We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, close to beach, and many attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We chose this hotel prior to our cruise. It had a shuttle to and from the port and parking for $25. We also like to stay at Holiday Inn's. The gulf was right across the street with many other attractions within driving distance. The room was small but did have a mini fridge which smelled of fish. The room was clean but could tell it was close to salt water with the smell of mildew. The bed was not comfortable, very hard and the pillows were just ok. The breakfast was good with a selection of different food items. The staff was friendly. I felt the room was way overpriced for the accomodations that we had and for a Holiday Inn was one of the least favorites we have stayed at. I would only recommend this hotel if you have a cruise scheduled since there are only a few that have the park and shuttle.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahappygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear ahappygirl,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. We are glad you liked our location and found the staff friendly. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Again, thank you for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Booked two rooms for Saturday night Oct. 6th. One room had a strong mildew smell. Maintenence arrived 1-1/2 hours later to spray and wipe out the A/C. No help on the smell. At 2 AM my wife tries to adjust the thermostat and the A/C shorts out right in her face. No A/C for the remainder of the night. Front desk clerk was apoligetic but thats all.
I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Randy H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My friend are were on a road trip and we had planned on camping at the state park. We went and looked at the site and were not impressed, plus a huge thunderstorm was rolling in off the gulf, so we decided to find a hotel. We booked this hotel on Expedia, it had it listed at $400 but was discounted to $120. (I would never pay or stay here for $400). We booked our room from the parking lot and went in to check in, and they already had our reservation. The room was clean, and pretty standard. The best part of the room was the porch. Since it was raining and we couldn't go across the street to the beach, we sat on our porch, relaxed, and enjoyed a few beers. Our porch faced another hotel, but was angled so you could see the gulf. Overall a very nice stay.

The hotel's continental breakfast was very good.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbee1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Good place, smaller and quieter than the other Holiday Inn by the San Luis. The room was quite large and clean but the bed was lumpy (I have a bad back) and it was a little annoying hearing the folks upstairs stomping on the ceiling. The bathroom was huge and upgraded. AC worked well. The Gulf view was great, the staff was good, the free breakfast was satisfying, the pool and hot tub was enjoyable and clean - oh and the best part, quiet and kid-free.The Gulf is across the street but it is a rocky beach. There is a sandy beach just a few minutes drive to the west.

Room Tip: Suites have the full Gulf view but you will pay a substantial premium. The standard rooms on the eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friendlyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

cleanest, friendliest staff and nicest rooms you could ever want! literally a stones throw from the ocean. every room had a balcony and it was great to sit out there and listen to and smell the ocean. they have hot tubs! will definitely return

Room Tip: this is a "cant go wrong" hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truerambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed over one night waiting for our vacation rental to become available. Room was nicely appointed. However, it was very muggy, and everything in the room felt damp. We turned the air on and that helped. The staff was very friendly and nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JENoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

When I walked in I was greeted by the staff with smiles, after checking in the front desk helped me with great recommendations to restaurants around the beach. The hotel has a nice pool that over looks the ocean witch was perfect for me. The main beach is about two miles away from the hotel but the location of the hotel is perfect because its quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#24 of 51 in Galveston
275 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Address: 8628 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9779
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range: £61 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hear the wave s crash from your balcony at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island, located on W Seawall Blvd across from the ocean. Galveston offers 32 miles of relaxing beaches, superb restaurants, marvelous downtown shopping in the Strand Historical District, historical museums with the Lone Star Flight Museum and the Texas Seaport Museum, fabulous entertainment and one of the largest and well-preserved concentrations of Victorian architecture in the country including the 1859 Moody Mansion. The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston is a great value for business and leisure travelers. The Colonel Paddlewheel Boat is within easy reach; enjoy East Beach Park, Galveston Island Ferry, Stewart Beach, Bishop Palace and Moody Gardens, and the ever-popular Schlitterbahn Waterpark a family adventure. If you are embarking from the Port of Galveston or here on business, we are conveniently located close to University of Texas Medical Branch, American National Insurance Company, Texas A&M University at Galveston, Galveston College, U.S. Army Corp of Engineers and the US Coast Guard.Galveston is a small romantic island tucked deep within the heart of south Texas possessing all the charm of a small southern town with Texas Hospitality and just 40 minutes south of Houston. We look forward to seeing you at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing