We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected Free Family Fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galveston - Port Bolivar Ferry

Galveston - Port Bolivar Ferry
Ranked #1 of 100 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unexpected Free Family Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I read online that this was a fun thing to do for families that was free, with much skepticism, we decided to give it a try. It was much more fun than we expected! We fed the seagulls that fly around the boat, it must be a norm because they would eat the bread out of your hands. Also, we were able to see multiple dolphin sightings from the boat. It is a quick 20 minute ride and we turned right back around and came back. Kids had a blast!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,971
    692
    179
    31
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Free boat ride. That's about it. ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Heard this was great.... Man were they wrong! Free ferry ride was about the only good part. Beach was smelly and awful. Wallet almost got stolen by a shady thief. Lighthouse was cool. Took longer to get on and off ferry than we stayed. Check out the Texas City Dike instead.

Helpful?
Thank Tori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A moonlight excursion across the Bay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

A trip across the bay was top billing for that night !

A full moon afforded us watching dolphins playing in the Ferry Boats Wake and the sparkling lights of ships anchored at the entrance to the ship channel were like stars so close we could touch them!

Along with the gentle sea breeze and the rocking of the vessel as we crossed over to the Bolivar Peninsula Landing, we watched lazy seagulls riding the air currents along side the vessel!

Landing on bolivar Peninsula we drove all the way to the High Island Cut off and the drove back watching the seashore as it inched closer then farther away from the Highway !

The Ferry is and always will be a little known but always romantic mini trip for many Islanders, Islanders By Choice and Peninsula Residents !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BOI-021259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
488 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Not to miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Always a great time watching the dolphins and various birds. Stop at the old fashioned store about two miles down the road from the Bolivar landing for treats and a coke.

Helpful?
Thank Yodatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

For the money, there isn't a better attraction in Galveston! Why? It's free! Take your car on, or walk on it is a great ride, and you will see plenty of dolphins.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galveston - Port Bolivar Ferry also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Galveston - Port Bolivar Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing