We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Very Generous Servings”

Black Pearl Oyster Bar and Grille
Ranked #8 of 315 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Kyle, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food, Very Generous Servings”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We decided to try the Black Pearl based on previous reviews and we weren't disappointed. It's a "seat yourself" place, or at least was on Sunday evening, and only two tables were available, which was a good sign that this is a place people like going to.

We ordered drinks - the margarita was very over-sweet, but the bloody mary was very good.

I ordered a cup of gumbo which came out not in a cup, but in a bowl with garlic bread - way more than I expected. I wouldn't have ordered anything else if I'd realized how generous their servings are (though another reviewer had mentioned it). I did though. I also had the crawfish po-boy. Another truly HUGE serving - lots of crawfish piled onto a split baguette, and a big mound of really good coleslaw on the side.

My husband ordered the catfish dinner with salad and onion rings. It also came with two boudin balls. He said he really liked the catfish and that the rings appeared to be homemade and tasty. However, this serving too was really large. Needless to say, we took home enough food for another meal.

The service was really slow, but in their defense, they seemed understaffed. Perhaps they underestimated how much traffic they would have on Mother's Day evening.

All in all a good experience. We'll probably stop here again when we're in Galveston.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k_l_blakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    201
    57
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Food and Flavor”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a Locals type spot just off the Strand in Downtown. Someone suggested it to us and WOW. It has now become one of our go to stops when we run down to Galveston for an afternoon or evening.
Great Flavorful Dishes. The Gumbo serving is HUGE.
Tip- Lunch menu is good, but ask to see the Dinner menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great local food”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is located near the Strand. We were able to get in fairly quickly and my husband and I split the fried seafood platter. The amount was plentiful and everything was great flavor. Best fried okra we have ever had, as well!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Texans112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A GREAT RELEIF FROM THE BIG CITY CHAIN FOOD-BARNS”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This place is certainly individual and is a relief from the massive chain food restaurants (chain food barns) that line the interstate highways in many US cities (think Houston). The menue offers the usual sea food dishes - mostly deep fat fried - found in sea food restaurants, but here at 25% less than in Houston. We each had a dozen raw oysters and then split the deep fat fried craw fish (great!) and crawfish etoufie. We thought the latter was not up to what we had been used to. The choice of craft beers on draft was very good for a regular restaurant. I had Black Butte Porter which was quite taste and a lot better than in the bottle.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tod82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairieville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Gorat oysters, the rest not”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The oyster trio was fantastic and service was great. Had about a 10 min wait at 5 p.m. Very popular small place. The étouffée was terrible....not creole at all.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Pearl Oyster Bar and Grille also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Black Pearl Oyster Bar and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing