We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Snapper dish”

The West End Restaurant & Sandbar
Ranked #103 of 311 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Snapper dish”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We enjoyed the water view, ambiance, and location. We rented a beach house on Jamaica Beach and this was a close drive. It is pricey, but comparable to other seafood restaurants in the area. They made a great dirty martini, too. The only disappointment was the trio of appetizers. Not worth the money or calories for me. Service was attentive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXCorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    46
    12
    3
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“West End Bar great place for casual meal & drinks”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped at the bar downstairs for drinks, boiled shrimp and fried pickles. They have a full menu but a different menu from upstairs. This was a really casual and cool atmosphere. It's covered but open to breezes and right on the water/ marina. Fun to watch boats pull up. You could tell this was a locals hang out (probably Sea Isle residents) because people were greeting each other by name and stopping to talk. Oh, and food was good. We really enjoyed it and will go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Oxendiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Open air and over the water.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Food was just okay. Margarita (frozen) was not good at all. Atmosphere as a beach was great. Karaoke night proved there are not many good singers in Galveston.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WardHayworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fun Atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We took our family plus extended family (11 of us total) and ate downstairs at the Sandbar. It was a fun, casual atmosphere. I would say somewhat kid friendly as it is a bar, so you do have a rowdy crowd, but our children ages 4-15 all enjoyed it. The food is good, your typical by the bay beach bar food. Most ordered burgers and said they were really good, I had a salad with grilled shrimp and it was fantastic. It's the perfect spot for a beer and some dinner at the end of a day on the water.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haley20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“A Nice Place w/o Noise or Distrsction”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Great marina view. Seafood excellent but other entres very acceptable. Prompt Service...waiter slightly overbearing. We had 3 small children & were swiftly accommodated Recommend!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The West End Restaurant & Sandbar also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Jamaica Beach, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to The West End Restaurant & Sandbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing