We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a beer and appetizer”
Review of Olympia Grill

Olympia Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Olympia Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 315 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Greek, Healthy, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located on Seawall and 49th, the Olympia Grill features dog-friendly, outdoor seating. Voted 'Best Local', 'Greek' and 'Salad'. Thank You. Come by and enjoy our gluten-free and vegetarian items, clearly marked on our menu for your convenience! We also do take-out, delivery, and off-site catering as well.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place for a beer and appetizer”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stopped by after a day of walking The Strand. It was a nice place to rest, grab a beer, and enjoy an appetizer. Seating overlooks the harbor and you can sit inside or out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    100
    37
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

First of all the food was amazing, great quality and well presented. I would come back there again , but the atmosphere was not so great. Service was a bit lacking as others have suggested

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LLSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Firstly the food is very good; quality ingredients, well prepared and presented. Very enticing.
However my entree order went awol and no one did a thing about it. So we sat there with my husband's entree on the table...In the end I told him to get on with it! Our server disappeared. In the end another staff member resolved the problem, we were told original server had forgotten to put it through to the kitchen.
It put me off this place at first but on reflection the food is good enough to risk another visit. go and enjoy the food but be prepared for amateur approach to service!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KokoLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galveston
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super Greek Food!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a great freshly made Greek jewel! The food is good, the location is central, and the price moderate.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotti409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Decent food, good bar, great view, inattentive service.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We used to really enjoy Olympia but the service staff have become complacent. After 20 minutes of sitting at our table and having three waiters walk by us, we actually had to flag one down and promise adoption to get the privilege of ordering. This has happened on numerous occasions this last year, and if the view weren't so nice watching the ships go by, we just wouldn't go. Nevertheless, the salads are big, the pasta dishes are tasty and the martinis are good. There are many good restaurants in Galveston, if the weather is not perfect to sit outside then we would recommend going someplace else until management can retrain service staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank R J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olympia Grill also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Olympia Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing