We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great midday fun for us”
Review of Float

Float
Ranked #118 of 314 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Garland, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great midday fun for us”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stopped by about 3pm just to check out this place. We were pleasantly surprised by the fun atmosphere. We had a yummy margarita at $5.25 and a Bud Light Lime at $3 along with chips.salsa, queso and guacamole. Nice little snack. We also ventured out to their pool and cooled off (you can actually sit in the water at an outside bar). It is right across from the beach so offers a very nice view. Great jukebox music but not too loud. We did notice that the place drew a younger crowd but it didn't keep us 50+ers from enjoying a good afternoon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haywhitmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    23
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Times... anytime”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I've been at the float several times this Spring; It never fails to deliver. Great views, moderate prices and excellent service (as weather warms, service gets a little overwhelming They should hire more people on weekends). This is the best casual restaurant/bar (more bar than restaurant) on the island. The crowd is mostly surfer types with college kids and middle aged "happy" types scattered here and there. You are here obviously NOT for the people watching, even though, the crowd is an interesting mix. Come ready for anything, but it is always an fun time. 6-9 $ pitchers and live music on the weekends, you can't beat that. Fish or Shrimp Tacos with always moist rice and black beans with pineapple pico de gallo (to die for). oh yeah , leave the Gucci bag and designer sandals at home; Do bring your bathing suits as there is a pool and swim-up bar and plan on staying late.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food with a view”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Really good grouper tacos and enormous selection of good music on digital jukebox. Enjoy a cheap pitcher of beer and some good food in this open air bar overlooking the seawall

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chiapat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston Island, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great prices!”
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

The beach summer vibe is always present when I go to float! Music on the weekends along with great drinks and food for hard to beat prices. Can get a little too rowdy for families with young kids at times, but for the most part, the people, staff, and place are great!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samdavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food ok, service marginal”
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

Came to try the messy nachos. Food was decent but we never saw the waiter/bartender again. Waited almost 45 minutes and my husband went up to the bar. We planned on eating and drinking....just had our shared nachos. Could not get anyone to talk to us. The bartenders were too absorbed with two younger people at the bar. Several people walked out. I'd rather go to H2O bar at San Luis.

Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHambone0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Float also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Float? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing