We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, new family friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
TEXAS
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clean, new family friendly hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Wanted a getaway with kids before school started. Booked reward nights here for two nights. Easy to get to and plenty of parking. Lobby small but decor nice. Brand new hotel. Greeted by Heather with smile and efficiency and already had my info printed out in front of her with key cards to room and wifi access code. Was upper floor as requested but not end of hallway as is my standard request. Room was adjacent to elevator and ice machine. I am a light sleeper so asked if another room available. With apologies no. However good noise insulation as we never heard noise outside the room. Balcony view of gulf. Nice pool with 2 spa tubs outside and a great little hot breakfast each morning featuring eggs, biscuits, gravy, bacon or sausage, a pancake maker, muffins, cinnamon rolls, fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice and coffee and milk. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cthtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    88
    63
    46
    44
See reviews for
140
102
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My friend and I stayed here for a weekend, and I must say our stay was fantastic. We stayed here during Mardi Gras, so we knew the hotel would be busy, but we still got taken care of. The hotel even had a shuttle that would take their guests to where Mardi Gras parade/Galveston Downtown was at. My friend and I go to Mardi Gras every year and we have already decided to definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for the weekend and everything went good, housekeeping staff was nice and front desk staff recommended great places to eat. Hotel is located on the west end of the island, hotel has two spas and a pool witch were enough for us since it was so hotel in Galveston. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The housekeeping ladies go above and beyond, and do an excellent job. They even took the time to make a bed for my daughter's doll, which was a cute surprise. Our only issue was with the guy on duty Monday evening (Jacob) not having our reservation from the 1-800-HOLIDAY number, and charging us almost 3 times our quoted price. This was resolved at checkout but I spent 3 hours on the phone trying to resolve an internal Holiday Inn issue that Jacob should have taken the initiative to resolve.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krossy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I recently took our grandkids, ages 8 and 5, to Galveston and very much liked our stay at this Holiday Inn Express. Our very pleasant room was on the 3rd floor with a small balcony overlooking the swimming pool with a view of the Gulf.

The room was spacious and clean and the breakfast room was large and the breakfast selection was very good, appealing to both the little kids and grownups.

The pool was nice with two adjoining hot tubs. Pool towels were supplied and there were adequate lounge chairs and umbrella tables. My husband sat and read while the rest of us swam.

One of the hot tubs had brownish water, which I forgot to mention to the staff. The kids enjoyed it, anyway, and have suffered no illness from the dirty-seeming water. Maybe it was just caused by beach sand.

The beach across the street is rocky. If you want to swim at a beach you need to walk (or preferably drive) east down the seawall to get to a sandy beach. We drove west a couple miles to Galveston Island State Park and enjoyed the beach there.

It took too long for the front desk to answer the phone, but when they did, they were pleasant. They were very busy. That is why I marked down the service rating a notch.


It was a thoroughly pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDeming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This hotel is located on the end of town so not right in the middle of everything. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was very good. Everything you would want to eat was there in plenty! The pool was nice and there are two hot tubs. The staff was very helpful both checking in and out. There was covered parking and open parking which was nice since it was raining when we left. The only thing I found wierd was the hallway carpet looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in quite awhile and could use a good cleaning. The carpet in the room was vacuumed but needs to be cleaned. We will stay there again! We paid $239 for a Sat. night which is a bit pricey but what are you to do? It was the best price I found.

Room Tip: They have rooms on the front that face the ocean. If you can't get one of those get an ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champlin, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had a lot of problems with this hotel. Our room smelled and it was not cleaned well. A couple of the front desk employees were very good but others were not. The pool was broke more than it was operational. The only good thing about the hotel was food. Lots of choices and the staff working the kitchen were very professional and nice. I left an article of clothing there after we checked out and I was basically told that I never left it there. So they made me feel like I was lying. I have left a review for the hotel on another site and at least the corporate office addressed it. My recommendation is stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Melissa A,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galveston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#23 of 51 in Galveston
264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Galveston Suites
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Address: 8628 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9779
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hear the wave s crash from your balcony at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island, located on W Seawall Blvd across from the ocean. Galveston offers 32 miles of relaxing beaches, superb restaurants, marvelous downtown shopping in the Strand Historical District, historical museums with the Lone Star Flight Museum and the Texas Seaport Museum, fabulous entertainment and one of the largest and well-preserved concentrations of Victorian architecture in the country including the 1859 Moody Mansion. The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston is a great value for business and leisure travelers. The Colonel Paddlewheel Boat is within easy reach; enjoy East Beach Park, Galveston Island Ferry, Stewart Beach, Bishop Palace and Moody Gardens, and the ever-popular Schlitterbahn Waterpark a family adventure. If you are embarking from the Port of Galveston or here on business, we are conveniently located close to University of Texas Medical Branch, American National Insurance Company, Texas A&M University at Galveston, Galveston College, U.S. Army Corp of Engineers and the US Coast Guard.Galveston is a small romantic island tucked deep within the heart of south Texas possessing all the charm of a small southern town with Texas Hospitality and just 40 minutes south of Houston. We look forward to seeing you at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing