We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice walk to the gate and back.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galveston's 61st Street Fishing Pier

Galveston's 61st Street Fishing Pier
Ranked #16 of 100 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a family friendly fishing pier. We offer rod rentals, bait, cold drinks, sno cones, wine, cold beer, margaritas, snacks, pizza, hot dogs, gifts, and lots of fun. In addition to having a pier for fishing, we also have an observation deck for those who dont want to fish, but want to sit above the water and enjoy the cool breeze of the Gulf of Mexico.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
220 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A nice walk to the gate and back.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

If you really want to be on the pier, you must make a purchase of some sort or buy a ticket. You can walk out to it for free though and still basically get the experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hogiepaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    76
    29
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Neat place, lousy drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The hotel at which we stayed was just a block away from the pier, so we stopped by a couple of times. The first time, we went up on the overlook and watched the fisher-people hauling in loads of fish. It was really neat, and it looked like people of all nationalities and social status were hanging out together enjoying themselves. The beer and frozen margarita we bought to go up there and watch, though, were really nasty. We ended up throwing them out when we were ready to go.
The next night, my husband went out around midnight by himself just to fish. He said they were super helpful and got him everything he needed. He bought 1 bag of bait shrimp, and caught around 20 fish. He had a great time and spent a couple of hours hanging out there, and it was about $25 for everything he needed but the license. We got that at the Walmart down the road for $16.
All in all, we liked the place and would go back again if we were in town. There's another fishing pier down the road, with better food and drinks, but it was definitely more tourist oriented. If you are interested in fishing, this is the place to be.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NoahTall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin K, Owner at Galveston's 61st Street Fishing Pier, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we love to hear from our patrons. People typically love our margaritas, however, we just got a new type of margarita machine that was freezing properly, we have tweaked the settings and hope that they are more to your liking next time. Im not sure how the beer could have been nasty as it came from a can, im sorry if it was bad but that is something beyond our control. Im glad that you had a great fishing experience, that is our aim. We hope to see you again next time you are on the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great fishing all night long!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We didn't actually stay all night. But, we wanted to. The fishing was slow. There were hundreds of "mullet fish" around the Pier. People were catching catfish and white fish. There were a few little sharks feeding on the shrimp off our hooks. But, I just couldn't hook one.
Bring water, soda and snacks, but no booze. You can't sleep here, fishing only! If it is late, be sure to bring a blanket. The weather and wind are the only reason we left.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had to buy something just to walk out on the pier. I guess that's fair. I've heard it's good fishing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I had never been Pier fishing before, and hadn't fished in many years. I was in town on business and had a Saturday afternoon free, and wanted to try it out. The staff were great, Tito had a vast wealth of fishing knowledge, tips, and jokes. I caught about 15 whiting, a guy beside me caught a 3 foot long Black Drum that he fought for almost 25 minutes! The regulars on the pier were all friendly and supportive, I knew half of them by name by the time I was done. Hotels in Galveston are pricey, but only an hour from Houston makes it well worth the trip. I plan on coming back often!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galveston's 61st Street Fishing Pier also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Galveston's 61st Street Fishing Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing