We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Staff and Accomodations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic Staff and Accomodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I booked one night here for us because we had a cruise to go on and we could keep our car in their parking lot for the week. Fog kept us from leaving on time, as a matter of fact we were delayed overnight and the hotel let us sit in their lobby all afternoon, was super friendly and very accomodating when we did end up having to book an additional overnight stay and decreased their fees some considering our loss of one day of our cruise vacation. The staff was outstanding to each and everyone, there were several groups that were here for the same reason. I would definately stay here again and again and again and would recommend everyone to stay here. The Pleasure Pier is within walking distance along with quite a few desireable restarants.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    110
    90
    64
    96
See reviews for
223
142
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here for the location to Pleasure pier we were traveling with 3 children before we cruised. We found it to be clean, super friendly staff, great location, comfortable bed, nice r and just across the street from the beach. Breakfast included was nice.
Did have issue's one night with the renter in an adjoining room had to call the desk a couple of time to get them to quiet down. The indoor pool and pool area was nice the hot tub didn't look rite a lot of dirty foam and green colored water.

Room Tip: room 201 had super large beds. we had four rooms in our group this room was the only room that had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cisgalveston, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property I am disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Okay,this is NOT the Hilton...but I found it to be clean, super friendly staff, great location, and decent balcony view of the sea wall. It is close and walking distance to resturants ,bars, the Pleasure Pier and shopping establishments. The parking lot is small but I had no trouble finding a descent spot in the hotels parking lot. I did not try their breakfast- as I like to sleep in and it's over at 9:30...however, it did smell good when I walked through the lobby afterwards. Coffee and good liquid cream is available at all times in the lobby and is of a descent taste.

Being a Hilton rewards member...I would stay here again just for the above reasons and price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifermachalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

we spent a couple nights at this location, room was nothing special, comfortable bed, nice view of the beach very close to the historical pier and just across the street from the beach. Breakfast included was nice, waffles, danish, bagels, scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, juices, cereals, milk, yogurt, well worth the price we paid. Indoor pool & hot tub & friendly staff. Walking distance to the many nice shops.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRo1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, OK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We spent the night before our cruise at the Country Inn & Suites. Very clean and accommodating for all of us!! Close to plenty of restaurants/bars. Our room had a balcony with chairs that overlooked the beach. Awesome! Right across the street from the pier with rides too. Breakfast was good too. My favorite part was the FREE parking for our cruise. Saved me $50.00!! No problems at all. Will stay here again!!

Room Tip: FREE cruise parking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel because they offered free parking while on a cruise. The shuttle departure times were limited, and their shuttle fee was an additional $14/ per person, but we decided to still go with it and settled for the latest one.

We then found out our cruise was delayed and passengers were discouraged from going to the port for several hours. We decided to spend the extra time in Galveston but Eva at the check-in counter refused to refund our shuttle, even though we'd JUST purchased it 10 minutes before! NOT very accommodating!

The hotel itself is OK - somewhat dated but clean and comfortable. We had no washcloths in our room, but that was probably just a small oversight. Interesting area, right across the street from the ocean - nice area to walk. They also offer a reasonably good breakfast.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Not bad. Not awesome except for the view of the pleasure pier and sunrise from our balcony. Clean rooms. Comfy beds. No eggs on their hot breakfast and people were coughing in the serving area, so we went to waffle house. Will stay again because it's close to some watering holes and restaurants. Will do for a weekend getaway. Parking was scarce when everyone turned in. Front desk guy was courteous.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.6 mi away
Commodore on the Beach
Commodore on the Beach
#32 of 52 in Galveston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
Address: 2818 Avenue R 1/2, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-7742
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Galveston Beach Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing