We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ESCAPE FROM NYC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamond Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diamond Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ESCAPE FROM NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This amazing unit (#314) in a well run full service building is all you need to escape everyday life and soak in the sun! It was wonderful to walk into a dazzling space that instantly felt like home and knowing that everything was thought of for us. We had a great time enjoying all of the beach club amenities as well as exploring everything Galveston has to offer. If you are looking for a turnkey vacation were everything is at your fingertips then this is the property for you!

Room Tip: Unit 314 is ideal location in building and the decor plus attention to detail will make you feel rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianamvargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    23
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
59
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We just stayed in condo #406. We had four adults and three children. The condo was nice, comfortable, and had everything the owner said it would have.
The weather was a little cool. It was very nice to have the movie room and indoor pool.
Actual beach access wasn't as close as I had hoped, but that was really the only negative.
We look forward to staying at Diamond Beach again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scasady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband & I attend the Lone Star Rally every year and normally stay at the Galvez. When booking this year, the Galvez and all other decent hotels were booked. I came across this condo and saw that I could take the entire family and stay for a little less than staying at a luxury hotel and still have all the amenities as a hotel plus a kitchen! We saved by not having to eat out! The kids enjoyed the property and even passed up going to the beach and looking at cool motorcycles on the Seawall! They're entire time was spent at the property! The condo was very nice, clean and well kept. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Wow, where to start I'm not sure.
We rented this place as a stay-cation
Well this is not a hotel, it is a condo, so thinking of it as renting a persons home, not a hotel.

This place is beautiful, don't get me wrong, but for the price we paid to rent for a week, we spent the same amount renting a condo in Maui and at least there were provided with toilet paper, soaps and coffee.

We rented through Sand & Sea properties, so not sure if that is why we got the cold shoulder at the front desk. All the ladies at the front desk were kind of snobby, except one which was a bit younger and very friendly. I think the grounds keepers were actually alot nicer.

First off we went in August and the MOSQUITOS were bad, they were huge...could not walk out the front to your car or to the back near the beach without getting attacked.
You would think as much as you are paying they would at least have some type of citronella candles, citronella plants or a good mosquito system in place.

The gym was nice.
The childrens play area is great for kids around the age of 5 & under.
Our room was on the top floor so it was a great view.
The lazy river pool wasnt open until Thursday and the slide not until Friday.
The pool bar didnt open until Thursday as well, we had been there since Monday.
They make you were wrist bands, every day they change the color and when you are by the pool they do check.

The beach is walking distance and FYI it is GALVESTON not FLORIDA so the water is BROWN and not blue, and it smells fishy, get over it.
But if you travel to Galveston often you would know that.
The only blue water you will see is in the pool.
Also the restrooms located in the pool area and big fancy porta-potties.
You have to take your trash to the trash chute.

For as much as we paid we could have just gotten a beach house at a private beach and driven a but further, saved lots more money and would not have had to deal with going to the front desk each day. (who wants to spend there vacation standing in line to get a wristband from some unhappy worker)
Maybe they should have a better system in place for that, I understand you are trying to keep this a private place, but not very well thought out and the workers could use a Happy Hour.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vanessam25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wylie, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Great location-we rented condo 513- and the view was wonderful. The amenities are best in Galveston. The beach is par for the gulf, if you want white sand don't go to Galveston. But the beach and seawall access was easy and great and the complex does have its own white sand volleyball play area. The lazy river was awesome and the staff very friendly and accommodating! We will always be staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We just got back from our 1st stay at Diamond Beach and we had a blast. Clean and new property with lots of kid friendly things to do. Condo was clean and modern with easy access to Galveston with out being in the more crowded part of the seawall area. Beach not as well maintained but that is common all along the Tx. Coast. Highly recommend for family get away!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Pros: Nice resort, huge, luxurious, zero entry pool, slow-moving, relaxing lazy river lined with beautiful, tall landscaping, swim up bar, private movie theatre, very nice fitness center with views of the ocean, beautiful spa (although didn't use) and close to restaurants.

Cons: You'll need an access key (a/k/a "FOB") for entry into EVERYTHING at the resort which can be a real hassle if you don't receive more than ONE upon check in. We had 4 adults in our group and while some wanted to stay in the condo and swim later, others wanted to swim now - you get the idea: "who has THE key? who has THE fob? The front desk was nice enough to let us borrow an extra FOB, but my advice would be to directly CONFIRM with the owner that you'll receive TWO keys to the condo and TWO FOBs, and at least ONE Parking Garage key - unless you don't mind parking uncovered, otherwise, I'd return again.

Also, the 2nd bedroom is very small in the 2bdrm 2bath floorplan - ok for kiddos, but for an adult couple, a queen bed is a tight fit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
6.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
8.7 mi away
The Galvestonian
The Galvestonian
#1 of 52 in Galveston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Beach

Property: Diamond Beach
Address: 10327 FM 3005, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Galveston
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Diamond Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Diamond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Beach Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing