids that could have some freedom but you could still keep an eye on them at the pool or beach from the room.

What needs attention:
Since these are individually owned condos there are NO truly ADA compliant rooms. While my wheelchair using son had plenty of room to move around in Unit 112, the bathroom doors were too small for him to access. We were able to work around this by lifting him in but this would not work for an adult full time chair user.

It's such a shame because the property is gorgeous and has amazing outdoor access. I hope a a few of the unit owners decide to make some accessibility upgrades inside.

We loved our stay and hope to come back.

Room Tip: Loved Unit 112
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euless, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Spent a holiday weekend and the stay was fantastic! Staff was very professional, helpful and responsive. They provide for any needs you might have, from beach towels to flashlights. Also, the beach is the cleanest on the island. Every morning they raked up any seaweed that may have washed up. We have been to Galveston numerous times and our stay at the Galvestonian was the best we ever had. Will definitely go again!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galvestonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galvestonian

Property: The Galvestonian
Address: 1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-3323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#1 Family Hotel in Galveston
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galvestonian 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galvestonian is designed for pleasure and relaxation. For outdoor fun, the large heated swimming pool, which features a hot-tub Jacuzzi, is elevated on a deck which runs almost the entire length of the building. This affords the privacy you deserve, plus a spectacular view of the Gulf of Mexico. The spacious poolside cabana is quiet, shaded area for enjoying pool side refreshments. For tennis buffs, there are two lighted courts. And, of course, there are miles of beach a few steps down from the pool deck. You can stroll along the water's edge, build sand castles or simply relax on the sand and let the sun's golden rays warm your body.East Beach is the most exclusive beach in Texas. Only 50 minutes from Hobby Airport and only three minutes from downtown Galveston. East Beach is a hideaway which will allow you to escape life's pressures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Galvestonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Resort Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing