We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Condo was nice, overall facility was very average”
Review of Diamond Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galveston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Diamond Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Condo was nice, overall facility was very average”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our condo unit was very nice, with a large patio, however the view was skewed by the fact that our unit was over the bar and therefore the roof of the bar jetted out past our patio and we couldn't see the beach or pool from our unit. The pool was dirty, and while they had a "pool bar", it was basically some bottles with a trash can of ice and a blender. No food was provided at either bar, and no wait staff at the pool, if you wanted a drink you had to go to the bar. Some of our group got massages and were not impressed with the therapist at all. The beach was full of seaweed and so it smelled and we were unable to sit at the beach with chairs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank triptaker215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    23
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
60
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in 204 and the Kings treated us like gold. Personal tour of the facility to make sure we knew where everything was and how to get the most out of our stay.

The Condo was comfortably furnished with homey touches, the kitchen had everything we needed and the Kings even provide the makings for Coffee and Popcorn.

The pool and lazy river (with swim up bar) were both clean and well taken care of.

If you have a family make sure to reserve the theater and rent a movie to enjoy! Heck reserve it and watch your favorite sporting event.. the last time we came we watched the World Cup in there...it was Epic!

Want a drink in the evening you don't even have to leave the property.. the Bar on the 3rd floor is staffed by some extremely fun bartenders!

Beach access is off the southern end of the property and you don't have to cross any roads! Almost every morning we went for a walk down the beach.

We have already booked Labor day here and are looking forward to it!

Room Tip: Hit up VRBO to check out all the options there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoHavens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This resort was a blessing is disguise. We initially booked a beach house, but the property management groups double booked the property and suggested that we stay at Diamond Beach. Our vacation ended up being 100X's better because the beaches were covered in seaweed (more than normal) and the facilities were great. There is a lazy river for the kids, a huge resort style pool that makes you feel you are the only people there, and a pool side bar that is open for nice adult drinks. The facility is a little pricey, but the condos are really nice it was a good place to stay for families and couples alike.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in unit 717 the balcony was small but still had a great view! Super nice and clean through out the unit with top of the line amenities.
There was a nice indoor pool for late evening swims, a lazy river and a slide for the kids. Was a full bar lil expensive on the outside pool area. Then a really nice gravity pool with plenty of seating whether you wanted just chairs to umbrellas to full cabanas with BBQ grills.
This location had it all, plus a sand volleyball net and Beach access by foot no need to get into the car!. There was outside and garage parking. Oh forgot there was a full Theatre you could watch yours or there movies plus reserve it just for yourself.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you've been or know anything about Galveston, you know that most of the hotels are located on the other side of Seawall (a busy 4-lane road) that is almost impossible to cross with kids/floaties/umbrellas/etc. You would have to get in the car and park it along Seawall Blvd. then walk down onto the beach. Not too bad but then afterwards getting back in your car all sandy didn't seem very appealing to me. There are a few number of hotels/resorts that are actually located on the same side of SeaWall as the ocean. Diamond Beach is one of those resorts. You get a parking pass to park inside the garage which is located underneath the resort. The property is 7 stories high and we stayed in unit 717 and booked it through Sterling Realtors. I cannot say enough good things about our stay. The resort itself is exquisite, it's so stunning and beautifully decorated, not to mention immaculately clean. There is a 700 ft. lazy river, and a 4-tiered pool, 2 hot tubs, and every single unit here has a balcony with beach views. Our unit was a 1 bedroom with a nice front-loader washer/dryer, a balcony with 2 rocking chairs and an electric grill, a beautiful fully stocked kitchen with stainless steel appliances and marble countertops, and a keurig coffee machine. There is a volleyball court/sand area with clean white sand (imported from Florida I heard) and there are nice cabanas with large stainless steel grills and refrigerators you can rent poolside. There are also 3 red grills that are first come first serve free to use pool side. More than enough lounge chairs and umbrellas to lay by the pool are the available. The resort also provide tubes and have a few pool toys for anyone to use. Also , there is a very large indoor swimming pool and thankfully so since it rained off and on 3 out of 5 days. We also reserved (free of charge) the 35 seater movie theater one night just for the 4 of us. The kids thought that was just the coolest! There is a microwave in the area so bring popcorn if you go! I suggest making one big grocery list and stocking up your kitchen right when you arrive so you don't have to waste time with it later during your stay. We ended up at Kroger's 3 times! We made breakfast and lunch in our room everyday so we could stay and enjoy the beach and pool, then we would come in and get showered and dressed and eat dinner out. That worked well for us with 2 young children.

The ONLY negative thing I can say about my stay this past week is the slide at the pool wasn't open 1 time, and the beach was horrible because of the seaweed problem going on right now (having nothing to do with the resort itself). There is an exit gate from the back of the resort to have access to the beach, it's not a jungle or wild nasty area, just a tiny little down-hill path you walk down (2 minutes max) to get the to the sand and beach. Not a big deal, we went everyday for 2-3 hours so the kids could experience the beach but like I said, due to the nasty seaweed issue that Galveston is dealing with made the beach less appealing. The resort made up 100% for what the beach lacked.

I would recommend staying at Diamond Beach, I've already decided this is going to become our regular place to stay every trip we make! It is worth the money!

Room Tip: vrbo.com, sterling realtors, unit 717 for 2 adults 2 young kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank summervacationer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in 616 for the weekend and it was excellent. The apartment was very good, but it was missing some basic things. Like cutting board in the kitchen. Made it hard to cook.

The bed is excellent a large king with very comfortable pillows and sheets, there is not window which at first I was disappointed but the darkness makes you sleep like a baby.

The balcony is very small and it has a view over the lazy river and not the main pool. As it was in the 90s we did not spend too much time outside but if I go back i might choose a different one with larger balcony.

The pool is the best I have seen, no joke! The lazy river was so relaxing and with limited kids.

This is a great place. It is more costly but for special occasions I think this is worth it

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazyfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at Diamond Beach in Galveston. Unit was from Maria R. and it is a designer's dream for decoration. First class in every way, perfect view of Gulf and pool area, bottle of good wine provided, top shelf beds!!!. Five Star all the way. The resort has two bars, lazy river, resort pool, cabanas, movie theater, kids game room, business center with Apple computers, indoor pool for off-season weather. We stayed in the 2-bdrm/2bath, Maria and Bob have a newer, better equipped 3 berm penthouse. This place is a full vacation, don't really need to go anywhere else.

Room Tip: Get it from Maria and Bob
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
6.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
8.7 mi away
The Galvestonian
The Galvestonian
#1 of 51 in Galveston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Beach

Property: Diamond Beach
Address: 10327 FM 3005, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Galveston
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Diamond Beach Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing