We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - On Seawall & Close to Moody Gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
469 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“Great Location - On Seawall & Close to Moody Gardens”
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We were doing a two day 150 mile bike ride that stopped in Galveston overnight at Moody Gardens. We did not want to pay the high prices at Moody Gardens Hotel but wanted a nice clean location close to Moody. This hotel was less than a three minute bike ride from Moody.

The hotel appears to be very new and is very welcoming. The hotel is on the less populated part of the seawall but but is at a good central location for activities in Galveston. There is plenty of underground covered parking at the hotel. They allowed us to check in early and were very pleasant.

On first entering the lobby, there is a very welcome feel. The breakfast area and lobby sitting area are melded together away from the front desk and creates a very warm feeling. There is plenty of room in the breakfast area in the morning.

Our room was a nice King room with microwave and fridge. The room also had a loveseat and table in addition to the nice sized work desk. Closet and bathroom space is acceptable. Very comfortable bed. The climate control system worked well, and the blower can be set to on for white noise. Room has a medium sized Flat Panel HDTV and a large selection of channels. Quiet and dark rooms at night. You could see a bit of the ocean from the balcony.

The breakfast was typical Holiday Inn Express hot premade cheese omelets, biscuits, gravy, bacon, as well as cold hard boiled eggs, pastries, toast, muffins, cereals, juice, milk. They had the breakfast out early for those of us riding, and kept the food refreshed for our non riding companions who slept in a bit.

They have business center downstairs with two computers and a printer. High Speed Internet connection was strong around our room. The inside of the hotel clean and nice looking. They had a typical small but clean exercise room with a bike, treadmill, elliptical, and some free weights. The hotel has a nice outdoor pool and hot tub facing the seawall. We will continue to stay here when we participate in this annual event.

There is not much in the line of restaurants near the location but with a car there are plenty of choices in Galveston.

I think it is the best of their brands here in Galveston.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    85
    59
    45
    43
See reviews for
128
99
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

This was the third hotel on our Texas trip. The hotel is almost brand new and is located directly opposite the sea front separated by a main road. We prepaid for four nights and got a cheaper rate through the Holiday Inn web site.
We were greeted by a very helpful receptionist.
Our room was very nicely decorated and very clean; the only problem with it was that it was all one room unlike some other suites we’ve stayed in where the bedroom and living room are separated. Our room had a balcony that looked directly over the sea.
Unfortunately during our stay we had some bad weather with more on its way. We decided to see if we could check out early even though we had prepaid. We asked the receptionist about checking out and she said that there wasn’t a problem. In total we stayed two nights and enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digger2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2010

I came here for valentines day feb 14 2010 with my wife and it was a great experience.I reserved the room a day before and got a king suite ocean front room. The hotel staff was really nice and professional I had 0 problems at check in.The room was awesome, great bed and tv. The room looked really nice and elegant not chessy and not over decorated.At night we went out for dinner at a restaurant called tortuga and when we came back it was raining hard. It was easy to find the hotel cause they have blue lights going up the sides of the hotel which make it extremely elegant.The bed was real comfortable I didn't want to get up,we woke up at 9 am and had free breakfast which was a nice selection.I recommend this hotel its clean and new, I only paid 130 dollars which is good for a valentines day and it was a king suite.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Arrived on the 26th in preparation for our New Year's cruise. This hotel is overall a great choice when staying in Galveston. Here is where they dropped the ball: the door to our room could not be secured (major hit). The toilet malfuntioned, another major hit. Minor hits: had to ask for coffee cups and the coffee pot did not work at all. Did not make a fuss since we were leaving the next day anyway. We got an ocean view room which kinda made up for the major glitches with this room. I reported the shortcomings the next morning to a front clerk who half-heartedly listened and wrote them down. I would stay here again, but hotel managers and front staff really need to get rooms ready for guests before arrival. It speaks of carelesness and poor QA. A basic thing like fixing a broken door should not greet a guest's arrival, especially since it creates a major security hazard for the guest and a huge liability for the hotel. Breakfast was great with hot and cold items and spacious dining room without the usual morning mob. Best breakfast in any hotel we've had in a long while.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Nice quiet hotel, the view from the room was great. Close to all area attractions, < 5 minutes from the Moody Gardens. The employees at the hotel were just fantastic. We traveled with 2 toddlers and a baby, and the hotel manager did his best to help us with arrangements, provided us with cribs and gave us an updrade. Free parking, refregirator and microwave in the room and excellent hot free breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masjita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

The hotel was built after the hurricane in '08. The rooms are clean and newly decorated as you would expect in newer construction. The complementary breakfast was acceptable, but the quality of the food could stand improvement. I would stay again, but would not recommend staying here only based on whether a $15 shuttle service to the Cruise Terminal is provided. The shuttle service is valuable for service to the airport, however there are far too many guests using the shuttle service to the Cruise Terminal. Additionally, the shuttle service is shared with the La Quinta Inn next door, and therefore getting a ride on time to and from the Cruise Terminal is risky. My suggestion is to pay the $15 to leave the car at the hotel, but catch a $18 cab ride to and from the Cruise Terminal. You are still ahead roughly $15 for a 7 day cruise.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasT0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
258 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Stayed here one night while on a business trip to Galveston. Hotel is really nice and new! Room had a balcony with a view of the Gulf of Mexico. Bed was extremely comfortable with flat screen tv's. Covered parking in the rear of of the hotel. Nice business center. Good Breakfast. Will definitely stay at this hotel when I return to Galveston. Built after Hurricane Ike so you don't have to worry about mold.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Galveston Suites
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#24 of 51 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Address: 8628 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9779
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hear the wave s crash from your balcony at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island, located on W Seawall Blvd across from the ocean. Galveston offers 32 miles of relaxing beaches, superb restaurants, marvelous downtown shopping in the Strand Historical District, historical museums with the Lone Star Flight Museum and the Texas Seaport Museum, fabulous entertainment and one of the largest and well-preserved concentrations of Victorian architecture in the country including the 1859 Moody Mansion. The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston is a great value for business and leisure travelers. The Colonel Paddlewheel Boat is within easy reach; enjoy East Beach Park, Galveston Island Ferry, Stewart Beach, Bishop Palace and Moody Gardens, and the ever-popular Schlitterbahn Waterpark a family adventure. If you are embarking from the Port of Galveston or here on business, we are conveniently located close to University of Texas Medical Branch, American National Insurance Company, Texas A&M University at Galveston, Galveston College, U.S. Army Corp of Engineers and the US Coast Guard.Galveston is a small romantic island tucked deep within the heart of south Texas possessing all the charm of a small southern town with Texas Hospitality and just 40 minutes south of Houston. We look forward to seeing you at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing