We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Party at Russo's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Russo's New York Pizzeria

Russo's New York Pizzeria
Ranked #83 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television
Description: New York style pizza, giant pizza slices, calzones, pastas, salads, soups, piadina flatbread sandwiches, fresh pastas, gluten free pasta, gluten free pizza, beer, wine, desserts, kids menu, New York cheesecake. At Russo's New York Pizzeria, we're inspired by the traditional Italian values of family, friends and, of course, food. Our menus deliver delicious Italian meals prepared with our passion for food, fresh ingredients and the goal of providing our guests a distinctive dining experience. Reminiscent of the authentic pizzerias from the Italian neighborhoods, everything is made from scratch with hand-picked ingredients, in traditional Italian style. Into the oven it goes. Russo's New York Pizzerias only use traditional brick ovens because brick ovens give Russo's New York pizza the crisp crust and authentic taste our fans and guests have come to love.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Birthday Party at Russo's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were in Galveston for vacation along with several relatives - we had a total of 12. My husbands birthday happened to fall during our vacation. He requested Pizza for his birthday meal and wanted to go to Russo's again - we had been 2 years ago while on vacation. We decided to meet there at 2PM, after the lunch crowd and before the dinner crowd. We were able to order off the lunch or dinner menu. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We ordered at the counter and they brought the food to our table. We tried different items, pizza, calzone, pasta and salads. All were great and everyone was pleased. My husband loved his pizza. I had the Eggplant Parmesan which was fantastic. The waitress hearing us talk about it being my husbands birthday gave him a piece of carrot cake to go. The carrot cake was 5 layers and very moist.
We plan to return to Galveston next year and will make sure we go to Russo's again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    27
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I had the best pizza I think I've ever tasted yesterday during my lunch at Russo's. The service was attentive and quick and we had unlimited drink refills. We sat outside where we could smell the ocean and enjoy the nice weather and we raised the pretty red canopy over our table to avoid getting too much sun.
We chose our own toppings and got the Thursday special of $10 for a medium pizza.
Most delicious and relaxing lunch I've had in a long time. Thank you, Russo's!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“LOVE The Margarita Pizza!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Atmosphere is clean and cozy. Customer service was not the greatest. You stand in line to order your food, take a number and they deliver your pizza to your table. The older lady who brought our pizza to the table did not speak or understand English, we asked for something and she just looked at us, shook her head and walked away. The man taking the orders, was not that friendly when taking our order. But hey, the food was good. We had a cheese and their margarita pizza. They were both very good but being from the East Coast, they are not anywhere near the flavor or texture of a good ole New York Pizza!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank intime011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston Island, Texas
2 reviews
“Good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Really enjoyed our Greek pizza. Fresh . Enjoyed the pasta too and garlic bread. We 've been back a few times and always enjoyed the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bulaklak48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“So disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have eaten at the Russo's location in League City so this was so disappointing. Pizza was overlooked and bland with virtually no sauce. The restaurant was dirty and the fountain drinks tasted strange. The unsweetened tea was actually peach tea and my husband tasted the sweet tea that was actually lemon tea. He said the soda tasted weird so he wouldn't drink it. We really love the location in League City but we won't retrun to the island location. Oh, I literally stood for five minutes before our order was taken and no one came to our table like they do at the other location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Russo's New York Pizzeria also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Russo's New York Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing