We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
1 review
“great hotel”
Reviewed 16 February 2010

I came here for valentines day feb 14 2010 with my wife and it was a great experience.I reserved the room a day before and got a king suite ocean front room. The hotel staff was really nice and professional I had 0 problems at check in.The room was awesome, great bed and tv. The room looked really nice and elegant not chessy and not over decorated.At night we went out for dinner at a restaurant called tortuga and when we came back it was raining hard. It was easy to find the hotel cause they have blue lights going up the sides of the hotel which make it extremely elegant.The bed was real comfortable I didn't want to get up,we woke up at 9 am and had free breakfast which was a nice selection.I recommend this hotel its clean and new, I only paid 130 dollars which is good for a valentines day and it was a king suite.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    85
    59
    45
    44
See reviews for
129
99
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Arrived on the 26th in preparation for our New Year's cruise. This hotel is overall a great choice when staying in Galveston. Here is where they dropped the ball: the door to our room could not be secured (major hit). The toilet malfuntioned, another major hit. Minor hits: had to ask for coffee cups and the coffee pot did not work at all. Did not make a fuss since we were leaving the next day anyway. We got an ocean view room which kinda made up for the major glitches with this room. I reported the shortcomings the next morning to a front clerk who half-heartedly listened and wrote them down. I would stay here again, but hotel managers and front staff really need to get rooms ready for guests before arrival. It speaks of carelesness and poor QA. A basic thing like fixing a broken door should not greet a guest's arrival, especially since it creates a major security hazard for the guest and a huge liability for the hotel. Breakfast was great with hot and cold items and spacious dining room without the usual morning mob. Best breakfast in any hotel we've had in a long while.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Nice quiet hotel, the view from the room was great. Close to all area attractions, < 5 minutes from the Moody Gardens. The employees at the hotel were just fantastic. We traveled with 2 toddlers and a baby, and the hotel manager did his best to help us with arrangements, provided us with cribs and gave us an updrade. Free parking, refregirator and microwave in the room and excellent hot free breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masjita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

The hotel was built after the hurricane in '08. The rooms are clean and newly decorated as you would expect in newer construction. The complementary breakfast was acceptable, but the quality of the food could stand improvement. I would stay again, but would not recommend staying here only based on whether a $15 shuttle service to the Cruise Terminal is provided. The shuttle service is valuable for service to the airport, however there are far too many guests using the shuttle service to the Cruise Terminal. Additionally, the shuttle service is shared with the La Quinta Inn next door, and therefore getting a ride on time to and from the Cruise Terminal is risky. My suggestion is to pay the $15 to leave the car at the hotel, but catch a $18 cab ride to and from the Cruise Terminal. You are still ahead roughly $15 for a 7 day cruise.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasT0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
258 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Stayed here one night while on a business trip to Galveston. Hotel is really nice and new! Room had a balcony with a view of the Gulf of Mexico. Bed was extremely comfortable with flat screen tv's. Covered parking in the rear of of the hotel. Nice business center. Good Breakfast. Will definitely stay at this hotel when I return to Galveston. Built after Hurricane Ike so you don't have to worry about mold.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I stayed here 2 nights for work and wasn't particularly interested in a view, so when they gave me a room at the back of the hotel, I thought I'd be looking at the parking lot. But I still had a balcony and it's angled in a way to see the water. I liked the way the room was decorated. The bed was nice and the TV was really good too. The hotels in Galveston tend to get run down quickly with the salt and sand, but for now, this one is really nice. As it was pointed out, the beach is not yet built up, but if you like to walk along the seawall and not swim or bake on the beach, it is very pretty with the water washing up on the rocks. It's a little quieter too.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

A nice, new hotel. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated, and comfortable. The staff was friendly. Our room had a partial view of the water from the balcony. The complimentary breakfast was good. The breakfast room was comfortable and had a nice view of the water. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank btx79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Galveston Suites
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#24 of 51 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Address: 8628 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9779
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hear the wave s crash from your balcony at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island, located on W Seawall Blvd across from the ocean. Galveston offers 32 miles of relaxing beaches, superb restaurants, marvelous downtown shopping in the Strand Historical District, historical museums with the Lone Star Flight Museum and the Texas Seaport Museum, fabulous entertainment and one of the largest and well-preserved concentrations of Victorian architecture in the country including the 1859 Moody Mansion. The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston is a great value for business and leisure travelers. The Colonel Paddlewheel Boat is within easy reach; enjoy East Beach Park, Galveston Island Ferry, Stewart Beach, Bishop Palace and Moody Gardens, and the ever-popular Schlitterbahn Waterpark a family adventure. If you are embarking from the Port of Galveston or here on business, we are conveniently located close to University of Texas Medical Branch, American National Insurance Company, Texas A&M University at Galveston, Galveston College, U.S. Army Corp of Engineers and the US Coast Guard.Galveston is a small romantic island tucked deep within the heart of south Texas possessing all the charm of a small southern town with Texas Hospitality and just 40 minutes south of Houston. We look forward to seeing you at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing