We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience......”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My son, daughter, and I recently spent one night before leaving on a cruise. We were able to park our vehicle for a reasonable price and had super,fast shuttle service to the cruise and back! The driver was awesome and so helpful! The room was nice, clean, and comfortable, and the breakfast was very good. Since my daughter is an employee of Holiday Inn Express, we received a very good rate! Thanks for making our experience so good! I definitely hope we can stay there again in the near future!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnafromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    87
    62
    46
    44
See reviews for
136
102
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
La Porte, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

yes this trip i was disappointed, it was bike week and they don't have anything special for priority members no cookies no water nothing. the breakfast as i said in one other review was not cooked with any real thought just thrown out there, the room had a nice view of the seawall and beach,they never give you any extra coffee in the room , and when you hang a do not disturb sign on your door cause i was working nite shift that does not mean its ok to bang the door with the vacuum cleaner while doing the hallway , so come on HIE get it together

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ticamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My Family and I stayed here the night before we sailed on the Disney Wonder. It appeared the hotel had been recently remodeled, our room was clean and spacious. I was a little disappointed with the view we received, but totally understandable since we booked a standard room. Our view was someone's balcony of the Laquinta hotel next door.

Breakfast was typical Holiday Inn Express, except there were no hard boiled eggs and the eggs were ineditable. Fortunately, we were heading off to a cruise and didn't want to eat a huge breakfast anyway. It was nice that they had ice water available all the time in the lobby.

The hotel offers a shuttle to the port of Galveston for $25 per room. We opted to take a cab when we were told it left any time between 10 and 11 and didn't want to wait in the lobby for an hour with 2 small children. The cab was $22.80 before tip so the cost ended up being about the same and we didn't have to wait. I would highly recommend it.

Please note there are very limited options for dining around the hotel within walking distance. We took a cab from the airport and did not have a car and ended up ordering pizza from Dominos. The only restaurant we noticed within walking distance was Jimmy's on the Pier across the street and it appeared to be packed as it was a Friday night.

As many have said in there reviews, there is no beach within walking distance. The area across from the hotel has huge boulders all along it, you can't even go down there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Very nice motel. clean and quiet the mornig breakfast was very nice but. Need to have items for people who can not have dairy products.The fact htah you have to use so mamy characters is stupid. I will not do any mor opinions.


Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchboro, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Booked a weekend stay through IHG, and found this HIE well sited and clean. It has everything you need and nothing you don't for a weekend spent out seeing the sights. The AC, tv, and all doors and windows worked, the bed was comfortable, the linens clean, and there was no traffic noise at all. I did have only soft pillows the first night, but asked for a couple of firm ones at the desk in the morning and they were waiting for me that night. I had a side room, but still had a balcony and a view of both the water and across the island. The only really odd thing was checkout- I had to leave a 5am Monday to catch my flight, and there was no one at the desk. I waited about 10 minutes, walking back and forth in front of the camera, and even stepped outside and back in thinking that might trigger a sensor. No one ever appeared, so I left my key cards and a note. It was a little bit disturbing that anyone could come in off the street and head off through the hotel without anyone noticing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Rachel B,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We are happy that you found our bed accommodations to be comfortable and overall you had a commendable stay. I apologize for the unusual occurrence during check out. Your comments have been noted and will be forwarded accordingly to our team to ensure incidents like this do not happen again in the future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were totally disappointed in this hotel... We have always found Holiday Inn to be clean, accommodating hotels in the past. This poor excuse of a hotel was a sad place to bring our three yr old grandson for our fall getaway with him. The room smelled musty, the balcony was so dirty I wouldn't even let him sit in the chair out on it. Went to the pool/hot tub area to find both hot tubs not heated. Went down the next morning to the same problem. One of the hot tubs was full of dirty , brown colored water. There was a water hose piled up in front of the entrance to the pool area spewing water everywhere. Cigarette butts and trash were scattered around the pool area. A total disaster!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bledso5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear bledso5,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property

I am disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with the level of cleanliness and truly sorry for the pool facility fell below your standards. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We chose this hotel prior to our cruise. It had a shuttle to and from the port and parking for $25. We also like to stay at Holiday Inn's. The gulf was right across the street with many other attractions within driving distance. The room was small but did have a mini fridge which smelled of fish. The room was clean but could tell it was close to salt water with the smell of mildew. The bed was not comfortable, very hard and the pillows were just ok. The breakfast was good with a selection of different food items. The staff was friendly. I felt the room was way overpriced for the accomodations that we had and for a Holiday Inn was one of the least favorites we have stayed at. I would only recommend this hotel if you have a cruise scheduled since there are only a few that have the park and shuttle.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahappygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear ahappygirl,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. We are glad you liked our location and found the staff friendly. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Again, thank you for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#23 of 51 in Galveston
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Galveston Suites
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.0 mi away
Best Western Galveston West Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Address: 8628 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9779
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hear the wave s crash from your balcony at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island, located on W Seawall Blvd across from the ocean. Galveston offers 32 miles of relaxing beaches, superb restaurants, marvelous downtown shopping in the Strand Historical District, historical museums with the Lone Star Flight Museum and the Texas Seaport Museum, fabulous entertainment and one of the largest and well-preserved concentrations of Victorian architecture in the country including the 1859 Moody Mansion. The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston is a great value for business and leisure travelers. The Colonel Paddlewheel Boat is within easy reach; enjoy East Beach Park, Galveston Island Ferry, Stewart Beach, Bishop Palace and Moody Gardens, and the ever-popular Schlitterbahn Waterpark a family adventure. If you are embarking from the Port of Galveston or here on business, we are conveniently located close to University of Texas Medical Branch, American National Insurance Company, Texas A&M University at Galveston, Galveston College, U.S. Army Corp of Engineers and the US Coast Guard.Galveston is a small romantic island tucked deep within the heart of south Texas possessing all the charm of a small southern town with Texas Hospitality and just 40 minutes south of Houston. We look forward to seeing you at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing