We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour”
Review of Ashton Villa

Ashton Villa
Ranked #42 of 101 things to do in Galveston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Ashton Villa is no longer open for tours.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Be forewarned -tours of this home have to be arranged
The house is truly beautiful and the guide was very knowledgeable about the home and family.
Photography is allowed on the 1st floor but not the 2nd - bummer

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mhurleygirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seabrook, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good setting for entertaining”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We originally looked at the Villa as a setting for our wedding. It had all of the facilities that we were looking for, the space and a beautiful grounds for pictures and lots of history. The team was attentive and had many suggestions to help us complete our arrangements.

Helpful?
Thank jac2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A must for residents and visitors”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The Ashton Villa should be seen by anyone and everyone coming to Galveston. It is a very important part of island history and is very entertaining.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank criticalchristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding there”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We enjoyed having the wedding there in October 2009 and being able to use the outside gardens for the wedding and the beautiful villa for the reception.

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ashton Villa”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

There was a 25 year old manning the desk when we arrived at 11am and he couldn't have been more disinterested in our visit. He offered ZERO assitance and told us nothing about the home or even if there were available tours. The only reason we saw any of the inside of the building was because the rest rooms are located there. Very disappointing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RayGCincinnati_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ashton Villa also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Ashton Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing